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and for imposing a sentence under this paragraph rather than
under paragraph A; and

C. If the court imposes a sentence under paragraph B, the
minimum sentence of imprisonment, which shall may not be
suspended, shall-be is as follows: When the sentencing class
is Class A, the minimum term of imprisonment shall-be is 9
months; when the sentencing is Class B, the minimum term of
imprisonment shall-be is 6 months: and, with the exception
of trafficking or furnishing marijuana under section 2105,
1105-A or 1105-C, when the sentencing class is Class C, the
minimum term of imprisonment shall-be is 3 months.

Sec. 151. 17-A MRSA §1301, sub-§5, as enacted by PL 1985, c.

699, is amended to read:

5. Notwithstanding any other provision of this section, any
person convicted of a crime under section 1103, 23065 1105-A,
1105-B, 1105-C, 1105-D, 1106 or 2107 1107-A may be sentenced to
pay a fine of an amount equal to the value at the time of the
offense of the scheduled drug or drugs upon which the conviction
is based.

When the court imposes a fine under this subsection, the court
shall make a finding as to the value of the scheduled drug or
drugs. If the record does not contain sufficient evidence to
support a finding, the court may conduct, in connection with its
imposition of a sentence, a hearing on this issue.

Sec. 152. 34-A MRSA §11203, sub-§6, B, as enacted by PL 1999,

c. 437, §2, is amended to read:

B. A violation under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 2,
paragraph E, F, G, H, I or J; Title 17-A, section 254; Title
17-A, section 2565 255-A, subsection 1, paragraph A, E,r-Fr-G
B, I e, J. K, L, M, N, O, R, S or T; Title 17-A, section
256; Title 17-A, section 258; Title 17-A, section 301,
unless the actor is a parent of the wvictim; Title 17-A,
section 302; Title 17-A, section 511, subsection 1,
paragraph D; Title 17-A, section 556; Title 17-A, section
852, subsection 1, paragraph B; or Title 17-A, section 855;
or

Sec. 153. 34-A MRSA §11203, sub-§7, A, as enacted by PL 1999,

c. 437, §2, is amended to read:
A. A conviction for or an attempt to commit an offense

under Title 17-A, section 253, subsection 1; Title 17-A,
section 253, subsection 2, paragraph A, B, C or D; or Title
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17-A, section 255 255-A, subsection 1, paragraph B, C, D ex,
E, F, G, H, O or P; or

Sec. 154. Effective date. This Act takes effect January 31,
2003.

SUMMARY

This bill is the report of the Maine Criminal Justice
Information System, MCJUSTIS, Policy Board pursuant to Resolve
1997, chapter 105, as amended by Public Law 1999, chapter 451,
section 5 and Public Law 1999, chapter 790, Part D, section 12.

MCJUSTIS is an information clearinghouse, the purpose, of
which 1is to provide access to shared uniform information on

criminal defendants and crime data. In order for the information
to be uniform and accurate, it must be entered and accessed by
all participants in the same way. To ensure that crimes are

entered accurately, the statutes defining each c¢rime must be
precise and narrow enough to ensure that citing to the specific
statutory unit will be the same as describing the elements and

class of that exact crime. There must be a one-to-one
relationship between each crime and the statutory wunit that
defines it. This bill revises the Maine Criminal Code to

establish that one-to-one relationship for each crime and its
unique statutory cite.

The original resolve directed the MCJUSTIS policy board to
propose only those substantive changes to the 1laws that are
necessary to result in a unique statutory cite for each crime.
In working through each c¢rime in the Maine Criminal Code, the
MCJUSTIS policy board, as advised by the Criminal Law Advisory
Commission, identified one category of substantive changes that
are necessary and several others that it recommends; all are
included in this bill.

The category of substantive changes that are necessary
relates to how to handle facts about a crime that are not
technically elements but are currently used for determining the
class of crime for sentencing purposes. The statute currently
does not require that such 'enhancers" be proved beyond a
reasonable doubt by the prosecution. The Law Court has required,
however, that the prosecution must prove such facts beyond a
reasonable doubt 1if the facts are to be used to make the
underlying crime a higher class than it would otherwise be or
would require a specific punishment. This bill incorporates each
enhancer into the elements of the crime that it enhances. This
results in the statutory requirement that the enhancer be proved
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beyond a reasonable doubt in order to secure a conviction for
that crime at that class.

For example, assault is wusually a Class D crime. If the
victim is under 6 years of age, however, the assault is a Class C
crime. This bill revises assault to require the prosecutor to

prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the victim is under 6 years
of age in order to secure the Class C conviction.

This bill contains changes to the Maine Criminal Code that
are substantive and that are proposed to improve the Maine
Criminal Code for consistency or clarity.

In addition to formatting changes, this bill makes the
following changes to the Maine Criminal Code.

1. It rewrites as an element of a crime any fact regarding
the crime that is used to establish the class for the crime or
the appropriate sentence 1is rewritten as an element of the
crime. This is a substantive change, although it will make
little difference in how cases are currently prosecuted.

2. It revises language, including "presumption," "presumed”
and "prima facie" to reflect Supreme Judicial Court rulings and
Rule 303 of the Maine Rules of Evidence. The revised language
instead refers to '"permissible inference" to ensure that the jury
knows how to use certain proven evidence. This does not reflect
a change in practice, but clarifies the law.

3. It provides a definition of being related within the
"2nd degree of consanguinity." The term is used in defining both
gross sexual assault and incest.

4. It establishes standard language for referring to prior
convictions and using prior convictions to affect one class of a
newly committed crime. The Maine Revised Statutes, Title 17-3,
section 9-A is amended to provide general rules for using prior
convictions to enhance a new crime. These general rules are
consistent with most existing provisions concerning the use of
prior convictions, but do represent a substantive change in a few
cases.

The general rules included here require considering specific
convictions secured within the 1last 10 years. This is a

substantive change for Title 17-A, sections 506-A and 556.

The period for prior convictions is not changed for prostitution

.crimes, which remain at 2 years, and certain drug crimes, which

do not 1limit how far back a prior conviction can be used to
enhance the current crime.
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The general rules provide consistent language dealing with
multiple crimes committed within 2 or 3 days. This may result in
a substantive change in a limited number of crimes in order to
treat them consistently.

5. It inserts the language declaring the class in the same
statutory unit that defines the way to commit the crime. When
the statute defines more than one way of committing a crime, and
those different ways are identified as different classes, the
exception to this is in the statutes dealing with gross sexual
assault, unlawful sexual contact and theft, where 1if certain
circumstances exist, the classification will go up a class.
Because each way of committing these crimes could be increased if
the particular circumstance exists, an enhancer provision was
drafted at the end of each crime to specify that the
classification will increase if the circumstances are proved.

6. It rewrites permissible inference language regarding a
person accused of theft to include Title 17-A, section 405,
burglary. This change expands the presumption that by permitting
an inference to be made under the Maine Rules of Evidence, Rule
303, a person in exclusive possession of property recently taken
is guilty of the burglary.

7. It amends the drug laws dealing with unlawful
trafficking, wunlawful furnishing and unlawful possession to
clarify that a person is guilty of trafficking, furnishing or
possessing a scheduled drug if the person intentionally or
knowingly trafficks, furnishes or possesses what the person knows
or believes to be a scheduled drug, which is in fact a scheduled
drug and the drug is a type of scheduled drug.

8. It includes language to make the statutes gender neutral
and to correct and update grammar. In addition, the following
language changes are made for consistency and are not intended to
be substantive.

A. When referring to the age of the perpetrator or victim,
the term as used is "___ years of age."” For example, if
current law says "under 14" or "has not reached his 14th
birthday,"” this bill revises it to '"less than 14 years of

age."

B. "Exceeds'" is changed to '"more than,'" "under" is changed
to "less than."”

C. The perpetrator of the crime is usually referred to in

the definition as 'the person."” Exceptions occur when the
crime definition involves other people and the "the person"
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becomes confusing. In these situations, 'actor"” is used

instead. "Defendant" is often wused in procedural and
sentencing provisions.

9. It adds an effective date of January 31, 2003.
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