NOTICE TO INTERESTED PARTIES

REQUEST FOR COMMENTS AND NOTICE OF HEARING

       RELATING TO THE ADJUSTMENT OF VOLUME FEES, RULE 270
To:

Interested Parties

From:

Will Lund, Superintendent, Maine Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection
Date:

July 29, 2008
Re:

Proposed Adjustment of Volume Fees, Rule 270

The Legislature, through enactment of 9-A M.R.S.A. §6-203, sub-§3-B
in 2007, set forth a mechanism to establish the level of volume fees to be paid to the Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection by non-bank supervised lenders making loans secured by an interest in land.  Volume fees are to be set at $20 per $100,000 of original balances of loans extended by those lenders, if the Bureau's fund balance on October 1st of the previous calendar year does not exceed 125% of the Bureau's current annual budget.  If the fund balance on October 1st of the previous year exceeds 125% of the Bureau's annual budget, then the rate is $15 per $100,000 of loans made.  Sub §3-C of the same section permits the Superintendent to adjust the volume fee by routine technical rule, and establishes a cap of $20 per $100,000 loaned.  
On September 5, 2004 the Bureau adjusted the rate downward, to $10 per $100,000, based on the then-existing fund balance.  This proposed amended rule adjusts the rate upward, to $20 per $100,000, based on the decrease in the Bureau's fund balance.  The fund balance as of October 1, 2007 represented 47.2% of the Bureau's fiscal year 2007 budget, making this adjustment appropriate under the guidelines established by the Legislature. As required by law, in establishing this adjusted figure, the Bureau has considered the reasonable costs of regulation of all aspects of mortgage lending transactions and the staffing levels required to administer the responsibilities of the Bureau.

The comment period for the proposed rule is now open, and written materials should be mailed, such that they are received on or before Wednesday, September 3, 2008 at 5 PM, to the following address:  Julie Haefele, Principal Examiner, Bureau of Consumer Credit Protection, #35 State House Station; Augusta, ME 04333; or the materials can be submitted by e-mail to Julie.F.Haefele@maine.gov.

Interested parties will also have an opportunity to present testimony on Friday, August 22, 2008 beginning at 8:30 AM, in the Central Conference Room, State of Maine Gardiner Annex, 122 Northern Avenue, Gardiner, Maine 04347.  Attendees will then have an additional ten (10) days to submit written information on issues or questions that arise at the public meeting.  

The proposed amended rule is available at the following link:  Proposed Rule.
