$£00-£E€0 AW ‘easnbny
UoeIS 9SNOH RIS HE
2oueJansul Jo nealng aule|y

DEPARTMENT (

ProfesAonal &

Financial Reg

A Consumer’s Guide to...
Personal Auto Insurance

A Publication of the
Maine Bureau of Insurance

June 2015

Paul R. LePage Eric A. Cioppa
Governor Superintendent



TABLE OF CONTENTS

Shopping for INSUraNCe.........cvvviiiieiieieieeeeeenen, 3
Information Needed To Apply for Insurance.......... 4
DiSCOUNES ...viiiiiiiii e 6
Insurance Coverage Required by Law .................. 9

What Is Liability Insurance?...........ccccccvvienns 10
Coverage for Damage to Your Vehicle................ 12
Deductibles .....c.coviiiiii 13
Other Optional Coverages ........ccvovivieiinnininnnnnns 14

What is Loan/Lease Coverage?.................... 15
Other Cost Factors ......cocovviiiiiiiiiii e 15
Billing Procedures and Fees..........ccoovvvvviiinnnnnnnns 16
If You Have an Auto Accident .........cocveveieininnnnns 17

F—=]

Published by: The Maine Bureau of Insurance
34 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333-0034
800-300-5000 (in state)
207-624-8475
TTY: please call Maine Relay 711

Other brochures and additional consumer
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The Maine Bureau of Insurance regulates the insurance in-
dustry to protect and to serve the public.

NOTES

Although the Bureau can give general insurance
information, and help when violations of
insurance law have occurred, the Bureau cannot

e Force an insurer to satisfy you if no insurance
laws have been violated.

e Act as your lawyer or give legal advice.

e Resolve a dispute when the only evidence is your
word against the word of the company.

e Make medical judgments.

e Determine who is responsible for the damage to
your vehicle.
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http://www.state.me.us/pfr/ins/ins_index.htm

What To Do If You Have An Auto Accident

e Write down the name, address, and license
number of everyone involved in the accident.

e Write a description of the other vehicles involved
and any damage to them, and note other details
such as the weather conditions and visibility.

e Call the police, even if the accident is minor. You
must report an accident that results in bodily
injury, death, or apparent property damage of
$1,000 or more.

e Write down the name and address of anyone who
may have witnessed the accident.

e Immediately contact your insurance company or
agent to report your claim. Most companies
provide claims service 24 hours a day.

e Promptly notify the police if a hit-and-run driver
is involved.

e Permit the insurance company to inspect and
appraise the damaged vehicle before its repair or
disposal.

e Promptly notify the police if your vehicle is stolen.

You have the responsibility to comply with the specific
duties that are outlined in your auto policy. They are
listed in the section of your policy titled “Conditions.”
Failing to comply with the specific terms and
conditions listed in your policy could lead to denial of
coverage or even provide grounds for cancellation of
the policy. Make sure that you know what your
responsibilities are if you are involved in a motor
vehicle accident.
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HOW TO USE THIS BROCHURE

This brochure is meant to be used only as a guide
when you shop for auto insurance. We have tried to
explain some commonly used insurance words to help
you better understand the types of auto insurance
you can buy, what coverages are required by law,
and what each type of insurance covers should you
have to file a claim.

How do I shop for insurance?

The key to comparison shopping is
to know what insurance coverage
you need before you start. Once
you know what you want, you can
find out how much the coverage
will cost from different companies.
Comparison shopping takes time,
but it will save you money. The
only way you can make sure you
are not paying too much is to shop
around and find out what different
companies charge for the same
products and services.

Where can I get information?

Information is available to consumers from a number
of impartial sources. These sources include public
libraries, consumer groups, the Internet, and
consumer publications.

Because the insurance industry, like many other
industries, has developed many terms that are not
commonly used by the average person, you may
need to find a glossary or dictionary of insurance
terms from your public library. The Property/Casualty
Division of the Maine Bureau of Insurance can also
help you with any questions or problems you may
have about your auto insurance.



Check the newspaper and yellow pages of the
telephone book for companies and producers in your
area. You can ask your neighbors, relatives, and
friends for their recommendations on insurance
companies and producers. Also ask them about their
experience with price and service, and the kind of
claim service they have received from the companies
they recommend.

INFORMATION INSURERS NEED WHEN YOU
APPLY FOR INSURANCE

When you shop for car insurance, premium
quotations are useful to compare different companies’
products. When you ask for price quotations, make
sure that you give the same information to each
producer or company to get a fair comparison.

Insurance companies look at many factors when they
set the price you pay for insurance. Your premium is
affected by your driving record; where you live; your
age; your marital status; how much you drive; the
age, make, and model of your car; and your car’s
safety features, among other factors. Here is more
information about some of these factors:

e Driving Record: The policy application will ask
about your driving record. Insurers will ask for
information about accidents and moving
violations for any driver covered by the policy for
the prior three to five years. Drivers with
previous violations or at-fault accidents are
considered to be a higher risk and may be
charged a higher premium.

e Territory: The claims experience of people in your
area will also affect your rates. Applications
include a question that asks for the address
where the vehicle will be garaged. From this
information insurers can tell a great deal about
your risk of financial loss. Insurers know from
their claims experience that more claims are
made from city areas than country areas (busy
traffic, thefts, vandalism, etc.).

Mid-term Changes in the Policy: Changes you
make to your policy near a billing date will generally
not show in the next bill. The amount shown as due
should be paid; any adjustments will be made with
the following bill.

NOTE: Maine law does not require a grace
period for paying property and casualty
insurance premiums.

If you do not make a payment when it is due, your
policy can be cancelled for nonpayment of premium.
Insurers are not required to offer you additional
time to make your payment.

IF YOU HAVE AN AUTO ACCIDENT

If you are involved in a motor vehicle accident,
knowing what to do can make the experience less
frustrating and prevent complications. Use the list
below only as a guide. During the claim investigation,
the company may request information other than
what is listed on the next page.
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Canceling your Policy in the Middle of the Policy
Term (Short-Rate Cancellations)

A short rate cancellation may apply when you decide
to change to another company in the middle of a
policy term. In most cases, your insurance company
will keep 10% of the unearned premium when you
request cancellation before the policy expires. This
charge covers the expenses the company incurs when
it issues a policy. Once the cancellation of the old
policy has been processed and the short-rate
cancellation charge is applied, the new policy may no
longer be a "bargain." Companies generally allow an
exception to the short-rate cancellation if you no
longer own the vehicle.

BILLING PROCEDURES AND FEES

Installment Fees: Rather than requiring the whole
premium to be paid at the beginning of the policy
period, most companies offer the option of paying in
semi-annual, quarterly, or monthly installments. If
you decide to pay in installments, an installment fee
may be applied. This fee covers the additional
expense of sending you multiple bills and processing
multiple payments.

Fees for Insufficient Funds: Companies may be
allowed to charge a fee when payments made by
check, electronic transfers, or credit/debit cards are
rejected by your financial institution.

Late Fees or Reinstatement Fees: Companies
may be allowed to charge a late fee or a
reinstatement fee when your payment is not received
by its due date. A late fee can be applied if your
payment is received late. A reinstatement fee can be
applied if your policy is cancelled for nonpayment of
premium and then is reinstated.
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Gender and Age: Statistics show that males still
have more accidents than females. For that
reason, young men may tend to pay more for
insurance than young women. Insurers also have
statistics that show a higher number of claims for
some age groups than for others.

Marital Status: Insurance company claims records
show that married policyholders have fewer claims
than unmarried policyholders.

Prior Insurance Coverage: Insurers want to know
if you have been insured and if your prior
coverage was canceled or nonrenewed. Your
premiums may be higher if your prior coverage
lapsed while you were required by law to have
insurance. Cancellation and nonrenewal actions by
other insurers may also affect the premium
charged or coverage offered.

Vehicle Mileage: On the application you will be
asked about how often
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vehicle you want to
insure. Higher annual
mileage generally means
higher premiums because
it creates a greater
exposure to claims.
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ERTIFIED CALIBRATIC

Vehicle Use: You will also

be asked how the vehicle is used. You must
specify whether you drive to work or school, or
use it for pleasure use or business use. Different
ratings apply to each of these uses. Policies
typically exclude coverage if you rent or lease
your vehicle to others or use it to carry people or
property (such as newspapers, mail or food) for a
fee. Share-the-expense carpooling is usually an
acceptable use, but participating in a
transportation network company arrangement is
typically not, and most policies exclude all
coverage while a vehicle is used for that purpose.



e Make and Model of the Vehicle: The type of car
you drive will directly affect the cost of your
automobile insurance. A make or model of car
with a high number of claims or higher repair
costs will be charged a higher premium for
comprehensive and collision coverage.

e Licensed Drivers in Your Household: You will be
asked to list all licensed drivers in the household.
Insurers may also want to know the ages of
anyone who could become a driver in the near
future. (Maine law defines “license” as an
operator’s or driver’s license or other permit to
operate a motor vehicle.)

e Claim History: You will be asked to list any
automobile claims that you or any other drivers in
the household have had during the past three to
five years. If you had prior insurance, your new
insurer may ask your prior company about any
claims you had.

e Credit History: A company may also request to
check your credit history to decide whether to
issue a policy or to determine the appropriate
premium to charge; however, if an insurer makes
an unfavorable underwriting decision based on
credit history, it must tell you how you can
request a copy of your credit report. When you
receive your report, it is important to make sure
that it contains correct information. Correct any
mistakes that you find on the report.

DISCOUNTS

Insurance companies give discounts to those they see
as "better risks." Ask about the type of discounts
offered by each company before you buy.

Maine law requires every auto insurance company to
provide a discount for liability, medical payments, and

WHAT IS LOAN/LEASE COVERAGE?

If you purchased a new car with only a small down
payment or with no money down and you financed a
large part of the cost, you may owe more money than
the car is worth. This gap exists because the policy
compensation for vehicle damage is based on the
vehicle’s actual cash value (the cost to replace your
vehicle less an amount for its depreciation); not on
what you paid for the car.

Loan/lease coverage (sometimes called GAP
coverage) can help cover this gap. It may pay the
difference between the actual cash value of the car at
the time of loss and the remaining balance you owe
on the loan, depending upon the terms of the
coverage. Any portions of the balance involving
interest for late payments, roll-over amounts from a
prior loan, or additional purchases such as the cost of
an extended warranty are not covered. When
purchased as part of your insurance policy, this
coverage is generally inexpensive. Not all insurers
offer this type of coverage.

OTHER COST FACTORS
Surcharges (extra premium charges)

Surcharges are used to spread the cost of automobile
insurance among policyholders as fairly as possible.

For example, a driver who has a clean driving record
pays the lowest possible rates while a surcharge may
apply to the premium for a driver who is at-fault in an
accident or who is convicted of a moving violation.
The surcharge is not a flat fee and is not designed to
recover money that was paid out for any prior claims.
Surcharges are usually applied for three policy years
following the accident or conviction.
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OTHER OPTIONAL COVERAGES

CD Players, GPS Navigation Units, Satellite
Radio, DVD Players and other audio or visual
electronic equipment are generally covered under
collision and comprehensive coverages if they are
permanently installed in the vehicle. Many
policies may limit coverage to $1,000 for some
installed equipment, but you may be able to buy
higher limits.

Portable electronics are excluded under the auto
policy unless the insurer offers an endorsement to
cover your personal effects in the vehicle. Otherwise,
coverage for these items may be included under your
renters or homeowners policy, subject to its
deductible.

Rental Reimbursement Coverage

This coverage usually pays $15 to $30 a day to rent a
car while your car is being repaired from damage that
is covered by the policy. Most policies specify a
maximum of 30 days for the coverage. The premium
varies from insurer to insurer, but is generally
inexpensive.

Towing and Labor Coverage

This coverage pays the cost to tow your car to the
repair shop, subject to the limit amount in your
policy. Premium for this coverage can run as low as
$5 to $10 a year. If
you are a member of
an auto club (like AAA)
you probably already
have this service and
may not want to
duplicate your
coverage. You will not
be able to collect under &=
both. i

14

collision coverages for drivers age 55 and older who
have completed an approved motor vehicle accident
prevention course. You may contact the Bureau of
Highway Safety at (207) 624-8756 for a list of
approved courses and times.

This discount for older
drivers may not be
applied if either the
insured or another
member of the
insured's household
was involved in an at-
fault accident or has a
moving violation or
license suspension during the previous three years.
The discount applies for 36 months after the course
completion. A new course must be completed every
three years to continue the discount.

The following describes some other typical discounts:

e Multiple Vehicles: Most insurance companies
include a discount for insuring more than one car
with the same company. Companies offer these
discounts not only because they want all of your
business, but also because it is more cost
effective for them. Industry statistics show that
individuals and families who insure more than one
car generally have better than average claims
experience. Companies pass along some of their
savings to you through this discount.

e Driver Education Courses: Discounts for driver
education courses are targeted primarily at
younger and older drivers.

e Good Student: Insurers’ experience has shown
that those students who are responsible enough
to maintain a B average or better tend to be more
responsible drivers. For that reason, many
companies offer a "Good Student Discount."



e Safety Devices: Automobile safety devices can
help lower insurers’ costs by preventing accidents
or limiting their severity. These savings are
passed along to the policyholder with discounts
for safety equipment, such as air bags, anti-lock
brakes, and automatic seat belts.

e Antitheft Devices: Devices or systems that
discourage theft or vandalism also lower claims
costs. Many companies provide discounts for
antitheft devices, such as alarm systems.

e Low Mileage: The fewer miles you drive the less
chance you have of getting into an accident.
Insurers recognize this fact and generally offer
discounts for low mileage drivers. Some insurers
also offer discounts for drivers who carpool.

e Good Driver/Renewal: Some insurers offer
discounts to drivers with a good driving record
who renew coverage with the same insurer.

e Auto/Home Package. Some insurance companies
offer a discount when your buy both your
homeowner’s and auto policies from them.

e Dividends. Some insurers, particularly mutual
companies, provide dividends to policyholders if
the sale of auto insurance has been profitable to
them. Dividends are declared and paid after the
policy period has expired.

Discounts not only help companies attract customers,
they are also ways for companies to compete and
keep business. So when you shop, don't just ask if a
discount exists, but also ask how much you will save.
The savings can differ from one company to another.
In addition, you should make sure that you receive all
the discounts for which you qualify. When comparing
the cost of insurance among different insurers,
compare the total cost after any applicable discounts
have been applied.

Auto insurance policies will generally not cover repair
costs in excess of the actual cash value of the
vehicle. Once repair costs reach a percentage of the
value of the car (for example, 75%) as set by the
company, the company will declare the vehicle a
total loss and pay the actual cash value of the vehicle
instead of the cost to repair.

Comprehensive Coverage pays for damage to your
car from almost all causes (other than collision)
including fire, severe weather, vandalism, floods, and
theft. Comprehensive coverage also covers broken
glass, such as windshield damage.

DEDUCTIBLES

e If you buy collision or comprehensive coverage,
you can save money by agreeing to the highest
deductible you can afford to pay in case of an
accident. A deductible is the amount of money
you agree to pay as part of a claim before the
insurer is obligated to pay the rest of the claim.
For example, if you carry collision coverage with
a $250 deductible and you have a $1000 loss,
you must pay the first $250 and the insurance
company would pay the remaining $750.

e Deductibles reduce your premiums because you
agree to pay a set amount of your claim that
your insurer would otherwise have to pay.
Insurance companies offer deductibles because
they reduce the number of small claims which
are expensive for them to handle.

If you buy a new car with a loan or lease a car, the
financial institution loaning you the money or the
person leasing the car to you may require you to buy
comprehensive and collision coverage. This is to
make sure that you have the means to repair the car
if it is damaged and to pay off the loan if the vehicle
is totaled. The financial institution or lessor generally
will also require to be named on the policy as an
additional interest.
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Even if you decide you want UM coverage that is
lower than your liability coverage limit, you may not
have less than the minimum required amounts of
$50,000 per person and $100,000 per accident.
Umbrella policies do not usually cover uninsured
motorist claims.

Medical payments coverage pays for the medical and
funeral expenses incurred by you or others hurt or
killed in an accident while riding in or driving your
car. Claims against this coverage include all
reasonable hospital, surgical, chiropractor, X-ray,
dental, professional nursing, prosthetic, and funeral
expenses. It will also cover you and family members
in your household for injuries resulting from another
vehicle while walking or biking, or while riding in
another car.

This coverage will pay for your medical and funeral
expenses even if you cause the accident. Usually,
only expenses incurred within a specified period of
time after the accident are included. Medical
payments coverage is also required by Maine law;
you must have at least $2,000 in medical payments
coverage on your policy.

COVERAGE FOR DAMAGE TO YOUR VEHICLE

The coverages previously discussed are the basic
coverages required by law; however, when you buy
auto insurance you will have to decide if there are
other insurance coverages that you would like to add
to your policy. The other most common coverages are
collision and comprehensive.

Collision Coverage pays for physical damage to your
car from colliding with an object, like a tree or
another car. If you have an older car worth less than
$2,000 you may not want to buy collision coverage,
because you are likely to pay more money in
premium than you would receive because of a claim.
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INSURANCE COVERAGE REQUIRED BY LAW

Maine law requires every vehicle owner or operator to
carry: liability insurance, uninsured motorists
coverage, and medical payments coverage.

To satisfy the financial responsibility law in Maine,
you must buy a minimum of $50,000 liability for the
injury to or death of any one person; $100,000
liability for one accident resulting in injury to or death
of more than one person; and $25,000 liability for
property damage.

These amounts are usually shown as $50/100/25 on
your insurance policy. A combined single limit (that
combines bodily injury and property damage liability)
of $125,000 is also acceptable. You cannot register
your vehicle without proof that you have this
minimum amount of insurance. Uninsured motorist
bodily injury of $50/100 or combined single limit of
$100,000 and a minimum of $2,000 for medical
payments coverage is also required.

Keep in mind that these minimum amounts may be
too low for your situation; you may want to buy more
coverage. You should base your decision on what
assets you need to protect from claims that may
exceed the minimum amounts. As you raise your
coverage, your premiums will also increase; however,
the extra cost of higher coverage tends to be
relatively low.

Purchasing a personal umbrella policy is one way to
have higher limits of liability inexpensively. An
umbrella policy provides broad liability protection
over and above the liability limit of your auto policy.
It will also cover some exposure to losses that your
auto or homeowners policies do not cover. Most
umbrella policies require you to have at least
$250,000/$500,000 or $300,000 single limit on your
auto policy. The umbrella policy or endorsement
generally adds an additional $1,000,000 limit.



WHAT IS LIABILITY INSURANCE?

Most auto liability insurance policies contain three
major parts:

liability insurance for bodily injury;
liability insurance for property damage; and

uninsured/under-insured motorists coverage.

Bodily injury liability insurance does not protect you
or your car directly. If you cause an accident in which
other people are injured, this insurance protects you
against claims for damages such as their medical
expenses, lost wages, and pain and suffering. This
insurance coverage will also pay if a member of your
family who lives with you was driving your car, or
another person was using your car with your
permission.

The maximum amount that your insurance company
pays for any one person injured in an accident, and
the amount available for multiple injured parties, is
determined by the amount of insurance you buy. See
your policy’s Declarations Page for these amounts.

As stated above, you must purchase a minimum limit
of $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident, or a
combined limit of $125,000 which includes the
minimum amount required for property damage.

Property damage liability insurance pays for any
damage you cause to the property of others, like a
crushed fender, broken glass, or a damaged fence or
wall. Your insurance will pay for this damage whether
you are driving your car or whether it is being driven
by another person with your permission. The
minimum limit required by Maine law is $25,000.

Uninsured/Underinsured motorists (UM) coverage is
a required coverage under Maine law. It applies when
you are injured by an at-fault driver who:

e cannot be identified (is a hit-and-run driver);

e does not have the required auto liability insurance
(an uninsured driver); or

e has liability insurance limits that are lower than
your own UM limits (an underinsured driver).

UM covers your family members and other
passengers who are injured while in your car. UM will
also cover you or the family members in your
household for injuries from another car while walking
or biking or while riding in another car.

UM does not cover the other driver’s injuries and it
does not cover damage to your vehicle or other
property. The purpose of UM is to provide you with
the same personal injury recovery that would have
been available if the at-fault driver had insurance to
the same extent as you.

Your policy’s UM coverage must equal its liability
coverage limit unless you specifically elect a lower
limit. If you want less UM coverage, your insurance
company must give you a rejection form and you
must sign it before the effective date of the policy.
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