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October 3, 2016 

 

RE:   Rural Medical Access Program:  July 1, 2015 – June 30, 2016 year 

 RESPONSE REQUIRED 

 

Dear Physician, 

 

The Rural Medical Access Program (“RMAP”) was created to promote prenatal services in 

underserved areas of the state.  Title 24-A M.R.S.A. §6302 states that every physician (practicing 

in Maine), hospital, and physician’s employer must participate in the RMAP. Assessments are 

collected from Maine practicing physicians, hospitals, and physicians’ employers in order to fund 

the RMAP, which provides premium assistance to physicians who provide prenatal care in rural 

areas of the State and are deemed eligible per the RMAP statute. 

 

Physicians and hospitals insured by an authorized insurer pay the yearly assessment as part of 

their billed premium.  You have not been reported by an insurance company as having paid the 

RMAP assessment.  Therefore, we assume that you were either self-insured, insured through an 

unauthorized insurer, or insured through a risk retention group and considered self-insured under 

this statute in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2016. As such, you are required by state law to pay 

a yearly assessment to the RMAP fund.   

 

Please complete the enclosed assessment form and remit any assessment by December 1, 2016 

for the policy year July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016. A completed assessment form must be 

submitted to comply with Maine law.  If you did not practice medicine in Maine during this 

period, simply indicate accordingly on the enclosed form. All forms should be returned to 

Medical Mutual Insurance Company, the full address to follow. 

 

Instructions for the Calculation of Assessment Due: 

1) Locate your appropriate specialty area, class code, and rate class on the attached “Class 

Group Table”.  Enter your class code and rate class on the assessment form. For example, 

if you are a plastic surgeon, locate that specialty on the table and note the corresponding 

class code of 80156 and rate class of #8. 

 

 

 



 

 

 

2) Using the attached “Annual Assessment Determination” table, locate your rate class on 

the left side and your number of years licensed in Maine along the top to determine your 

assessment. For example, a plastic surgeon (rate class #8) licensed for five or more years, 

the assessment would be $53.  If you did not practice medicine in Maine during the  

policy year, no assessment fee shall be collected. However, if you practiced part-time or 

for a portion of time, the assessment shall be prorated to reflect the months worked 

related to the policy year (assessment would be multiplied by the number of months 

worked divided by twelve months total). If the assessment is calculated to be less than 

$5.00, the assessment is waived, although the assessment form must still be 

submitted. 

 

EXEMPTION – Physicians who receive medical malpractice liability protection through the 

Federal Tort Claims Act are exempt and are not required to pay an assessment. 

 

Please complete the enclosed assessment form and remit payment (make check payable to “Rural 

Medical Access Program”) to: 

 

Medical Mutual Insurance Company 

RMAP Assessment 

One City Center 

P.O. Box 15275 

Portland, ME  04112-5275 

 

The assessment form must be completed and payment, if required, must be received by 

December 1, 2016. Failure to do so may result in civil action and fines up to $2,000 per Title 24-

A, M.R.S.A. §6304(2).  The assessment fee is required to be paid unless you did not practice 

medicine in the State of Maine during the period of July 1, 2015 to June 30, 2016.   

 

If you have questions or concerns related to the assessment fee, the assessment form, or filing 

exemptions, please e-mail Jane G. Lathrop via e-mail at jane.g.lathrop@maine.gov or telephone 

her at (207)624-8492.  

 

Sincerely, 

 

 

 

Eric A. Cioppa 

Superintendent 

 

Enclosures 
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