Read Your Policy and Discuss Coverage Questions with Your Agent or Insurance Representative.

Auto Insurance Basics

Do you drive in Maine? Maine law requires you to have:

  • Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
    • Minimum $50,000 per person/$100,000 per accident coverage
  • Property Damage Liability Insurance
    • Minimum $25,000 per accident coverage
  • Combined Single Limit
    • $125,000
  • Underinsured/Uninsured Motorist Coverage
    • Equal to Bodily Injury Liability Insurance limits
  • Medical Payments Coverage
    • $2,000

Want additional protection from severe weather, theft, fire, or collisions? Consider adding:

  • Collision Coverage
  • Other Than Collision Coverage

Contact us before you buy, with any questions you may have, or call us to discuss a complaint or request a hearing at: (207)-624-8475 or (800) 300-5000 (in Maine only); at Maine Relay 711 (for the hard of hearing); or at Insurance.PFR@maine.gov.

Find more resources at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners INSURE U