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APPLICATION FOR DEBT MANAGEMENT SERVICE PROVIDER 

CONSUMER EDUCATION PROGRAM 
Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
35 State House Station
Augusta, ME  04333-0035

PH:  (207) 624-8527
FAX:  (207) 582-7699

GENERAL INFORMATION:
	1.  NAME OF DEBT MANAGEMENT SERVICE PROVIDER: ____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

	(Company or organization applying for program approval)

2.  CONTACT PERSON:  _________________________________________________________________________

(Person whom the Bureau should contact regarding program questions or approval)

Street/P.O. Box _______________________________  City______________________________________________

State:  __________   Zip __________  Phone: (   ) ___ - __________  FAX (   ) ___ - __________

Email address:  _________________________________________________________________________________



	EDUCATIONAL PROGRAM INFORMATION:
3.  INSTRUCTOR(S):  ___________________________________________________________________________

4.  FORMAT:  (please check all that apply)

(  Live/Classroom Setting          (  Audio/Video

(  Computer (CD or Diskette)     (  Distance Learning

(  TV (includes satellite & ITV)   (  Internet

5.  IS COURSE APPROVED IN OTHER STATES? _____ (If yes, list states):_________________________________)
6.  REQUIRED ATTACHMENT.  Attach to this form a copy of all course materials, outline and/or screen prints that constitutes this consumer education program or plan designed to improve the financial literacy of consumers, pursuant to the requirements of 32 MRSA §6174-B (2).
7.  COST TO CONSUMER:  $________
     (cannot exceed $50)



	8.  DESCRIBE HOW CONSUMERS’ FINANCIAL LITERACY IS IMPROVED:________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________
____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

9.  APPLICATION FEE:  The application fee is $100.   Make check payable to, “Treasurer, State of Maine.” 

	


	CERTIFIED STATEMENT AND SIGNATURE OF PROGRAM SPONSOR OR AUTHORIZED OFFICIAL:
By my signature, I hereby agree to abide by the requirements and conditions set forth by the provision of 32 M.R.S.A., c. 80-A, the Debt Management Services Act, administered by the Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection.  I certify that the information contained in this application is accurate and true to the best of my knowledge and belief.


	___________________________________                                                                                 ___________________

Signature                                                                                                                                         Date

	


The following is included for you reference:

32 MRSA §6174-B - Counselor certification; consumer education program 
Consumer Education:  A debt management service provider shall offer a consumer education program approved by the administrator. A debt management service provider may charge a reasonable fee for the program not to exceed $50.
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PROGRAM # ___________


Approval Date_____


Approved By______





Denial Date:______


Denied By: _______





Amount Fee Paid:_______


Check Number:_________


Cash Number:__________








