
State of Maine 
Bureau of 
Insurance 

Schedule of Company Fees, Taxes, And 
Deposits (Retaliatory Statement) 

Life & Health, Property & Casualty, Title 
 
Maine is a retaliatory state and all fees, premium taxes, deposits and other charges will be charged at 
the rate in Maine law or the rate charged by the domiciliary state, whichever is higher. Title 24-A, 
M.R.S.A. § 428 & Title 36, M.R.S.A. § 2519. 

 
Section I – Fees (Payable to Treasurer, State of Maine) (Title 24-A, M.R.S.A.) 
Admission Fees 

Certificate of Authority Application Fee (due at time of application) $1,000 
Issuance Fee (billed at time of approval of application) $100 

 
Annual Fees 

Annual Statement Filing Fee (billed annually, in July)
 $10
0 Annual Continuation of Certificate of Authority (billed annually, in July)
 $10
0 

 
Other Fees 

 

Filing of Articles of Incorporation (due with amended document) $25 
Filing of Bylaws (due with amended document) $25 
Name Reservation for Name Change (due with reservation) $25 
Redomestication No Fee 
Addition/Deletion of Line of Business No Fee 
Certificate of Deposit $10 
Certificate of Compliance $10 
Certificate of Valuation $10 
Service of Process (due with filing of change of designee) $25 
Replacement / Reissuance of Certificate of Authority $10 

 

Rate and Form Filing Fees 
Forms 

Withdrawals $20 
Delay Adoption & Non Adoption $20 
Consent to Rate/Form (Initial & Individual Filings) $20 
Amendment to Filing- * Before effective date* No fee 
Amendment to Filing- * After effective date * $20 

Paper & Electronic Filings: 
Rate & Rule $20 
Form $20 
Rate/Rule/& Form $20 

“Informational” filings. No fee 
required 

 
Section II – Premium Tax 
 
Maine Revenue Services is the state agency responsible for the processing of premium tax returns 
and related information for Authorized Insurers & Surplus Lines Carriers. Insurance Premium Tax 
  



Life Insurance or Annuities issued in connection with the funding of qualified retirement plans are 
exempt from tax. 
 
Section III – Deposit Requirements 
 
General Deposit to operate in state (in place at time of admission in any admitted $100,000 
state) 
If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Financial Analysis Division at 
Phone: (207) 624-8475; Fax: (207) 624-8599; or Email: Maine Bureau of Insurance 


