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LICENSING INFORMATION

Licensing Information

A hunting license is required to hunt wild
birds or wild animals.

+ Hunters under 16 years of age must pos-
sess a junior license.

Hunters 16 years of age and over must
possess an adult license to hunt.

Note: A Junior License holder who turns
16 may hunt with that Junior License for
the remainder of the year. See page 12 for
more information.

A person may assist in a hunt without a
license or permit for that activity as long
as that person does not carry hunting
equipment (means to kill) or engage in
driving deer.

Exceptions

Maine resident landowners, including
immediate family members, as long

as their license to hunt has not been
revoked or suspended, may hunt without
a license, including archery, crossbow and
muzzleloader (but must purchase all other
permits) on land they own and reside upon
provided the land exceeds 10 acres in size
and is used exclusively for agricultural
purposes. The landowner privilege does
not apply to moose hunting. A license is
required.

Applicants for an adult hunting license
must show proof of having previously held
an adult license to hunt with firearms in
any year beginning with 1976 or success-
ful completion of an approved hunter
safety course from this or any other state.
Residents must provide proof of residency
when applying for a license. Convicted fel-
ons who have not been issued a permit to
carry a firearm cannot purchase or possess
a firearms hunting license in Maine. (Title
15, sub-§393, sub-§§ 1 & 2).

To obtain an adult archery hunting license,
you must show proof of having held an
adult license to hunt with bow and arrow in
any year after 1979 or successful comple-
tion of an archery education course.

Exceptions to Safety Course Requirement
+ Native Americans are exempt from safety
course requirements for archery, cross-

bow and trapping.

+ A member of the Armed Forces of the
United States on active duty who is per-
manently stationed outside of the United
States and home on leave is exempt from
hunter, archery, and crossbow safety
course requirements if that member
shows proof at time of application for the
license that the member’s home state of
record is Maine.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING

Residents and nonresidents may obtain
hunting licenses from agents throughout
the State (sporting good stores, many con-
venience stores, town clerks, and turnpike
service centers) or from the Department
office in Augusta. Nonresidents may also
obtain them by mail from the Department
office in Augusta. Note: Not all town clerks
issue nonresident licenses. Licenses may
also be purchased online at mefishwildlife.
com. Agents are authorized to process ap-
plications online for moose and antlerless
deer permits; they may charge a fee of $2.00.

All trapping licenses are issued from the
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries
and Wildlife office in Augusta. A trapping
license cannot be purchased online.

It is unlawful to obtain any license or
permit through misstatement or misrep-
resentation or to possess any license or
permit which has been altered, mutilated
or tampered with in any manner.

+ You are required to keep your hunting
license and any necessary permits with
you while hunting or transporting wild
birds and wild animals and, if requested
to do so, must present it for inspection
to any warden, law enforcement officer,
Department employee, guide or landown-
er upon whose land you are hunting.

A person may use an electronic license or
permit, in addition to, or in lieu of a phys-
ical paper license or permit, to display
upon request for inspection.

Note: The commissioner may revoke the
license of any person convicted of violat-
ing the fish and wildlife laws, in addition
to any penalty which may be imposed by
a court of law. Some violations result in
mandatory revocation. See page 5 for a
list of violations.

There are certain permits required (in
addition to the regular hunting license).
See individual species pages for this permit
information.
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Special Privilege Licenses

+ Anyone serving in the U.S. Armed Forces
and permanently stationed at a military
base in Maine (includes spouse and
dependent children if they permanently
reside with that person) may purchase a
resident license to hunt, trap, or fish.

Maine military personnel who are on
active duty in the U.S. Armed Forces and
permanently stationed outside Maine
may purchase either a hunting, fishing,
trapping or combination hunting and
fishing license for $3.00* Spouse and
dependent children who reside with that
person may obtain a combination license
for $20.00% or a hunting, fishing or
trapping license for $10.00* upon proof
that their home of record, as recorded in
a service record, is Maine.

*Plus agent fee.

Any citizen of a foreign nation, under 21
years of age, who is living with a family
in Maine in connection with any cultural
or educational exchange program may
purchase a resident license to hunt or fish.

Complimentary Licenses

« Veterans who are residents of Maine,
New Hampshire, and Vermont who have
a service-connected disability of 50% or
more will be issued, upon application, a
complimentary license to fish, trap, or
hunt (including all necessary permits
and other permissions and upon meeting
qualifications, a guides license). Veterans
must still apply for any-deer & moose
permits each year when applications
become available. These licenses may only
be obtained from IF&W'’s main office in
Augusta.

« Maine residents and nonresidents (if
reciprocal privileges exist in their home
state) who are suffering from the loss of,
or loss of use of, both lower extremities,

An apprenticeship hunting license is avail-
able to a resident or nonresident 16 years
of age or older who has never held a valid
adult hunting license. A person may not
obtain an apprenticeship hunting license
more than five times. A person holding
this license may not hunt other than in the
presence of an adult supervisor at least 18
years of age who has held a valid hunting
license for the prior 3 consecutive years.
The supervisor is responsible for ensuring
that the holder of an apprenticeship license
follows safe hunting protocol as well as

all hunting laws. For more information
contact IF&W at (207) 287-8000.

will be issued, upon application, a compli-
mentary license to hunt or fish as well as
an antlerless deer permit. These licenses
may only be obtained from IF&W’s main
office in Augusta.

The commissioner shall issue a hunting,
archery, trapping and fishing license,
including permits and other permis-
sions needed to hunt, trap and fish, to

a person, who is an enrolled member of
the Passamaquoddy Tribe, the Penobscot
Nation, the Houlton Band of Maliseet In-
dians or the Aroostook Band of Micmacs
that is valid for the life of that person
without any charge or fee if the person
presents certification from the respective
reservation governor or the Aroostook
Micmac Council stating that the person
described is an enrolled member of a
federally recognized nation, band or tribe
listed in this subsection.

Note: Holders of disabled veteran licens-
es & Native American licenses are subject
to laws governing a lottery or drawing
system for issuing a particular permit.

Other Licenses
Available at the Augusta Office only.
For detailed information on the following

licenses, contact the Department at
(207) 287-3614.

+ Hide Dealers License: See prohibition
regarding selling of wild animals section
on pages 6 & 7.

Seasonal Hide Dealers License: Required
for any place of business that butchers
wild animals and commercially sells or
barters the heads or untanned hides of
deer or moose that they have butchered.
Taxidermist License: Allows a place

of business to lawfully possess fish or
wildlife for the sole purpose of preparing

LICENSE

Resident Hunting (includes bear and turkey permits)

Resident Crossbow

Resident Archery

Nonresident Hunting (includes bear & turkey permits)

Nonresident Small Game (includes turkey permit)

Nonresident Crossbow

Nonresident Archery

Fees listed do not include agent fee.

and mounting them and to also buy, sell
or barter raw, untanned hides or heads
of wild animals. This includes skull and
bone mounts, commonly referred to as
European mounts.

+ Guides License: Required for anyone who

receives any form of remuneration for
their services in accompanying or assist-
ing others while hunting, fishing, trap-
ping, boating, snowmobiling, ATVing, or
camping at a primitive camping area.

A nonresident student is eligible for any
hunting, fishing, trapping license or per-
mit at the resident fee and after obtaining
that license or permit has the same priv-
ileges as a resident holder of that license
or permit. For more information contact
the Department at (207) 287-8000.

FEE

$26.00
$26.00
$26.00
$115.00
$75.00
$56.00
$75.00

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING
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2016-17 LICENSE FEES

LICENSE

MAINE RESIDENTS

NON- RESIDENTS

ALIEN

OTHER FEES

FEE
Hunting (16 and older) $26.00
Junior Hunting (0 to 15 years old) $8.00
Small Game* Hunting (16 and older) $15.00
Combination Hunting & Fishing (16 and older) $43.00
Combination Fishing & Archery (16 and older) $43.00
Serviceman (resident) Combination Hunting & Fishing $3.00
Serviceman (dependent) Combination Hunting & Fishing $20.00
Serviceman (dependent) Hunting $10.00
Disabled War Veteran (resident) FREE
Archery Hunting (16 and older) $26.00
Trapping (16 and older) $35.00
Junior Trapping (10 to 15 years) $9.00

Apprenticeship Hunting License (16 and older)

See info on page 3

Apprenticeship Trapping License (16 and older)

$35.00

Superpack

Big Game Hunting (16 and older)

Combination Hunting & Fishing (16 and older)

Small Game* Hunting (16 and older)

3-Day Small Game* Hunting (valid for 3 consecutive days)
Junior Hunting (0 to 15 years)

Archery Hunting (16 and older)

Trapping (any age)

Apprenticeship Hunting License (16 and older)
Apprenticeship Trapping License (16 and older)

$201.00

$115.00

$150.00

$75.00

$50.00

$35.00

$75.00

$318.00

See info on page 3
$317.00

Big Game Hunting (16 and older) $140.00
Combination Hunting & Fishing (16 and older) $191.00
Small Game* Hunting (16 and older) $80.00
Archery Hunting (16 and older) $85.00
Junior Hunting (0 to 15 years) $35.00
Bear Permits See page 21 & 22
Coyote Night Hunting Permit $4.00
. ; Maine Resident $26.00
Crossbow Hunting Permit  yon oot $56.00
Alien $80.00
Deer, Moose, and Bear Registration $5.00
Duplicate License $2.00
Expanded Archery Permits Antlerless Deer $12.00
(See page 14) Either Sex $32.00
Falconry Permit $26.00
Moose Permit See page 17
; Maine Resident $13.00
ggzﬁﬂcﬁg:: *Pf rmit Non-resident $69.00
Alien $79.00
Pheasant Permit (Cumberland and York Counties) $17.00
State Migratory Waterfowl Permit (16 and older)*** $7.50
Outdoor Partners Program $15.00

Taxidermist, Hide Dealer, and Guide Licenses
Wild Turkey Permit

See info on page 3
$20.00

Fees listed do not include the agent fee. The commissioner may revoke all licenses and permits issued to any person who fails to pay the fees due and may recover fees associated with insufficient funds.
*Small game license permits hunting of all legal species except deer, bear, moose, raccoon, and bobcat.

**A resident, nonresident, or alien under 16 years of age may hunt with a crosshow or muzzleloader if that person holds a valid junior hunting license.

***In addition to the State Migratory Waterfowl Permit, a Federal Migratory Waterfowl Permit is required.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING
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RESIDENTS FISHING HUNTING ~ ARCHERY  TRAPPING  SOMBINATION Ll
5 years & under $150 $150 $150 $150 $250 $400

6 - 15 years $300 $300 $300 $300 $500 $800
65yearsofage  $50 $50 $50 $50 $80 $110
66yearsofage  $40 $40 $40 $40 $64 $94
67yearsofage  $30 $30 $30 $30 $48 $78
68yearsofage  $20 $20 $20 $20 $32 $52
69yearsofage  $10 $10 $10 $10 $16 $26

70 and older $8.00— Covers all authorities that you are qualified to receive, see below.

NONRESIDENTS ~ FISHING HUNTING ~ ARCHERY  TRAPPING  SOMBINATION L
5 years & under** $450 $450 $450 $450 $750 $1,200

6 - 15 years $900 $900 $900 $900 $1,500 $2,400

*Hunting, fishing, archery

**These fees are subject to change. Please check with the Department for current fees.

MAINE LIFETIME LICENSE

Pass on a Maine Tradition and

a Gift that will Last a Lifetime

Your investment in a lifetime license for
yourself or as a gift, will allow the bearer to
fish, trap, and/ or hunt for their lifetime,
regardless of where they will live in the
future. The revenues generated by the sale
of these licenses will be deposited in a spe-
cial trust fund that will provide long-term
financial support for Maine’s fish

and wildlife.

Applicants 70 Years of Age

For a one-time fee of $8.00, a senior
lifetime license entitles the holder to all
privileges they are qualified to receive
including hunting, trapping, archery,

and fishing. The license also includes the
following: bear hunt, bear trap, migratory
waterfowl, pheasant, spring and fall turkey,

coyote night hunt, crossbow, one expanded
archery antlerless deer permit, and one
either sex permit. (Must still apply for any-
deer and moose permits each year when
applications become available.)

Note: If you purchased a senior lifetime
license before age 70, you do NOT have to
pay the $8.00 fee, and the permits listed in
the previous paragraph are included with
your lifetime license anytime during the
calendar year you turn 70 years of age. For
more information about the Lifetime Li-
cense Program, please call (207) 287-8000.

Alifetime license holder who turns 16
years of age is able to hunt with their life-
time license as an adult big game license,
they must show proof of having completed
the required safety course, contact the
Department to upgrade to an adult license,
& obtain all necessary permits. See page 12
for more information on Junior Hunters. m

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING

SUPERPACK LICENSE

To be eligible for this license,

the applicant must be a Maine
resident. This license permits a
person who has met the eligibility
requirements for each license or
permit to hunt and fish for all legal
game and fish species subject

to all of the laws covering these
activities; fishing, hunting, and
archery. The Superpack license
includes muzzleloader, crossbow,
migratory waterfowl, pheasant,
spring/fall turkey, bear, coyote
night hunt, and three expanded
archery antlerless permits. The
Superpack license also includes
one free chance in the moose
lottery and entry into a special
category in the annual any-deer
permit lottery.




LICENSING INFORMATION

Hunters should be aware of the fact
that a conviction for any hunting
violation may result in the revocation
of their hunting privileges.

Minimum Mandatory Ten Year
Revocation of Hunting Licenses

If a person is convicted of Assault While

Hunting [17A MRSA §208(A)] and

the offense occurred in the context of
hunting activity, and if, through failure
of the hunter to make proper target

identification, the offense resulted in the

injury or death of another person.

Minimum Mandatory Five Year

Revocation of Hunting Licenses

+ Shooting a domestic animal while
hunting.

+ Hunting under the influence of
intoxicating liquor or drugs.

+ Conviction of violation of 17A MRSA
while on a hunting or fishing trip or

in the pursuit of wild animals, birds or
fish and when the wounding or killing

of a human being has occurred.

Minimum Mandatory Three Year
Revocation of ALL Department
of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife
(DIF&W) Licenses

+ Disturbing traps.

Minimum Mandatory Two Year
Revocation of ALL DIF&W Licenses

Persons convicted of burglary or criminal
trespass of a building located within

any unorganized township; theft of any
equipment used for hunting, fishing

and trapping; or theft of any animal
which has been obtained by hunting or
trapping and which was in the possession
or control of the person who hunted or
trapped the animal.

Hunting Violations with a Minimum
One Year License Revocation

Ilegally hunting and/or possessing
deer, bear, or moose during closed
season.

Night hunting.

Discharging a firearm within 100 yards
of a building or residential dwelling
without permission of the owner, or in
the owner’s absence, an adult occupant
who dwells in that location.

Mlegally buying and/or selling deer,
bear, moose or wild turkeys.

legally hunting/possessing wild
turkeys including using illegal methods
to hunt wild turkeys.

Hunting deer, bear, moose, or wild
turkey after having killed one and/or
exceeding the bag limit on deer, bear,
moose or wild turkey.

GENERAL HUNTING PROVISIONS

+ Hunting over another person’s bear
bait without written permission from
that person.

In addition to penalties provided in Title

17, Section 2264-B, relating to littering,

a person convicted of littering on a

state owned wildlife management area

or sanctuary as defined in Title 12 shall

surrender their hunting and/or fishing
licenses for a period of up to one year.

Note: Maine is a participating member
of the Interstate Wildlife Violator
Compact. The Interstate Wildlife Violator
Compact is an agreement that recognizes
suspension of hunting, fishing, and
trapping licenses in member states. This
means that illegal activities in one state
can affect a person’s hunting, fishing, or
trapping privileges in all participating
states. Any person whose license privileg-
es or rights are suspended in a member
state may also be suspended in Maine. If
a person’s hunting, fishing, or trapping
privileges are suspended in Maine, they
may be suspended in member states as
well. If a person plans to hunt, fish, or
trap in another state, and they have a
license suspension in Maine, it is their
responsibility to contact the other state
to see if they can legally hunt, fish, or
trap in that state.

To hunt means to pursue, catch,
take, kill or harvest

wild birds and wild animals (wild
by nature, whether or not bred
or reared in captivity including
any physical part of that species
of mammal or bird) or attempt
to catch, take, kill or harvest wild
animals or wild birds.

The hunting, posses-

sion, transporting of any species of wild
animal or wild bird, or parts thereof, for

which an open hunting season is not spe-
cifically provided, and except as provided in
the fish and wildlife laws, is unlawful. It is
also unlawful to take, possess or needlessly
destroy the nest or eggs of any wild bird.

A person may not sell
or possess for sale a wild bird, except as
provided in this Part. A person may sell
the plumage of lawfully taken wild birds if
that sale does not violate regulations of the
federal Migratory Bird Treaty Act.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING




GENERAL HUNTING PROVISIONS

« The head, hide, antlers and feet of that
deer.

« The head, hide, antlers, feet and bones of
that moose.

+ The head, hide, teeth, gallbladder and
claws (not attached to the paws) of that
bear.

A person may buy the above listed items
for their personal use, except buying,
bartering for or trading for bear gallblad-
ders and raw antlers always requires a hide
dealer’s license.

The commercial buying, selling, bartering
and trading of any raw, untanned animal
hides (including fur-bearing animals) or
parts of wild animals and wild birds, not
prohibited above, requires a hide dealer’s
license.

Any parts bought or sold may not be
attached to wild animal or wild bird parts
which are prohibited from being sold.

Bear gall bladders and raw, unfinished deer
and moose antlers must be tagged or ac-
companied with documentation containing
the name and address of the person who
legally killed the animal.

A person may buy or sell naturally shed
antlers of deer or moose without a hide
dealer’s license.

A person may buy, sell, barter or trade
legally obtained finished wildlife products,
excluding federally protected wild animals
and birds.

Please refer to mefishwildlife.com for
latest changes to this license and the new
reporting requirements.

This is a summary of 12 MRSA §11222

While hunting, a hunter may not shoot
at a target without at that point in time
being certain that it is the wild animal
or wild bird sought.

A reasonable and prudent hunter:

+ Bears the risk of loss of legitimate
prey to avoid the risk of the destruc-
tion of human life; neither disregards
the risk of causing the death of
another human being nor fails to be
aware of that risk as a consequence
of misidentification; and never bases
identification upon sound alone or
even upon sound in combination with

Except as otherwise
provided, wild birds and wild animals may
not be hunted from % hour after sunset
until % hour before sunrise the following
day. Exceptions: migratory game bird, (see
page 32), raccoon (see below), and coyote
(see page 20).

Raccoons may be
hunted at night during the open season
only when the hunter:

+ Is accompanied by a dog.

+ Uses an electric flashlight to locate rac-
coons that are treed, or held at bay by a
dog or dogs.

+ Uses a rifle or handgun of no greater
power than one which uses .22 caliber
long rifle ammunition; said rifle to be
loaded only when being used to dispatch
a raccoon that is treed or held at bay by
dogs.

A person placing bait for
hunting purposes must:

+ Obtain oral or written permission from
the landowner or landowner’s agent.

« Plainly label the bait with a 2-inch by
4-inch tag containing the name and
address of the baiter.

+ Clean up the bait site immediately upon
landowner request, or if not requested,
within 20 days of the last day the site is
hunted.

+ A person may NOT hunt over another
person’s bait site without the baiter’s
permission.

As used in this section “bait” means an
animal or plant or a part of an animal or
plant used to attract wild animals for the
purpose of hunting.

what appears to be an appendage of
the wild animal or wild bird sought.

+ Bases identification upon obtaining an
essentially unobstructed view of the
head and torso of the potential target.

Recognizes that these sound and sight
target-determining factors are affected
by a number of other considerations,
including, but not limited to the
distance to the target, surrounding

or intervening terrain and cover,
lighting and weather conditions, the
hunter’s own ability to hear and see,
the hunter’s own experience and the
proximity of other persons in the
hunter’s immediate vicinity.

A person may not place any medicinal,
poisonous, or stupefying substance to
entice any animal, including bear.

This subsection does not apply to bear
baiting, which is summarized on page 21.
Baiting deer during any open season on
deer is prohibited. Baiting moose and
turkey is prohibited September 1, 2016 to
December 15, 2016. Baiting turkey is also
prohibited during the spring wild turkey
season.

It is unlawful to discharge any firearm,
including muzzleloaders or crossbow, or
cause a projectile to pass as a result of that
discharge within 100 yards of a building

or residential dwelling without permission
from the owner. In the owner’s absence, an
adult occupant who dwells in that location
may grant permission. As used in this
section “building” means any residential,
commercial, retail, educational, religious
or farm structure that is designed to be
occupied by people or domesticated ani-
mals or is being used to shelter machines
or harvested crops. “Projectile” means a
bullet, pellet, shot, shell, ball, bolt or other
object propelled or launched from a firearm
or crossbow.

Exception

Persons target practicing with a crossbow,
on their own land or on land which they
have permission to use, may discharge a
crossbow within 100 yards of a dwelling
provided the projectile does not enter the
property of another.
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GENERAL HUNTING PROVISIONS

Itis
unlawful to hunt while under the influence
of intoxicating liquor or drugs.

Possession of hunting equipment
in the fields and forests or on the waters or
ice of this State on Sunday is prima facie
evidence of a violation of Sunday hunting
unless: the hunting equipment is carried,
securely wrapped in a complete cover,
fastened in a case, or carried in at least 2
separate pieces in such a manner that it
cannot be fired unless the separate pieces
are joined together. For the purpose of this
paragraph, a clip, a magazine, or a cylinder
of a firearm shall not be considered a piece
of the firearm. Bows and arrows must be
kept in a case or cover if broadheads or
field points are kept attached to the arrows.

A person may possess hunting equipment
on Sunday for legitimate activities such as
target practice, sighting in rifles, etc.

A person on the
ground or airborne may not use aircraft
(including drones & remote-controlled
aircraft) to aid or assist in hunting deer,
bear, or moose.

It is unlawful to shoot while in or
on a motor vehicle, motorboat, snowmobile
or ATV or have a loaded firearm or cross
bow while in or on a motor vehicle, trailer,

Do you need to take an outdoor safety
course to obtain your license for fire-
arms, archery, crossbow, or trapping?

Maine law requires completion to obtain
your adult license unless you have
previously done so or have held an adult
license.

These courses are made available in your
area by volunteer instructors certified
by the Department of Inland Fisheries
& Wildlife. Pre-registration is requested
and/or required. Courses will include 6
to 12 hours of instruction dependent on
the subject.

Sponsors include school districts, sports
clubs, civic groups, and others. Courses
will be scheduled based on instructor
availability.

or other type of vehicle being hauled by a
motor vehicle except as specifically allowed.

Exemptions

« Persons who hold a valid Maine permit
to carry a concealed weapon may carry a
loaded pistol or revolver in a motor vehi-
cle as prescribed by Title 25 sub 2001A
please see page 10 for more information
on carrying concealed firearms.

Paraplegics and single or double ampu-
tees of the legs may shoot from motor
vehicles that are not in motion.

Migratory waterfowl may be hunted from
a motorboat in accordance with federal
regulation.

A person may shoot from a motorboat

if that boat is not being propelled by the
motor and forward momentum of the
boat has stopped. However, the wanton
waste law allows you to shoot crippled
waterfowl from a motorboat. under
power on coastal waters and all waters of
rivers and streams lying seaward of the
first upstream bridge.

Note: A loaded clip may be carried in a
motor vehicle, but it must not be inserted
in, or attached to, a firearm; a crossbow
may be carried as long it is not cocked
and armed; a muzzleloader is considered
to be loaded only if charged with powder,
projectile and a primed ignition device or
mechanism.

A person is guilty of hunting from
or over a public paved way if that person

For information on becoming a
volunteer instructor, contact your local
Regional Safety Coordinator or the
Recreational Safety Division Office at
(207) 287-5220. Call to find out who
your local Regional Safety Coordinator
is, or go on our website.

For course listings visit our website at
mefishwildlife.com.

Recreational Safety Division

+ Mailing Address: 284 State Street,
Station 41, Augusta Maine 04333

« Office Address: 8 Federal Street,
Augusta Maine 04330

+ Michael Sawyer, Recreational Safety &
Vehicle Coordinator (207) 287-5222,
(207) 557-0553 (cell)

+ Brenda Chaplin, Secretary,
(207) 287-5220
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shoots at any wild animal or wild bird from
any public paved way or within 10 feet of
the edge of the pavement of the public
paved way or from within the right-of-

way of any controlled access highway or
discharges any firearm, crossbow, or bow
and arrow over a public paved way (any
road treated with bituminous or concrete
material).

DISTURBING
TRAPS:

It is un-
lawful for any person, while on a hunting
trip, to negligently, carelessly, or willfully
shoot and wound or kill any domestic
animal or domestic bird.

Posses-
sion of a firearm or crossbow on public
school property or discharging one within
500 feet of school property, except as used
in supervised educational programs or by
law enforcement officials, is a violation of
Title 20-A Section 6552.

It is unlawful,
except during normal field dressing or for
baiting purposes, to dispose of the carcass,
waste parts or remains of a wild animal,
unless you are on the private property
owned by you, or on property where you
have landowner permission.




LAWS PERTAINING TO HUNTING EQUIPMENT

Laws Pertaining to Hunting Equipment

Wild animals and wild birds may be hunted
only by the use of rifles, handguns, shot-
guns (not larger than 10-gauge), hand-held
bow and arrow, crossbow or by falconry.
Deer and moose decoys are legal; laser
sights (red dots or beam) for firearms and
bows are legal. Electronic calling devices
are legal for deer, bear, turkey, moose, and
coyote hunting, but are illegal for migra-
tory game birds.

« It is unlawful to hunt with the use of
(or sell or offer for sale for the purpose
of hunting) a set gun, or any medici-
nal, poisonous or stupefying substance
(except rodenticide for orchard mouse
control and gas cartridges for woodchuck
control).

Drawlocks and set bows are illegal unless
otherwise permitted for disabled hunters.
Crossbows cannot be used to hunt wild
turkeys in the fall season, or deer during
the expanded archery, regular October ar-
chery, or the muzzleloader season. Please
see exceptions and additional information
related to crossbow hunting on page 11.

From September
1 to December 15, it is unlawful to use
artificial lights from % hour after sunset
until % hour before sunrise to illuminate,
jack, locate, attempt to locate or show up
wild animals or wild birds except raccoons
which may be hunted at night with electric
flashlights during the open season (see
General Hunting Provisions for details).
An exception to this may be made for
agents appointed by the commissioner to

hunt coyotes at night during this period
under policies established by the Depart-
ment.

« It is unlawful to hunt with or possess for
hunting any automatic firearm (a firearm
that continues to fire as long as the trig-
ger is held back.)

It is unlawful to hunt with or possess

for hunting any auto-loading firearm (a
firearm which reloads itself after each
shot and requires a separate trigger pull
for each shot) which has a magazine ca-
pacity of more than 5 cartridges (plus 1 in
the chamber for a total of 6), unless the
magazine has been permanently altered
to contain not more than 5 cartridges.

Note: This provision does not apply to

.22 caliber rimfire guns or to auto-loading
pistols with barrel lengths of less than 8
inches.

It is unlawful to hunt any migratory game
bird with a shotgun originally capable

of holding more than 3 shells unless the
magazine has been cut off, altered, or
plugged with a one-piece filler (incapable
of removal without disassembling the
gun), so as to reduce the capacity of the
gun to not more than 3 shells in the mag-
azine and chamber combined.

It is unlawful to hunt with or possess for
hunting any firearm fitted or contrived
with any device for deadening the sound
of the explosion without a permit.

It is unlawful to hunt with cartridges
which contain tracer bullets or explosive
bullets.

+ No firearm may be used for deer, moose,
and bear hunting which uses .17 or .22
caliber rimfire cartridges, except .22
magnum can be used for deer hunting.

It is unlawful to use a shotgun with shot-
loads for bear.

+ No firearms of any kind may be carried
while hunting deer with a bow and arrow
during the special archery season on deer
and the expanded archery season on deer,
except that a person who also holds a
license that allows hunting with firearms
may carry a handgun but it cannot be
used to shoot a deer or dispatch a wound-

ed deer.

It is unlawful to have a loaded firearm or
crossbow in or on a motor vehicle (includ-
ing trailer, ATV, aircraft, snowmobile, or
railway car). A loaded magazine may be
carried in a motor vehicle, but it must not
be inserted in or attached to a firearm.
Firearms may be transported in a motor ve-
hicle without a concealed firearms permit
provided they are (1) unloaded and in plain
view, or (2) are unloaded and placed in a
remote secure area (such as a locked trunk)
away from the control of the occupants of
the motor vehicle. For purposes of this law,
a muzzleloader is considered to be loaded
only if charged with powder, a projectile
and a primed ignition device or mecha-
nism. A crossbow is considered loaded if
cocked and armed. Exceptions apply when
carrying a concealed pistol or revolver.
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LAWS PERTAINING TO HUNTING EQUIPMENT

A person
may carry a concealed handgun without
a permit and may have that concealed,
loaded pistol or revolver in, or on, a motor
vehicle or trailer if:

+ The person is 21 years of age or older and
is not otherwise prohibited from possess-
ing a firearm or;

The person is 18 years of age or older and
under 21 years of age and on active duty
in the Armed Forces of the United States
or the National Guard or is an honorably
discharged veteran of the Armed Forces
of the United States or the National
Guard and is not otherwise prohibited
from carrying a firearm.

Upon contact with a law enforcement offi-
cer, a person carrying a concealed handgun
without a permit is required to notify them
immediately.

The regular archery license allows
bow and arrow hunting for all legal game
throughout the year (except deer during

the muzzleloader season). An archery li-
cense is required to hunt during the regular
archery deer season, and the expanded
archery deer season. In addition to the
regular archery license, hunters participat-
ing in the expanded archery deer season
(designated areas only) must purchase
permits as follows: Multiple antlerless deer
permits may be purchased for $12 each
and one either sex permit for $32 for the
expanded archery deer season.

Note: Beginning January 1, 2017 any
person who hunts with a bow and arrow
must hold a valid archery license.

Complimentary archery license holders
(Disabled Veteran, Native American) and
junior hunting license holders may hunt
with those licenses during the expanded
archery deer season.

Applicants for the regular archery license
must show proof of having successfully
completed an archery hunter education
course or of having held an adult archery
license in this state in any year after 1979.

Articles of hunter orange clothing must be in good and serviceable condition and
visible from all sides. A decal on an article of clothing that is otherwise solid-
colored hunter orange does not disqualify that article of clothing from satisfying
the requirements of this subsection. Hunter orange means a daylight fluorescent
orange color with a dominant wave length between 595 and 605 nanometers,
excitation purity not less than 85% and luminance factor of not less than 40%.
Hunter orange clothing is not required while hunting with a bow and arrow.

Muzzleloader Season on Deer

The hunter orange clothing require-
ments listed below under the firearms
hunting season on deer apply.

Firearms Season on Deer

Anyone who hunts any species with a
firearm or crossbow during any firearms
season on deer (also on Youth Deer Day)
must wear two articles of hunter orange
clothing. One article must be a solid-
colored hunter orange hat; the other
must cover a major portion of the torso,
such as a jacket, vest, coat or poncho
and must be a minimum of 50% hunter
orange in color (camouflage).

Archery Seasons on Deer

Hunter orange clothing is not required
while hunting with a bow and arrow
during the archery season.

Moose Hunting Season
Anyone who hunts any species with
a firearm or crossbow in a Wildlife

Management District that is open to
moose hunting must wear one article

of solid-colored hunter orange clothing
(hat or clothing) except when moose
season overlaps the firearms season on
deer, then two pieces must be worn. All
laws pertaining to deer hunting apply to
Moose hunters during these seasons.

Bear, Turkey, and Upland Game
Bird Hunters

When hunting bears, turkeys, and
upland game birds, hunter orange
clothing is only required when hunting
with a firearm or crossbow during the
firearms hunting season on deer, the
muzzleloader season on deer, or within
an open moose hunting district during
moose hunting season.

Waterfowl Hunters

are not affected by the provisions above
while hunting from a boat, blind, or in
conjunction with waterfowl decoys.
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When proof or evidence cannot be
provided, the applicant may substitute

a signed affidavit. Native Americans are
exempt from safety course requirements
for archery, crossbow, and trapping.

+ Junior hunters who hold a valid Junior
Hunting License are allowed to hunt with
bow and arrow when accompanied by an
adult supervisor (see page 12).

A handgun may be carried by hunters
while bowhunting but may NOT be used
to dispatch deer.

Laws which allow you to hunt without a
license on your own land under certain
conditions apply to archery hunting (see
page 2).

Deer & bear may be taken under the
archery provisions only by means of
hand-held bow with a minimum draw
weight of 35 pounds (for moose a
minimum draw weight of 45 pounds is
required), and broad-head arrow. Arrow
heads (including expandable mechanical
broadheads) must be at least % inch in
width. It is unlawful to use a set bow, or
to use arrows with poisonous or explosive
tips. Hunters 70 years of age or older may
hunt any wild bird or wild animal with a
crossbow during any open season on that
wild bird or wild animal.

Hunter orange clothing is NOT required
when hunting with bow and arrow.
Anyone who hunts with a firearm or
crossbow must wear hunter orange (see
more information on the left).

All deer killed by bow and arrow during
the archery seasons must be inspected
and registered at the first open deer regis-
tration station.

It is legal to hunt until % hour after sun-
set during both archery deer seasons.

In WMDs where no any-deer permits are
issued, archers and junior hunters are not
allowed to harvest antlerless deer during
the archery season on deer. (Deer taken
during the expanded archery deer season
are by appropriate permit as described
above.)

In addition, all other laws pertaining to
deer hunting shall apply to archery hunting.

People using trail and game cameras
may not place a camera upon the
private land of another without
written permission. All cameras
must be labeled with the person’s
name and contact information.



LAWS PERTAINING TO HUNTING EQUIPMENT

A dog’s reaction to being caught in a foothold trap can vary from

calm to frightened. Dogs released from foothold traps do not

normally sustain injury. The most common type of traps used for

land trapping in Maine are of the coilspring variety. Other types

of traps that may be used operate by similar mechanisms.

« If readily available, get a second
person to assist you.

Some dogs may attempt to bite,
especially as the trap is removed
from its foot. Protect yourself by
securing the dog’s muzzle using a
jacket or vest, or by placing a barrier
between you and the dog.

To open the trap, push down on the
levers located at either end of the
jaws. This may be best accomplished
by putting the trap flat on the
ground if possible.

(10652, Subsection 1-B-1, 2): It is
unlawful to insert any metallic or
ceramic object into a tree on land of
another for the purpose of erecting

a ladder or observation stand,

unless you have permission from the
landowner. You must obtain verbal or
written permission of the landowner
(or representative) to erect or use

a portable or permanent ladder or
observation stand and the ladder or
observation stand must be plainly
labeled with a 2-inch by 4-inch tag
identifying the name and address of
the person or persons authorized by
the landowner to use the observation
stand or ladder. Exception: Portable
ladders or observation stands used
on land within the jurisdiction of the
Maine Land Use Regulation Commis-
sion and attended by the person who
owns the ladder or observation stand
shall not require landowner permis-
sion or labeling, but permanent ones
do. Note: For additional information
on the use of private property, see
page 27. Observation stands do

not include portable blinds utilized
at ground level that remain in the
physical possession of the hunter.

+ Pushing down on the levers will

release tension on the jaws, allow-
ing the dog’s foot to be removed.

It is unlawful to take or destroy a
trap without permission from the
owner. Trappers commonly use
lures and urine to attract furbearers
such as foxes and coyotes. Dogs can
be trained to avoid trap locations
by utilizing these scents in mock
trap sets.

Crossbow Permit

To be eligible to purchase a crossbow
hunting permit, you must hold a valid

big game hunting license or an archery
license, and must submit proof of having
successfully completed an archery hunting
education course and a crossbow hunting
course or satisfactory evidence of having
previously held adult archery and crossbow
hunting permits in this state or any other
state, province, or country, in any year
after 1979. When proof or evidence cannot
be provided, the applicant may substitute
a signed affidavit. By Maine State Law, a
crossbow is not considered a firearm.

A person may hunt any wild bird or animal
with a crossbow during any open season
on that bird or animal while still following
all the other laws pertinent to that species
except that a licensed crossbow hunter

69 years of age or younger may not hunt
wild turkey during the fall turkey season
or hunt deer during the expanded archery,
special October archery or muzzleloader
seasons. A resident or nonresident may
hunt with a crossbow if that person holds
a valid junior hunting license (no crossbow
permits required).

Persons 70 years of age or older or persons
who have a special handicap permit to use
a crossbow may use a crossbow for any
species in season with appropriate permits.
For Native Americans see page 9.

Conditions on the Use of Crossbows

Crossbows cannot be used to hunt wild
turkeys in the fall season or deer during
the expanded archery, regular October
archery or the muzzleloader season.

+ Only crossbows with a shoulder-type
stock may be used;

Hand-held pistol-type crossbows are pro-
hibited; the draw weight may not be less
than 100 pounds. There is no maximum
draw weight for crossbows;

Arrowheads, including mechanical
broadheads when open, must be at least
% inch in width; arrows having explosive
or poisonous tips are prohibited,;

Crossbows must be equipped with a me-
chanical trigger safety device in working
condition;

Crossbows equipped with scopes or sights
may be used.
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12 JUNIOR HUNTERS

Junior Hunters

JUNIOR HUNTING LICENSE

Children must have a junior hunting
license to hunt. There is no minimum
hunting age for a junior hunting license
holder, any hunter under the age of 16 may
purchase a junior hunting license. Junior
hunting license holders can hunt with a
firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow (see
page 11 for additional crossbow infor-
mation). The junior hunting license also
includes hunting permits for muzzleloader,
spring and fall turkey, bear, coyote night
hunt, pheasant, state migratory waterfowl,
one expanded archery antlerless deer
permit and one either sex permit. A junior
hunter who is 15 may continue to hunt on
their junior hunting license after turning
16 for the remainder of the calendar year.
If a hunter 16 years of age completes hunt-
er safety and upgrades to an adult license
they must purchase necessary permits.

Note: Lifetime licenses purchased for a
hunter under 16 years of age is considered
a junior hunting license until the license is
upgraded to an adult license by contacting
the Department.

SUPERVISION OF JUNIOR HUNTERS

« Hunters from 10-15 years of age must be
in the presence of, and under the effective
control of, an adult supervisor.

« Hunters under the age of 10 must be in
the presence of, and under the effective
control of, an adult supervisor who
remains at all times within 20 feet of the
hunter.

A. “Adult Supervisor” Means:
1. The parent or guardian of the junior
hunter who holds or has held a valid
Maine hunting license or successfully
completed a hunter safety course.
2.A person 18 years of age or older who:
a. Is approved by the parent or guardian
of the junior hunter; and

b. Holds or has held a valid Maine hunt-
ing license or successfully completed
a hunter safety course.

B. “In the Presence of ” Means:
in visual and voice contact without the
use of visual or audio enhancement
devices, including but not limited to
binoculars and citizen band radios.

A junior hunter who turns 16 years of age
must complete the appropriate safety course
prior to hunting without supervision.

YOUTH HUNTING DAYS

Junior hunters who hold a valid junior
hunting license (including a lifetime
license) can participate in special youth
hunting days for bear, deer, spring wild
turkey, and migratory waterfowl. If a junior
hunter turns 16 but is still hunting on a
valid junior hunting license (including a
lifetime license) they may hunt on a youth
hunt day and do not have to purchase
additional permits. Exception is on
migratory waterfowl youth hunt days the
junior hunter who is 16 and hunting on a
valid junior hunting license (including a
lifetime license) must obtain a valid Federal
Migratory Bird Hunting Stamp. On these
days, all laws pertaining to hunting deer,
bear, spring wild turkey, and waterfowl

apply. ™

YOUTH HUNTING

SPECIES YOUTH HUNTING DAY(S)  REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO JUNIOR HUNTERS
Alicensed junior hunter may hunt bear with a firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow
Bear August 27, 2016 during the youth bear hunting day. Use of dogs is prohibited; hunting over bait or
still hunting is permitted.
Participants are allowed to take one deer of either sex (in WMD’s where antlerless
deer permits are issued) with a firearm, bow and arrow, or crossbow. If a junior
hunter shoots a deer on the youth deer hunting day, they are prohibited from taking
Deer October 22, 2016 any additional deer, unless they have been awarded a bonus antlerless-deer permit or
participate in the expanded archery season (designated areas only) with appropriate
expanded archery permits.
Spring April 29. 2017 Participants may take up to two bearded wild turkeys with a shotgun, bow and arrow,
Wild Turkey P ’ or crossbow, but cannot exceed an individual WMD bag limit. See wild turkey, page 19.
North Zone: ALL duck species - except Harlequins, Barrow’s Goldeneye, Moorhens and Gallinules
September 17, 2016 - may be hunted on these days, including geese. For the October 22, November 5, and
& December 10,2016~ December 10 youth days, the goose limit is under the Regular Season limit. On Sep-
tember 17, September 24, October 22, November 5, and December 10, scoters, eiders,
South Zone: and long-tailed ducks may be taken as part of the 6 bird daily limit on regular ducks.
Waterfowl September 24, 2016 Also on these dates, 1 Black Duck may be taken.) Special regulations apply to youth

& October 22, 2016 and accompanying adult: Youth under 16 years of age, must possess a junior hunting

license (no stamps required) and be accompanied by a parent or guardian or person at
least 18 years of age approved by a parent or guardian who either holds a valid Maine
hunting license or has successfully completed a hunter safety course. Must follow

regular season bag limits and exceptions.

Coastal Zone:
September 24, 2016
& November 5, 2016

*The accompanying parent, guardian, or qualified adult shall not possess a firearm, bow and arrow or crosshow while accompanying a participating youth hunter.
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DEER HUNTING

Deer Hunting

Hunting of antlerless deer (a deer
that has no antlers or has antlers
less than 3 inches in length mea-
sured from the skull) is prohibited
except by special permit during both
the firearms season and the muzzle-
loader season.

In WMDs where no any-deer permits are
issued, archers and junior hunters are also
not allowed to harvest antlerless deer.

Multiple deer may be taken during the
expanded archery season, and one may be
taken during any one of the remaining sea-
sons (with appropriate licenses or permits).

+ Baiting deer by placing salt or any other
bait or food to entice deer or hunting
from an observation stand or blind over-
looking salt, grain, fruit, nuts or other
foods known to be attractive to deer,
during any open hunting season on deer
is prohibited. (Does not apply to hunting
from an observation stand or blind over-
looking: standing crops; foods that have
been left as a result of normal agricul-
tural operations or as a result of natural
occurrence; or bear bait that has been
placed at a bear hunting stand or blind in
accordance with bear baiting laws.)

Deer may not be hunted with the use

of dogs, artificial lights, snares, traps,
set guns or any firearm using .17 or .22
caliber rimfire cartridges, except that .22
caliber rimfire magnum cartridges are
permitted. Deer decoys are legal.

+ A person may not participate in a hunt
for deer during which an organized or
planned effort is made to drive deer.
Four or more persons working together
to move deer constitutes an organized or
planned effort to drive deer.

It is unlawful to hunt deer after having
killed or registered one during the open
season of that calendar year (except for
participants in the expanded archery
season on deer — see page 14, or by
individuals in possession of a valid bonus
antlerless deer permit or superpack ant-
lerless deer permit).

Gift deer may not be possessed unless
clearly labeled with the name and address
of the person who registered the animal,
and the year it was registered.

« For information on buying, selling or
bartering animals, see pages 6 & 7.

+ Mt. Desert Island in Hancock County;

« Cross and Scotch Islands, located in
Washington County;

+ The town of Isle au Haut and islands with-
in that town, located in Knox County; and

+ In wildlife sanctuaries. See exceptions
below.

But with these Special Restrictions:

+ Beauchamp Point Sanctuary: In Camden
and Rockport, Knox County, is open to
archery hunting for deer during any open
hunting season that allows archery equip-
ment to be used to hunt deer.

Cranberry Isles: In the town of Cran-
berry Isles, Hancock County, it is lawful
to hunt deer with bow and arrow only
during the archery and firearms seasons
on deer or with shotgun during the fire-
arm season on deer.

Frenchboro: On the island of Frenchboro
it is lawful to hunt deer with shotgun
only during the firearms season on deer.

Islesboro: In the town of Islesboro,
Waldo County, it is lawful to hunt deer
during the archery, expanded archery,

or firearm season on deer with bow and
arrow only during the firearms season on
deer.

Prout’s Neck; Richmond’s Island; Cape
Elizabeth Sanctuary: Approximately
1,600 acres of this sanctuary is open to
deer hunting with bow and arrow only
during the open special archery season
and the firearms season on deer.

Note: Landowner permission required.
Southport: In the town of Southport,
Lincoln County, and on all islands within
its confines, it is lawful to hunt deer with
shotguns only, during the firearms season
on deer.

Several Maine cit-

ies and towns have adopted local ordinanc-
es which restrict or prohibit the discharge
of certain projectiles (e.g., arrows, bullets).
Prior to hunting near densely populated
communities, hunters should check with
local authorities regarding such ordinances.
Towns may regulate the discharge of fire-
arms as provided by Title 30-A, however,
they cannot regulate or charge fees to
hunt, fish or trap.
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DEER HUNTING

DEER PERMITS & LICENSES

Muzzleloader Permit
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Required for hunters 16 years of age or
older prior to hunting deer during the
muzzleloader deer season. (See page 12.)
The muzzleloader permit is included in
the junior hunting license and for individ-
uals who have reached 70 years of age and
possess a senior lifetime license.

A muzzleloader permit, in addition to a
valid adult big game hunting license that
allows the use of firearms, is required to
hunt deer with muzzleloaders during this
season.

Hunter orange clothing is required during
this season (see page 10).

Hunting hours are from % hour before
sunrise to % hour after sunset.

Except as specified, all other laws relating
to the taking of deer with firearms shall
apply to the taking of deer with muzzle-
loaders.

Only muzzleloaders that are 40 caliber or
greater and capable of firing only a single
charge and crossbows by persons 70 years
of age or older may be used to hunt deer
during this season. Muzzleloader means

a firearm that is capable of being loaded
only through the muzzle; is ignited by

a matchlock, wheel lock, flintlock, or

MDIF&W biologists annually collect
weather related data (i.e., temperature,
snow depth, and deer sinking depth)
from 27 representative sites across
Maine to calculate a weather severity
index. The index provides MDIF&W
with an all-inclusive (i.e., accounts

for predation, malnutrition, physical
limitations of deer, etc...,) estimate

of over-winter mortality rates. The
metric has been used since 1973 to
estimate annual over-winter mortality
of white-tailed deer at the statewide
and WMD levels. Since the correlation
between WSI (Winter Severity Index)
and WMR (Winter Mortality Rate) was
identified, the metric has become one
of the cornerstones of Maine’s deer
management system.

Because the metric is derived from

an ecological relationship, which may
change through time, we must continue
to monitor the efficacy of the metric to

caplock, including an in-line caplock or

shotgun or rifle primer mechanism; has a

rifled or smooth-bored barrel capable of
firing only a single charge; propels a ball,
bullet, or charge of shot; and may have
any type of sights, including scopes.

Expanded Archery Permit

+ Restricted to designated areas (contact
the Department, or see our website, for
maps of areas).

Archery hunting only.

Hunters who have a valid archery license
will be able to purchase multiple antler-
less deer permits for $12.00* each, and
one either sex permit for $32.00*

*Plus agent fee

Junior hunters may hunt during this
season with their junior hunting license.

The junior hunting license includes one

expanded archery antlerless deer permit
and one either sex permit. If the hunter
wants to take additional deer, unlimited

expanded archery antlerless deer permits

may be purchased.

maintain our high standards of wildlife
management.

As such, MDIF&W has initiated a
5-year population monitoring project
using GPS- Satellite collar technology
to track survival/mortality trends
associated with Maine’s antlerless deer
populations. The primary goals of the
monitoring project are to:

1. Reevaluate the correlation between
WSI and WMR for white-tailed deer,
2. Assess seasonal survival rates for the
adult female (21.5 years) and fawn

segments of the population,

3. Assess cause-specific mortality of our
adult female and fawn populations,
and

4. Reassess the current winter severity
index and try to identify a new, and
more simplistic metric.

5. Begin to understand predator-prey
dynamics for white-tailed deer, in
Maine.

Deer must be legally transported and reg-
istered as required for other deer seasons.

All other archery deer hunting laws apply.

Antlerless Deer Permit

Hunting of antlerless deer during the
firearms season and muzzleloader season
is restricted to those hunters who possess
a valid any-deer permit, bonus antlerless
deer permit, or superpack antlerless deer
permit.

Antlerless deer may be taken by hunt-

ers during the expanded (September

- December) and regular (October)
archery seasons. Archers may not take
antlerless deer in WMDs where any-
deer permits are not issued. Any-deer
permits are acquired by lottery only and
applications are available mid-June.

In several WMDs, there may be more any-
deer permits available than applicants.
Unclaimed bonus antlerless deer permits
will be allocated in a chance drawing until
all permits in that district have been
issued.

Maine’s antlerless deer (firearms) hunt
is a “permit only” hunt. Information

on this hunt is contained in a separate
publication. Contact the Department at
(207) 287-8000 for more information or
visit our website at mefishwildlife.com. ®

NOTICE TO DOG OWNERS

It is unlawful to allow any dog to
run at large at any time, except
when used for hunting. (“AT
LARGE” means off the premises
of the owner and not under the
control of any person by means of
personal presence or attention.)
It is unlawful to allow any dog to
chase, wound, or kill a deer or
moose at any time or any other
wild animal in closed season.




DEER HUNTING

Any person who knows or has reason
to believe that they have inflicted
injury to another person by the

use of firearms or bow and arrow is
required to make themselves known
to the victim and render such first
aid and assistance as they are capable
of under the circumstances. The
incident must be reported by the
quickest means, to a game warden or
other law enforcement officer.

It is illegal for any person to willfully
interfere with the lawful hunting

of any wild animal or wild bird,
including the willful disturbance of
wild animals or wild birds with intent
to interfere with their lawful taking.
Note: This law does not limit the
ownership, use, access, or control of
property rights otherwise provided
by law.

SEASON

Expanded Archery
(limited area/permit required)

Regular Archery (Statewide)

Firearms

(allows use of bow and arrow, crossbows*,

firearms, or muzzleloaders)

Youth Deer Hunting Day

Muzzleloader

DATES
September 10 - December 10, 2016
September 29 - October 28, 2016

Maine Residents Only:
October 29, 2016

All Hunters:
October 31 - November 26, 2016

October 22, 2016

Week 1:
All Wildlife Management Districts (WMD’s)
November 28 - December 3, 2016

Week 2:
WMD’s 12, 13, 15-18, 20-26, 29
December 5 - December 10, 2016

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday. *See page 11 for information on the use of crossbows.

DAILY BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT

Only 1 may be taken annually.

Exception: Additional deer may be
taken by participants in the Expanded
Archery Season within the expanded
archery zones or by anyone possess-
ing a bonus antlerless deer permit or
superpack antlerless deer permit.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING



16 DEER AND MOOSE

Deer & Moose

CHRONIC WASTING DISEASE (CWD)

What is CWD

+ CWD is a fatal brain disease of white-
tailed deer, mule deer, caribou, moose,
and elk. It is similar to mad cow disease
which occurs in cattle.

+ CWD occurs in wild deer populations in
18 states and 2 provinces in the U.S. and
Canada, including within states as close
as Pennsylvania and New York.

+ CWD has not yet been recorded as being
transmissible to people. However, a hu-
man variant of the disease does exist.

+ CWD can persist in the environment
outside of a host for many years.

+ CWD has a 100% mortality rate in deer.

CWD Monitoring and Prevention

in Maine

+ Maine has actively monitored for CWD
each year since 1999, and since that time
screened approximately 9,000 wild deer.
Thus far, Maine proudly remains CWD
free.

It is illegal for individuals to bring into
Maine cervid carcasses or parts, except
that the following carcass parts may

be imported and possessed: boned-out
meat, hardened antlers, skull caps that
have been cleaned free of brain and other
tissues, capes and hides with no skull
attached, teeth, and finished taxidermy
mounts.

REGULATIONS ON FEEDING DEER

The commissioner can stop anyone
from feeding deer when it is deemed
to be a public safety hazard or
detrimental to the deer population.

WASTE OF GAME

A person may not waste a wild

bird or wild animal that has been
wounded or killed while hunting.
For purposes of this section “waste”
means to intentionally leave a
wounded or killed animal in the
field or forest without making a
reasonable effort to retrieve and
render it for consumption or use.
This law does not apply to coyotes.

Note: Cervid carcasses or parts from

New Hampshire and provinces of New
Brunswick, Labrador, Newfoundland, and
Quebec are exempt from this transporta-
tion restriction.

+ MDIFW prohibits the transportation
of unprocessed deer carcasses, and/or
parts, into Maine from states that are
not directly adjacent to our state.

+ MDIF&W will not transplant deer from
other states into Maine.

MDIFW Recommends that Individuals:

« Contact their regional wildlife biologist,
or warden, if an animal shows clinical
signs of illness, such as loss of fear of
humans, drooling, and/or excessive
weight loss.

+ Take precautionary steps such as using
latex gloves while processing a harvested
deer, and sterilizing their equipment fol-
lowing processing. These steps will help
to reduce potential transmission of the

DEPARTMENT CHECK STATIONS

Our wildlife biologists annually
collect information that allows the
Department to assess the condi-
tion and productivity of Maine’s
deer population. Much of the
information we collect comes from
hunter harvested deer. As such, the
information you provide us with is
used directly for deer management
purposes, in Maine. A summary of
the information we collect from you
can be found within our Annual Re-
search and Management Reports.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING

disease to humans. Again, thus far CWD
has not been identified in a person.
+ Avoid consumption of the brain and
spinal tissues.
Refrain from feeding deer during the
winter months as high densities of deer
within a small area can increase disease
transmission.

Do not use urine based lures as CWD has
been shown to be spread via bodily fluids.
To the best of our knowledge commercial
lures are not currently monitored for
CWD. If you choose to utilize urine-based
lures be certain to place it in a location
that deer cannot come in contact with. m

CAUTION ON LIVER &
KIDNEY CONSUMPTION

The Maine Department of Inland
Fisheries and Wildlife and the
Maine Center for Disease Control
and Prevention recommend that
the liver and kidneys of moose not
be eaten because of possible con-
tamination with the heavy metal
cadmium. Also, recent studies have
shown smaller amounts of cadmi-
um in liver tissues from Maine deer,
and deer, elk and antelope from
other States. Maine health officials
recommend that deer liver con-
sumption be limited to 0.8 pounds
in one sitting and 1to 15 pounds
per week. Human symptoms of
acute cadmium poisoning include
severe nausea, vomiting, diarrhea,
muscle cramps and salivation.
There is no known health risk from
eating moose meat or deer meat.




MOOSE HUNTING

Moose Hunting

Maine’s moose hunt is a “permit only”
hunt. Information on this hunt is con-
tained in a separate publication. 2,140
permits were issued for the 2016 moose
hunt. Each permittee may select a subper-
mittee to hunt with them. Applications are
available by January 31. A person may not
hunt moose with an apprenticeship license.
The bag limit is one moose per year, by
either permittee or subpermittee.

A resident 70 years of age or older with 30
points or more in the moose lottery system
who applies for a moose permit is guaran-
teed a permit.

In any year when moose permit numbers
exceed 3,140 persons who operate a sport-
ing camp and meet specific requirements
defined in the law may apply for a moose
permit through a chance drawing which is
separate from the regular moose lottery.
Contact the Department at (207) 287-8000
for more information or visit our website
at mefishwildlife.com.

WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT DISTRICT

1-6,11,19

1-14,17-19, 27, 28

1-4,19

15, 16, 23, 25, 26

15, 16, 23, 25, 26

Maine Resident Permit Holders Only

DATES

September 26 - October 1, 2016

October 10 - October 15, 2016

October 24 - October 29, 2016

October 31 - November 26, 2016

October 29, 2016

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday.

See page 11 for information on the use of crossbows.
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WILD TURKEY HUNTING

Wild Turkey Hunting

Anyone who possesses a big game

or small game firearms license or
archery license may obtain a combina-
tion spring/fall wild turkey permit.

The following laws and regulations are spe-
cific to spring and fall wild turkey hunting
seasons. Hunters must also comply with all
other applicable fish and wildlife laws.

Any private landowner is eligible to hunt

wild turkeys on their own land without a

turkey hunting permit if:

1.That person owns a particular piece of
land that is 25 or more contiguous acres
in size and is located within the turkey
hunting zone designated for the season
that they wish to hunt;

2.That person is permanently domiciled on
that land;

3.The land is managed for the raising and
selling of dairy cattle, dairy products, or
beef cattle; and

4.The land is open to hunting including
hunting by permission only. Any family
member permanently domiciled on that
land is also eligible to hunt wild turkeys
on that land without a permit. (Family
member means any family member,
including spouse, grandchildren, etc.
who resides on the property). A land-
owner must provide proof of eligibility
if requested by an agent of the commis-
sioner. All other standard reporting and
tagging procedures are required. Turkey
may be taken during any open week of
the season. Landowners are allowed a
bag limit of 2 bearded wild turkeys in the
spring season and 2 turkeys of either sex
in the fall season. Please check the WMD
in which you are hunting as some are
closed, some are open with a bag limit
of one turkey, and some are open with a
bag limit of two turkeys.

Any person killing a wild turkey shall
immediately and securely attach to its leg
a plainly visible tag bearing his/her full
name, address and license number. A gift
turkey must be labeled with the name and
address of the person who registered it and
the year the turkey was registered.

Any wild turkey being moved or transport-
ed in any manner must have a tag securely
attached, and it must be accompanied by

the person who killed it. Unless the wild
turkey has been legally registered, no
person shall keep a wild turkey at his/her
home or at any place of storage (except at
the official registration station or at the
office of a Maine Game Warden) for more
than eighteen (18) hours without first
notifying a game warden.

All wild turkeys taken by hunters shall be
presented for registration within 18 hours
at one of the registration stations estab-
lished for that purpose. The entire turkey,
except the viscera, shall be presented. The
fee to register a wild turkey is $2.00. All
radio transmitters, leg bands and wing tags
must be submitted to the Department at
the time of registration.

No Person May:

1. Employ the use of a dog or dogs in any
manner while hunting turkey except
during the fall season;

2.Engage in an organized drive of any
manner;

3. Use bait;

4.Use a trap or other device intended or
designed to capture or ensnare wild
turkeys;

5.Shoot a turkey while it is in a tree;

6. Present a wild turkey for registration, or
allow to be registered in his or her name,
any wild turkey which he/she did not
lawfully kill;

7.Hunt wild turkeys within a WMD which
is closed to hunting wild turkeys.

8.Possess any part or parts of a wild turkey
unless each part is plainly labeled with
the name and address of the person who
registered the turkey, and the year it was
registered;

9. Buy, sell (or offer for sale or barter) any
wild turkey (except the plumage of legal-
ly taken turkeys), or to counsel or other-
wise aid in buying, selling or offering for
sale or barter any wild turkey, except the
plumage.

10. Hunt or register a wild turkey during
the spring turkey season after having
killed two turkeys or after having reg-
istered two turkeys during the spring
turkey season. It is unlawful for any
person to hunt or register a wild turkey
during the fall turkey season after hav-
ing killed two turkeys or after having
registered two turkeys during the fall
turkey season.
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A sample of wild turkey permit holders,
including those who did not hunt or were
unsuccessful, will be asked to complete a
questionnaire provided by the Department
of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife and return
it to the Department within a period of

10 days after the close of the wild turkey
hunting season. Information provided

by hunters is an important part of the
Department’s wild turkey management
program.

Legal hunting time is from % hour before
sunrise to % hour after sunset.

License & Permit

The spring and fall wild turkey hunting
seasons are open to all hunters with
appropriate licenses.

A combination spring/fall wild turkey
permit is required in addition to a valid
hunting license that allows hunting of big
game or small game.

A combined spring/fall permit is available
for $20.00*.
*Plus agent fee.

General Bag Limits

The spring/fall turkey permit allows the
taking of two (2) bearded wild turkeys
in the spring and two (2) wild turkeys of
either sex in the fall, but an individual
WMD bag limit cannot be exceeded.

Who May Hunt

The turkey hunter must possess the spring/
fall wild turkey permit and their hunting
license at all times while hunting. A person
may assist in a hunt without a license or
permit for that activity as long as that
person does not carry a firearm, archery or
crossbow equipment (means to kill).
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SPRING WILD TURKEY HUNTING

The spring wild turkey hunting season is
open to turkey hunting statewide (Wildlife
Management Districts 1-29).

Equipment

« Shotgun: A person can use shotgun
gauges 10 through 20, using shot sizes
4 through 6 or mixed loads that include
shot sizes 4 through 7. A person must
possess a valid hunting license and a
turkey permit.

« Bow & Arrow: A person must possess
a valid hunting license or an archery
license, and a turkey permit.

» Crossbow: A crossbow may be used to
hunt wild turkeys during the spring wild
turkey hunting season. A person hunting
with a crossbow must possess either a
valid big game firearms hunting license
or an archery license as well as a turkey

permit and crossbow permit. (A person
must have taken an archery and crossbow
hunting education course or show proof
that they have previously held an archery
and crossbow hunting license prior to
purchasing their crossbow permit).

« Dogs: It is unlawful to hunt with dogs
during the spring wild turkey season.

« Electronic Calling Devices: The use of
electronic calling devices are legal.

FALL WILD TURKEY HUNTING

Equipment

+ Shotgun: A person can use shotgun
gauges 10 through 20, using shot sizes
4 through 6 or mixed loads that include
shot sizes 4 through 7. A person must
possess a valid hunting license and a
turkey permit.

« Bow & Arrow: A person must possess
a valid hunting license or an archery
license, and a turkey permit.

Crossbow: Only a person 70 years of age
and older and persons with a crossbow
disability permit may hunt with a cross-
bow with a valid hunting license and a
turkey permit.

Electronic Calling Devices: The use of
electronic calling devices are legal.

Dogs: The use of dogs are legal to hunt
wild turkey during the fall season.

Note: The fall shotgun wild turkey season
involves tactics that are different from
the “sit and call” approach and hunters
are reminded to use extreme caution
while hunting. ®

2016-17 WILD TURKEY SEASONS & BAG LIMITS

SEASON

Fall Wild Turkey
(bow and arrow or shotgun)

DATES AND BAG LIMITS

Wildlife Management Districts 15-17, 20-25, 28

October 1 - November 7, 2016
2 Wild Turkeys, either sex, any age

Wildlife Management Districts 10-13, 18-19, 26, and 29

October 1 - November 7, 2016
1 Wild Turkey, either sex, any ageu

Wildlife Management Districts 1-9, 14, and 27

Closed to Hunting

Spring Wild Turkey
(bow and arrow, crossbow or shotgun)

Wildlife Management Districts 7, 9-29
May 1 - June 3, 2017
2 bearded Wild Turkeys

Wildlife Management District 8
May 1 - June 3, 2017
1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Wildlife Management Districts 1-6

Season A**, Week 1: May 1 — May 6, 2017 and May 15 - May 20, 2017

1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Wildlife Management Districts 1-6

Season B*, Week 1: May 8 - May 13, 2017 and May 22 - May 27, 2017

1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Wildlife Management Districts 1-6
All hunters: May 29 - June 3, 2017
1 bearded Wild Turkey*

Youth Spring Wild Turkey Hunting Day
April 29, 2017

May take up to 2 bearded Wild Turkeys from WMD’s that have a 2 bird limit.

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday.

See page 11 for information on the use of crosshows.

*May take up to 2 turkeys for the season, but the second turkey MUST come from a WMD listed as having a 2 bird limit.
**During “odd” numbered years hunters with “odd” birth years will be authorized to hunt during Season A; hunters with “even” birth years will be authorized to hunt during Season B.
During “even” numbered years, hunters with “even” birth years will be authorized to hunt during season A; hunters with “odd” birth years will be authorized to hunt during Season B.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING



20 OTHER SPECIES HUNTING

Other
Species
Hunting

OTHER SPECIES PERMITS & LICENSES

Pheasant Permit

A Pheasant Permit is required for hunters
16 years of age or older hunting on an
adult license, in order to hunt or possess
pheasant in Cumberland & York counties.
Revenue derived from this permit is
dedicated to the acquisition of pheasants
which are raised and released by private
fish and game clubs.

Coyote Night Hunting Permit

A Coyote Night Hunting Permit (which

is valid from January 1 - December 31) is
required to hunt coyote at night (1/2 hour
after sunset until 1/2 hour before sunrise)
from December 16 to August 31. Hunting
under this permit is prohibited from 11:59
p-m. on Saturday until 12:01 a.m. on
Monday. Hunters must be in possession of
an electronic, hand-held or mouth-oper-
ated predator calling device. See Hunting
with Dogs on page 23. The fee for this
permit is $4*. Artificial lights may be used.
In addition, the commissioner may appoint
agents to hunt for coyotes at night using
artificial illumination from September 1

to December 15. The commissioner shall
develop policies to make the affected public
and affected law enforcement officers
aware of any night hunting operation.
*Plus agent fee.

ATTENTION GROUSE
HUNTERS

The Department is collaborating
with the University of Maine on a
research project to better under-
stand the population dynamics
of ruffed grouse. As part of this

research we will be marking
ruffed grouse using leg bands and
radio collars in a number of areas
throughout the state. If you shoot
a banded grouse, please report
your harvest using the contact
information printed on the bird’s
leg band.

Falconry License

A falconry license, in addition to a regular
hunting license, is required of persons who
engage in falconry. Copies of the regula-
tions pertaining to this type of hunting are
available upon request. To obtain a falconry
license, contact the Department.

Crows

Crows are neither migratory waterfowl or
migratory game birds. The use of lead shot
and the use of a shotgun capable of holding
more than three shells is permitted. A
migratory waterfowl stamp is not required.

MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

The Following Shall be Considered
Migratory Gamebirds

Anatidae or waterfowl, including brant,
wild ducks, and geese; Rallidae or rails,
including coots, sora, and other rails;
Wilson’s Snipe & American Woodcock.

Migratory Waterfowl Permit

The State Migratory Waterfowl Permit is
required of anyone 16 years of age or older
if they are hunting on an adult license,
but is not required if continuing to hunt
on ajunior license for the remainder of
the calender year. Anyone who turns 16,
whether hunting on an adult license or

a junior license, must purchase a Federal
Stamp. See page 32 for more information.
A Migratory Waterfowl permit is not
required to hunt woodcock, snipe, rails, or
crow. W

2016-17 OTHER SPECIES SEASON AND BAG LIMITS

SEASON DATES BAG LIMIT  POSSESSION LIMIT
Pheasant* October 1 - December 31, 2016 2 4
Ruffed Grouse () 1o 1 - December 31,2016 4 8
(Partridge)
Bobwhite Quail October 1 - December 31, 2016 4 8
WMDs 1 - 6:
August 1 - September 23, 2016
February 4 - April 15, 2017
Crow No Limit
WMDs 7 - 29:
August 1 - September 23, 2016
January 20 - March 31, 2017
Gray Squirrel October 1 - December 31, 2016
; 8
Gray Squirrel October 1, 2016 - February 28, 2017
(Falconry)
October 1, 2016 - March 31, 2017
Snowshoe Hare Season on Island of Vinalhaven: 4 8
October 1, 2016 - February 28, 2017
Bobcat** December 1, 2016 - February 21, 2017 No Limit
Fox October 17, 2016 - February 28, 2017 No Limit
Raccoon October 1 - December 31, 2016 No Limit
Skunk & Opossum October 17 - December 31, 2016 No Limit
During daylight hunting hours
January 1 - December 31, 2016
Coyote™* No Limit
overe Night hunting (see info to the left) R
December 16, 2016 - August 31, 2017
Woodchuck,
Red Squirrel, No closed season for hunting No Limit

& Porcupine

Cottontail
Rabbit, Spruce
Grouse, Lynx

No Open Season

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday. See page 11 for information on the use of crossbows.
*In York and Cumberland counties, a permit is required to hunt or possess pheasant. Permit is not required to hunt or

possess pheasant throughout the remainder of the State.

**Species must be tagged within 10 days of the close of the season. Bobcat must be tagged within 72 hours of harvest.
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BEAR HUNTING

Bear
Hunting

The fee for this permit is $27.00* for
residents and $74.00* for nonresidents
and aliens. A bear permit is required to
hunt bear prior to the firearm season on
deer. During the firearms season on deer,
nonresidents and aliens are required to
obtain a permit to hunt bear. The fee

for this permit is $40.00*. Although this
permit is not required to trap for bear,
you do need a trapping license and a bear
trapping permit to trap for bear.

*Plus agent fee.

Bait may not be used to hunt for bear
from September 26, 2016 to November
26, 2016. Hunting with the use of bait is
defined as hunting from an observation
stand, blind or other location which
overlooks any bait or food except standing
crops and foods that have been left as a
result of normal agricultural operations or
natural occurrence. “Bear bait” means any
animal or plant, or derivative of an animal
or plant, used to attract bear. “Bear bait”
does not include any packaging or contain-
er materials that fall within the definition
of litter under Title 17, §2263. A person
may not place any medicinal, poisonous, or
stupefying substance to entice any animal,
including bear.

Bait may not be placed to entice, hunt or

trap black bear unless:

+ The bait is placed at least 50 yards from
any travel way that is accessible by a
conventional 2-wheel or 4-wheel drive
vehicle;

The observation stand, blind, or bait area
is plainly labeled with a 2 inch by 4 inch
tag with the name and address of the
baiter;

The bait is placed more than 500 yards
from any solid waste disposal site or
campground,;

The bait is placed more than 500 yards
from an occupied dwelling, unless written
permission is granted by the owner or
leasee;

Although bait can be used to assist dog
hunters & trappers after the bait season
closes, it is illegal to shoot a bear over
bait after Sept. 24, 2016;

+ The bait areas will be cleaned up by
November 10 as defined by the State
litter laws; and

+ The person hunting from any stand or

blind of another person has permission

of the owner of that stand or blind.

Landowner permission (oral or in writ-

ing) is required to place bait on another

person’s land.

+ Bait may not be placed more than 30 days
before opening day of the season and not
after October 31.

A permit is required from Inland Fish-

eries & Wildlife to place bait on wildlife

management areas for the purpose of
hunting bear. Contact the wildlife biologist
in your administrative region, which can
be found on page 37, to apply for a bear
baiting permit.

A permit is required from the Bureau of
Parks and Lands, (207) 287-3821, to place
bait on Public Reserved Land for the pur-
pose of hunting bear. Baiting of animals is
prohibited in State Parks and Historic Sites.

+ A person cannot within 50 yards of a
bait site and without written permis-
sion hunt, trap, molest or harass bear or
release a dog or dogs to hunt bear or train
dogs on bear. A person cannot disturb the
bait site by using chemicals or interfere
with the bait site in any other way.

Dogs may not be used to hunt bear
during the open firearm season on deer.

No more than 6 dogs may be used at any
one time to hunt for bear.

Nonresidents may not use a dog or dogs
to hunt for bear unless they employ

and hunt in the presence of a resident
Maine guide. This section does not apply
to nonresidents who hold a valid Maine
guide license — they may hunt bear with

SEASON DATES
General Hunting
Hunting with Dogs
Hunting with Bait
Trapping

Youth Bear

Hunting Day August 27,2016

September 12 - October 28, 2016
August 29 - September 24, 2016

September 1 - October 31, 2016

the use of dogs themselves and guide
residents but not nonresidents. The total
number of clients with a licensed guide
may not be more than five.

No firearm may be used for bear hunting
which uses .17 or .22 caliber rimfire
cartridges or shotguns with shotloads.
You may not kill or wound a bear that is
treed or held at bay by another person’s
dog or dogs unless you have permission
from the person conducting the hunt.
You may not hunt or trap bear or release
dogs to hunt for bear within 500 yards
from sites permitted or licensed for the
disposal of solid waste.

Prior to registration, bears may be cut up
for ease of transportation, but all parts
of the bear (except for the viscera and rib
cage) must be presented and in such a
manner that the sex of the animal can be
determined.

It is unlawful to hunt bear after having
killed and registered two (one by hunting,
one by trapping) during the open season
of that calendar year.

Gift bear may not be possessed unless
each part is clearly labeled with the name
and address of the person who registered
the animal and the year in which it was
registered.

For information on buying, selling or
bartering animals, see page pages 6 & 7.
For information on tracking wounded
bear, deer or moose with a Leashed Dog
Tracking License see page 23.

Note: Hunters are required to remove

a premolar tooth from the bear they
harvest and provide the tooth when they
register their bear. Hunters will receive
instructions at the registration station or
can go online. Hunters will be notified of
the age of the bear they harvested on the
Bear Hunting Page on the Department’s
website next August.

DAILY BAG & POSSESSION LIMIT

August 29 - November 26, 2016

2 may be taken annually
— 1 by hunting, 1 by
trapping

Bait can be placed starting
July 30

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday.

See page 11 for information on the use of crossbows.
For information on bear trapping, see page 22.
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Bear Trapping

A bear trapping permit and a trapping
license is required to set a trap for a bear
during the bear trapping season from Sep-
tember 1 - October 31 annually. You are
allowed to take one bear by trapping and
one bear by hunting annually (see page 21).
The fee for a bear trapping permit is $27
for residents and $67 for non-residents
and aliens™.

*Plus agent fee.

If you trap for black bear you are required
to follow the same general rules that apply
to the labeling of traps, the tending of
traps and the need to obtain landowner
permission. If you trap a bear, you are
required to follow the same transportation
and registration rules as those for bear
which have been taken by hunting (see
page 23). In addition, you are required to
follow other rules which apply specifically
to bear trapping, as follows:
« You are not allowed to have more than
one trap set for bear at any time.

The only trap you are allowed to use when
trapping for bear is a cable trap (foot
snare), and cage type live trap.

The Belisle foot snare is prohibited.

When using a cable trap, the trap must
have a closing diameter of not less than
2% inches.

Each cable trap must be set at or below
ground level in such a manner as to catch
the animal only by the foot or leg. All bear
traps must be tended at least once each
day.

You are not allowed to catch a bearin a
trap and allow another person to kill or
register the bear.

You are not allowed to continue to trap
for bear after you have already killed or
registered one in a trap.

Bears caught in traps must be killed or
released and not moved away from the
catch site. A bear caught in a trap may not
be used in conjunction with a hunt or to
train a dog for bear hunting.

The same rules apply to hunting and trap-
ping for bear with the use of bait. (See
page 21 for rules about the use of bear
baits.)

The Federal Aid in Wildlife Restoration
Act of 1937, commonly known as

the Pittman- Robertson (PR) Act
established a “User Pay/User Benefit”
philosophy for funding State wildlife
restoration and conservation efforts
directed towards America’s wildlife re-
sources. These funds have played a vital
role in the management of Maine’s wild-
life since they were first used in 1939
to enhance the Department’s wildlife
management capabilities. Revenues are
collected from excise taxes on firearms,

+ Aline of demarcation of at least 500
yards shall be established at sites permit-
ted or licensed for the disposal of solid
waste. A person may not trap within the
demarcation area (except that an agent of
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ammunition, pistols, revolvers, bows
and arrows and deposited in the Federal
Aid in Wildlife Restoration Fund.

These funds support a wide array

of projects in Maine which include:
wildlife population assessments,
long-range species management
planning, development of management
recommendations, implementation of
management programs, acquisition and
management of wildlife habitat, and
hunter education.

the commissioner is exempt for the pur-
pose of live trapping of nuisance bear).

« All trapping licenses are issued from the
Maine Department of Inland Fisheries
and Wildlife office in Augusta. Trapping
licenses cannot be purchased online.




TAGGING, TRANSPORTATION & REGISTRATION

Tagging, Transportation

& Registration

Prior to presenting a bear, deer, moose, or
wild turkey for registration, a person may
not possess or leave that animal in the field
or forest unless that person has securely
attached a plainly visible tag to the animal
with that person’s, name, address, and
license number on the tag.

A person may not transport a harvested
wild animal or wild bird unless that

animal or bird is lawfully possessed by

the person. Once the animal or bird has
been registered, it may be transported by
another person. A person may not present
for registration or allow to be registered in
that person’s name, a bear, deer, moose, or
wild turkey that the person did not lawfully
kill.

Prior to registration, a person may not
transport a harvested bear, deer, moose, or
wild turkey unless that animal is open to
view. For purposes of this section, “open
to view” means the animal is not concealed
and can be readily observed in whole or in
part from outside of the vehicle or trailer
being used to transport the animal.

A Person who Kills a Bear, Deer, Moose,

or Wild Turkey Must:

1.Remain with the animal until it is regis-
tered, exceptions found in Time Limits
for Registering section.

2.Present that animal for registration in
that person’s name at the first open
registration station for that animal on
the route taken by that person; and

3.Leave the registration seal attached to
the animal until the animal is processed
and packaged for consumption.

4.Pay a fee of $5.00 for registration of a
bear, deer or moose (of this fee, $2 is
retained by the agent and $1 is dedicated
to a Deer Habitat Enhancement Fund.)
The wild turkey registration fee is $2.00.

Dog Training Season

+ Dogs may be trained on fox, snowshoe

hare, and raccoons from July 1 through
the following March 31. It is unlawful
to use or possess a firearm, other than
a pistol or a shotgun, loaded with blank
ammunition, while training dogs on
fox, snowshoe hare, or raccoons (except
during the open hunting season on
these species). Dogs may be used to
hunt wild hares during the firearm
season on deer.

Residents may train up to 6 dogs on
bear from July 1 to August 25, 2016
except in portions of Washington and
Hancock counties that are situated
south of Route 9.

Sporting dogs may be trained on wild
birds (does not include wild turkey)

at any time. The commissioner may
authorize the use of firearms during
such training to shoot and kill wild
birds propagated or legally acquired
by the permittee and possessed in
accordance with the laws pertaining to
breeders licenses.

+ A person must possess a valid hunting

license to engage in these activities,
except Sunday or when training on
pen-raised birds.

+ A person may not hunt with a dog
in pursuit of bear, coyote or bobcat
unless the dog has a collar that legibly
provides the name, telephone number
and address of the owner of that dog.

+ A person or persons may not use more
than 6 dogs at any one time to hunt
bear, bobcat, and coyote.

+ A person may not use a dog to hunt
coyotes or bear during the period from
1/2 hour after sunset to 1/2 hour
before sunrise.

+ For more information on hunting bears
with dogs see page 21.

A person with a suspended or revoked
license may not train dogs.

Leashed Dog Tracking License

A license is available which allows the
tracking of wounded deer, moose, and
bear with dogs. The fee for this license is
$25. The fee for a 3-year license is $81.
A person who holds a valid license may
charge a fee for dog tracking services
without having to hold a guides license as
long as that is the only service provided.
Contact the Department of Inland
Fisheries and Wildlife for details.
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A person may not keep an unregistered
bear, deer, moose or wild turkey at home
or any place of storage for more than 18
hours. This does not apply to an animal
that is kept in an official registration
station for the animal or at the office of a
game warden. A person may leave an un-
registered harvested animal in the woods
if that person notifies a game warden
within 18 hours as to the location of that
animal and the circumstances necessitating
leaving that animal in the woods.

A person on a hunting trip in an unorga-
nized township and staying at a temporary
place of lodging may keep an unregistered
harvested animal at the temporary place
of lodging for no more than 7 days or until
that person leaves the woods, whichever
comes first.

A person may not possess a bear, deer,
moose, or wild turkey that has not been
legally registered except as otherwise
provided in the statutes regarding nuisance
animals or animals causing damage.

Bobcats taken by hunting must be tagged
by a Department employee within 72 hours
from the time they were taken.
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A person may not present a bear, deer,
moose or wild turkey for registration
unless it is presented in its entirety, except
that the viscera and rib cage of the animal
may be removed in a manner that still
allows the determination of the sex of the
animal.

A moose may be dismembered for
ease of transportation, and the lower legs,
head and hide of a moose may be removed.
If the head of the moose is not brought
to the registration station, a canine tooth
or the lower jaw must be presented at
the time of registration. Parts of a moose
not presented for registration may not be
placed where they are visible to a person
traveling on a public or private way.

Hunters are required to remove a
premolar tooth from the bear they harvest
and provide the tooth when they register

their bear. Hunters will receive instructions

at the registration station or can go online.
Hunters will be notified of the age of the
bear they harvested on the Bear Hunting
Page on the Department’s website next
August.

A person may not possess any part or parts
of a bear, deer, moose, or wild turkey given
to that person unless that gift bear, deer,
moose or wild turkey is plainly labeled with
the name and address of the person who
registered it and the year it was registered.




HUNTING AREAS

Hunting
Areas

The Maine Department of Agriculture,
Conservation and Forestry, Bureau of Parks
and Lands manages one-half million acres
of land in Maine for a mix of activities,
including hunting and trapping, for its cit-
izens and visitors. The safety of all visitors
is of primary concern to the bureau. Cer-
tain heavily developed and high-use areas
are closed to hunting for all or part of the
year. At other areas, the bureau provides as
many hunting and trapping opportunities
as are reasonable and consistent with its
mandates and visitor safety.

Hunters and trappers are asked to exercise
due caution and care for the safety and
enjoyment of other visitors when using
Bureau lands by obeying posted informa-
tion and the rules listed below.

General hunting, except where specifically
prohibited, is allowed from the first day
after Labor day to May 31. Hunting and
trapping shall take place in conformity
with the laws of the State of Maine, rules
of the Department of Inland Fisheries and
Wildlife, and local ordinances. Trapping on
state park or historic site land in organized
townships requires the written permission

Wildlife

of the Bureau. There will be no hunting al-
lowed in the restricted zone of the Allagash
Wilderness Waterway between May 1 and
September 30.

+ Hunting is not allowed in any Memorial
or Historic Site.

+ Hunting is not allowed at Andrews Beach;
that portion of Bradbury Mountain State
Park west of State Route 9; Cobscook
Bay; Crescent Beach and Kettle Cove;
Damariscotta Lake; Ferry Beach; Holbook
Island Sanctuary; Nickerson Lake; Owls
Head Light; that portion of Quoddy
Head within 1,000 feet of the lighthouse;
Reid, Sebago Lake, Shackford Head, Two
Lights, and Wolfe’s Neck Woods State
Parks.

Work areas and areas with significant
public use may be posted and closed to
hunting from time to time in the interest
of public safety.

The discharging of any weapons from or
within 300 feet of any designated trail,
picnic area, camping area, campsite, park-
ing area, building, boat launching site or
other developed area or bridge is prohib-
ited. Loaded weapons are not allowed on
the treadway of any trail posted “Closed
to hunting”.

The baiting of any animal for the purpose
of hunting is not allowed.

Management
District Map

This map is available on

the front inside cover

of this book, in a larger

format at all Inland

Fisheries and Wildlife

offices, or check out our

website at mefishwild-

life.com, where you'll

find individual district

maps and a list of towns

and district numbers )
for each town. G
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For More Information

Please call (207) 287-3821, TTY
(207) 287-2213 or write to:
Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands
22 State House Station

Augusta, Maine 04333-0022

Loaded firearms are not permit-
ted in campsites, on marked hiking trails,
or at boat launching sites and picnic sites
and shall not be discharged within 300 feet
of such areas.

A permit is required from
the Maine Bureau of Parks and Lands to
place bait on Public Reserved Land for the
purpose of hunting bear.

All Wildlife Management Areas (WMA),
except Steve Powell WMA (Swan Island)
and portions of Steep Falls and Killick Pond
WMA, owned are open for general law
hunting and trapping. A full list of these
areas can be found online at: mefishwild-
life.com. Camping, fires, and permanent
observation stands are all prohibited on
Department-owned WMAs.

Note: On National Wildlife Refuges which
permit hunting of upland game, persons
hunting upland species other than deer and
turkey with a shotgun shall possess and
use only nontoxic shot while in the field.

More restrictive regulations may apply to
National Wildlife Refuges open to public
hunting. For additional information on
federal refuge regulations, contact:

» Rachel Carson NWR
321 Port Road, Wells, ME 04090
(207) 646-9226
» Maine Coastal Islands NWR
PO Box 279, Milbridge, ME 04658
(207) 594-0600
« Sunkhaze Meadows NWR
103 Headquarters Rd, Baring, ME 04694
(207) 454-7161
+ Moosehorn NWR
(Baring and Edmunds Units)
RR #1, Box 202
Baring, ME 04694
(207) 454-7161
» Lake Umbagog NWR
PO Box 240
Errol, NH 03579
(603) 482-3415
» Aroostook NWR
97 Refuge Rd.
Limestone, ME 04750
(207) 328-4634
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HUNTING AREAS

Oxford County, Maine

The public land within National Forests
is open to hunting. Portable observation
stands that do not damage live trees may
be used. Please contact the Androscoggin
Ranger District for more information on
bear baiting on National Forest lands at
(603) 466-2713.

+ Acadia National Park & the Appala-
chian National Scenic Trail — hunting,
trapping, and/ or possessing a weapon is
prohibited on land administered by the
National Park Service. For further infor-
mation on these lands contact:

« Acadia National Park
PO Box 177, Bar Harbor, ME 04609
(207) 288-3338

« Appalachian Trail Park Office
Harpers Ferry Center
Harpers Ferry, WV 25425
(304) 535-6270

« Appalachian Trail Conference
New England Regional Office
PO Box 264, South Egremont, MA 01258
(413) 528-8002

Mount Desert Island (MDI) is located with-
in the geographic boundary of WMD 26.

“wlare Mcauo..jk

It is unlawful
to hunt on the Unity Utilities District
Property located on Route #139 and Prairie
Road in Unity, Waldo County.

It is unlawful to hunt gray
squirrels on any land which is dedicated
as a public or private park or on any land
located within the limits of the compact or
built-up portion of any city or town.

It is unlawful to hunt
waterfowl on Haley Pond in the town of
Rangeley and Dallas Plantation, Franklin
County.

Unless oth-

erwise specifically provided, it is unlawful
to hunt or trap any wild animal or wild bird
within the limits of any wildlife sanctuary,
any area properly posted by the State of
Maine, or within the following described
territories:

+ Back Bay Sanctuary, Portland

« Baxter State Park: Closed to all hunting
except: The area north of Trout Brook
in T6RY; in T6R10 or T2R9 and T2R10
where hunting is allowed.

+ Beauchamp Sanctuary: Open to the
taking of deer with bow and arrow during
any open season that allow hunting of
deer, including expanded archery.

+ Cape Elizabeth Sanctuary*

« Carver’s Pond Waterfowl Sanctuary
+ Colby College Area, Waterville

+ Drake’s Island Game Sanctuary

+ Dry Pond Sanctuary (Crystal Lake)
« Fairfield Sanctuary*

+ Glencove Sanctuary

+ Gray Game Sanctuary

+ Hog Island Game Sanctuary
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+ Jefferson & Whitefield Sanctuary

« Kineo Point Sanctuary

+ Limington, Hollis, Waterboro Sanctuary
+ Lowell E. Barnes Area, Oxford County

+ Marsh Island Area,* Old Town: Open to
the taking of deer with bow and arrow
during any open season that allow hunt-
ing of deer, including expanded archery.

+ Megunticook Lake and Vicinity Sanctuary
« Merrymeeting Bay Game Sanctuary
+ Monroe Island Game Sanctuary

+ Moosehead Lake Game Sanctuary

+ Moosehorn Game Sanctuary

+ Narragansett Game Sanctuary*

» Oak Grove Area, Vassalboro

+ Ocean Park Game & Bird Sanctuary
« Orrington Game Sanctuary

« Pittston Farm Sanctuary

« Prout’s Neck, Richmond’s Island;

+ Rangeley Game Sanctuary

+ Rangeley Lake Sanctuary

+ Readfield and Winthrop Sanctuary
+ Salmon Pond Sanctuary

+ Sebago Lake Basin Area, Standish,
Windham

« Somerset Game Sanctuary

+ Standish Sanctuary

« Stanwood Wildlife Sanctuary, Ellsworth

« Steve Powell WMA (Swan Island),
Richmond

+ Thorncrag-Stanton Bird Sanctuary

+ Tomhegan Game Sanctuary

+ Wells Sanctuary

+ Wells & York Game Sanctuary

+ Willow Water Game Sanctuary

+ Woodbury Sanctuary, Litchfield,
Monmouth

+ York Game Sanctuary, Franklin County

*Trapping allowed in accordance with the

general laws of the State.

+ Walking or standing on track
or bridge. A person may not,
without right, stand or walk on a
railroad track or railroad bridge or
pass over a railroad bridge except
by railroad conveyance.

Entering a track. A person may
not, without right, enter upon

a railroad track with a team or

a vehicle however propelled or
drive any team or propel a vehicle
upon a railroad track.
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As a result of the Maine Native American
Claims Settlement Act of 1980, lands
purchased by the Penobscot Native
American Nation and the Passamaquoddy
Tribe within certain designated areas of
the State are classified as Native American
territory and have special legal status. The
Penobscot Nation and the Passamaquoddy
Tribe, within their respective Native Amer-
ican territories, have exclusive authority
to regulate hunting and trapping. At the
time of this publication, parcels of Native
American territory had been acquired
within the following areas:

Penobscot Nation
Alder Stream Twp.

T2R9 NWP (western
portion), T3R9 NWP (eastern portion),
T6R8 WELS (western portion) Argyle
Township (northern portion) and T3R1
NBPP (northeastern portion).

T6R8 NWP. The
Penobscot Nation also has exclusive
authority to regulate hunting and trapping
in the Penobscot Reservation, consisting of
all islands in the Penobscot River north of,
and including, Indian Island, located near
Old Town, Maine. Contact the Penobscot
Nation, Department of Natural Resources
for specific locations of Reservation
islands.

Passamaquoddy Tribe
Lowelltown, T1R8
WBKP.

T3&4ND.
Penobscot County: T3R9 NWP, T5R1 NBPP,
TAR7 WELS.

Holeb T6R1 NBKP,
Prentiss, T4R4 NBKP, Hammond Town-
ship, T3R4 NBKP, Alder Brook Township,
T3R3 NBKP, Pittston Academy Grant, T2R4
NBKP Soldiertown Township, T2R3 NBKP.

T5ND, BPP; T19
MD, Indian Township, and Pleasant Point,
Perry.

Most of these areas will be conspicuously
posted as Native American Territory.
Anyone wishing to hunt or trap on Native
American territory should contact the
appropriate Native American agency for
further information.

Penobscot Nation

Department of Natural Resources
12 Wabanaki Way

Indian Island, ME 04468

(207) 817-7331

Passamaquoddy Tribe
Ranger Department

Box 301, Princeton, ME 04668
(207) 796-2677

Maine Indian Tribal-State Commission
PO Box 241, Stillwater, ME 04489
(207) 817-3799

HUNTING/TRAPPING ON PRIVATE PROPERTY

Hunting & Trapping
on Private Property

The Department of Inland Fisheries
and Wildlife Landowner Relations
Program is actively working towards
enhancing the relationship between
landowners and land users.

With approximately 94% of the land in
Maine privately owned, everyone MUST
respect landowners and their rights.
Landowner wishes have to be followed by
all outdoor recreation participants to help
ensure access and use of private property
in the years to come.

The Maine Legislature has enacted laws
that address the concerns of landowners.

Summarized below are several of those
laws and a brief description of each. For
further detail on these laws, consult Maine
Revised Statues cited in parenthesis.

Landowner Liability (14 MRSA
§159-A) Limited Duty

An owner, lessee, manager, holder of an
easement or occupant of premises shall

owe no duty of care to keep the premises
safe for entry or use by others for recre-
ational or harvesting activities or to give
warning of any hazardous condition, use,
structure or activity on these premises to
persons entering for those purposes. This
subsection applies regardless of whether
permission has been given to another to
pursue recreational or harvesting activities
on the premises.

Exceptions to Limited Duty

1. For a willful or malicious failure to guard
or warn against a dangerous condition,
use, structure, or activity; and

2.When financial consideration is paid for
the exclusive right to make use of the
property for recreational activities.

Costs and Fees

The court shall award any direct legal costs,
including reasonable attorney’s fees, to

an owner, lessee, manager, holder of an
easement or occupant who is found not to
be liable for injury to a person or property
pursuant to this section.

Posting of Land and Criminal Trespass
(17-A MRSA, §402)

Property is posted if it is marked with signs
or paint in one of the following ways and in
a manner that is reasonably likely to come
to the attention of an intruder:

1. Signs must indicate that access is
prohibited, that access is prohibited
without permission of the landowner or
landowner’s agent, or that access for a
particular activity is prohibited.

2.0One vertical “OSHA Safety Purple” stripe
at least one inch in width and at least 8
inches in length means “Access by Per-
mission Only” when it is placed on trees,
posts or stones between three and five
feet off the ground.

These signs or paint stripes must mark

the property at distances no more than

100 feet apart at locations that are readily

visible to any person approaching the

property, and at all vehicular access entries
from a public road.

+ In addition, landowners may also, either
verbally or in writing, personally commu-
nicate to others that access is prohibited.

Remember, it is unlawful to remove,

mutilate, deface or destroy a sign or paint

mark that is placed in order to prohibit or
restrict access; and it is unlawful to post
the land of another without permission of
the landowner.
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Other Provisions of Posting

1. Signs or paint markings must be at all
vehicular access entrances from a public
way.

2.1t is unlawful to post the land of another
and to remove, destroy, mutilate or
deface any signs or paint marks.

3. Trespass by a motor vehicle is a violation
of the trespass law.

Trespass Damages (14 MRSA, §7551-B)
Any person who enters the land of another
without permission and causes damage

to the property of another is liable to the
owner in a civil action. Violations of this
law will have the following results:

1.1If the damage is intentional the person
doing the damage is liable to the owner
for 2 times the actual damage plus addi-
tional costs which include the attorney
fees of the landowner.

2.1f the damage is unintentional, the
person doing the damage is liable to the
owner for the amount of the actual dam-
age plus additional costs which include
attorney fees of the landowner.

3.A person doing damage to property of
another may also be charged criminally
for doing the damage.

Unlawful Cutting of Trees (14 MRSA,
§7552, and 17 MRSA, §2510)

It is unlawful for any person to intentional-
ly, knowingly, recklessly or negligently cut
down or fell any tree without the consent
of the owner of the property on which the
tree stands.

Abuse of Another Persons Property
While Hunting (12 MRSA §10652)

It is unlawful to tear down a fence or wall,
destroy any crop, leave open any bars

or gates, or insert objects into trees on
another person’s land without permis-
sion (see page 11 for observation stand
information).

Littering
It is unlawful to dispose of litter anywhere
in this state except in areas or receptacles
designed for that purpose. As litter relates
to the proper disposal of legally taken
game, a person may not drop, deposit,
discard, dump or otherwise dispose of a
carcass, waste parts or remains of a wild
animal, except waste parts or remains
resulting from the normal field dressing of
lawfully harvested wild game or the lawful
use of waste parts or remains of wild game
as bait.

Civil Trespass (12 MRSA, §10657)
Prohibition

While engaging in any activity regulated
by the Department of Inland Fisheries &
Wildlife, a person, knowing that the person
is not licensed or privileged to do so, may not:

1.Enter or cause a projectile to enter any
place from which that person may law-
fully be excluded and that is posted in
accordance with Title 17-A, section 402,
subsection 4 or in a manner reason-
ably likely to come to the attention of
intruders or that is fenced or otherwise
enclosed in a manner designed to ex-
clude intruders; or

2.Enter or remain in or cause a projectile to
enter or remain in any place in defiance
of a lawful order not to enter or an order
to vacate that was personally communi-
cated to that person by the owner of the
place or another authorized person.

For the
purposes of this section, “projectile” means
a bullet, pellet, shot, shell, ball, arrow, bolt
or other object propelled or launched from
a firearm or a bow, crossbow or similar
tensile device.

For information on other provisions of
these laws, contact the Department of
Inland Fisheries and Wildlife at (207)
287-8000.
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A person may not charge any fee for access
to land if the fee is contingent upon the
taking of game on that land or directly
related to the taking of game on the land,
unless the land is an authorized commer-
cial shooting area licensed as follows: The
commissioner may issue licenses for the
establishment and operation of commercial
shooting areas, authorizing the owner of a
commercial shooting area to charge others
for the opportunity to hunt mallard ducks,
pheasants, quail, Chukar partridge, and
Hungarian partridge in that area (12 MRSA
section 12101).

The operator of a commercial shooting
area may authorize a person to hunt other
wild birds or wild animals in a commercial
shooting area during the regular open
season on those species, in accordance
with the provisions of 12 MRSA Part 13, as
long as the person possesses a valid state
hunting license that allows the hunting of
those wild birds and wild animals.

The operator of the commercial shooting
area shall provide to each person taking
birds in that area a receipted invoice or bill
of sale for possession and transportation of
those birds.

Enforcement

Enforcement of the trespass laws of a
commercial shooting area is the respon-
sibility of the owner and may not in any
manner be considered an obligation of the
Department.

Commercial Shooting Areas

Hunting on commercial shooting areas

is governed by the license provisions of
Section 12101. For a complete copy of

this law, and to obtain a list of commercial
shooting areas, call the Information Center
at (207) 287-8000.
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This time chart is NOT the sunrise and sunset time table and has already been adjusted to display the actual legal hunting hours.

2016-17 LEGAL HUNTING HOURS

DAY SEPTEMBER ~ OCTOBER ~ NOVEMBER DECEMBER ~ JANUARY  FEBRUARY  MARCH APRIL MAY JUNE JuLY AUGUST

01 5:28-7:41 6:04-6:45 6:44-5:53 6:23-4:26 6:43-4:35 6:24-5:14 5:42-5:53 5:46-7:33 4:55-8:11 4:22-8:44 4:23-8:55 «4:52-8:31

02 5:29-7:39 6:05-6:43 6:45-5:52  6:24-4:25 6:43-4:36 6:23-5:15 5:41-5:54 5:44-7:34 4:53-8:12 4:22-8:45 4:24-8:55 «4:53-8:29

03 5:30-7:37  6:06-6:41 6:47-5:50 6:25-4:25 6:43-4:37 6:22-5:17 5:39-5:56 5:42-7:36 4:52-8:13 < 4:21-8:46 4:24-8:54 « 4:54-8:28

04 5:331-7:36 6:07-6:39 6:48-5:49 @ 6:26-4:25 6:43-4:38 6:21-5:18 5:37-5:57 5:40-7:37 4:50-8:14 4:21-8:47 4:25-8:54 = 4:55-8:27

05 5:33-7:34 6:09-6:37 6:49-5:48 @ 6:27-4:24 6:43-4:39 6:19-5:20 5:35-5:58 5:38-7:38 4:49-8:16 4:20-8:47 4:26-8:54 4:56-8:25

06 5:34-7:32 6:10-6:36 5:51-4:46 6:28-4:24 6:42-4:40 6:18-5:21 5:34-6:00 5:36-7:39 4:48-8:17 4:20-8:48 4:26-8:53 4:57-8:24

07 5:335-7:30  6:11-6:34 5:52-4:45 6:29-4:24 6:42-4:41 6:17-5:22 5:32-6:01 = 5:35-7:41 4:46-8:18 4:20-8:49 4:27-8:53 4:58-8:22

08 5:36-7:28 6:12-6:32 5:53-4:44 6:30-4:24 6:42-4:42 6:15-5:24 5:30-6:02 5:33-7:42 4:45-8:19 4:20-8:49 4:28-8:52 5:00-8:21

09 5:37-7:26 6:14-6:30 5:55-4:43 6:31-4:24 6:42-4:43 6:14-5:25 5:28-6:04 5:31-7:43 4:44-8:20 4:19-8:50 4:29-8:52 5:01-8:20

10 5:39-7:24 6:15-6:28 5:56-4:42  6:32-4:24 6:41-4:45 6:13-5:27 5:26-6:05 < 5:29-7:44 4:42-8:22 4:19-8:51 4:29-8:51 5:02-8:18

11 5:40-7:23  6:16-6:27 5:58-4:40 = 6:33-4:24 6:41-4:46 6:11-5:28 5:25-6:06 = 5:27-7:46 4:41-8:23 4:19-8:51 4:30-8:51 5:03-8:17

12 5:41-7:21 6:17-6:25 5:59-4:39  6:34-4:24 6:41-4:47 6:10-5:30 6:23-7:08 5:26-7:47 4:40-8:24 4:19-8:52 4:31-8:50 @ 5:04-8:15

13 5:42-719 6:19-6:23 6:00-4:38 6:35-4:24 6:40-4:48 6:08-5:31 6:21-7:09 @ 5:24-7:48 4:39-8:25 4:19-8:52 4:32-8:50 = 5:06-8:14

14 543-7:17 6:20-6:21 6:02-4:37  6:35-4:25 6:40-4:49 6:07-5:32 6:19-7:10 5:22-7:49 4:38-8:26 4:19-8:53 4:33-8:49 = 5:07-8:12

15 5:44-715 6:21-6:20 6:03-4:36 6:36-4:25 6:39-4:51 6:05-5:34 6:17-7:12  5:20-7:51 4:36-8:27 4:19-8:53 4:34-8:48 5:08-8:10

16 5:46-7:13 6:23-6:18 6:04-4:35 6:37-4:25 6:38-4:52  6:04-5:35 6:15-7:13 @ 5:19-7:52 4:35-8:28 4:19-8:53 4:35-8:47 5:09-8:09

17 547-711 6:24-6:16 6:06-4:34 6:38-4:26 6:38-4:53 6:02-5:37 6:13-7:14 = 5:17-7:53 4:34-8:30 4:19-8:54 4:36-8:47 5:10-8:07

18 5:48-7:09 6:25-6:15 6:07-4:34 6:38-4:26 6:37-4:55 6:01-5:38 6:12-7:15 5:15-7:54 4:33-8:31 4:19-8:54 4:36-8:46  5:11-8:05

19 5:49-7:07 6:26-6:13 6:08-4:33 6:39-4:26 6:36-4:56 5:59-5:39 6:10-7:17 @ 5:14-7:56 4:32-8:32 4:19-8:54 4:37-8:45 5:12-8:04

20 5:50-7:06 6:28-6:11 6:10-4:32 6:39-4:27 6:36-4:57 5:58-5:41 6:08-7:18 @ 5:12-7:57 4:31-8:33 4:19-8:55 4:38-8:44 5:14-8:03

21 5:52-7:04 6:29-6:10 6:11-4:31 6:40-4:27 6:35-4:59 5:56-5:42 6:06-7:19 @ 5:10-7:58 4:30-8:34 4:19-8:55 4:39-8:43 5:15-8:01

22 5:53-7:02 6:30-6:08 6:12-4:30 6:40-4:28 6:34-5:00 5:54-5:44 6:04-7:20 @ 5:09-7:59 4:29-8:35 4:20-8:55 4:40-8:42 5:16-7:59

23 5:54-7:00 6:32-6:06 6:13-4:30 6:41-4:28 6:33-5:01 5:53-5:45 6:02-7:22 @ 5:07-8:01 4:29-8:36 4:20-8:55 4:42-8:41 5:17-7:57

24 5:55-6:58 6:33-6:05 6:15-4:29 6:41-4:29 6:32-5:03 5:51-5:46 6:00-7:23 = 5:05-8:02 4:28-8:37 4:20-8:55 4:43-8:40 5:18-7:56

25 5:56-6:56 6:34-6:03 6:16-4:28 6:41-4:30 6:32-5:04 5:49-5:48 5:59-7:24 @ 5:04-8:03 4:27-8:38 4:20-8:55 4:44-8:39 5:19-7:54

26 5:58-6:54 6:36-6:02 6:17-4:28 6:42-4:30 6:31-5:.05 5:48-5:49 5:57-7:26 @ 5:02-8:04 4:26-8:39 4:21-8:55 4:45-8:38 @ 5:21-7:52

27 5:59-6:52  6:37-6:00 6:18-4:27 6:42-4:31 6:30-5:07 5:46-5:50 5:55-7:27 @ 5:01-8:06 4:25-8:40 4:21-8:55 4:46-8:37 5:22-7:51

28 6:00-6:50 < 6:38-5:59 6:20-4:27 6:42-4:32 6:29-5:08 5:44-5:52 5:53-7:28 4:59-8:07 4:25-8:41 4:22-8:55 4:47-8:36 @ 5:23-7:49

29 6:01-6:48 6:40-5:57 6:21-4:26 6:42-4:33 6:28-5:10 5:51-7:29  4:58-8:08 4:24-8:42 4:22-8:55 4:48-8:35 5:24-7:47
30 6:02-6:47 6:41-5:56 6:22-4:26 6:43-4:33 6:26-5:11 5:49-7:31  4:56-8:09 4:23-8:43 4:23-8:55 4:49-8:33 5:25-7:45
31 6:43 - 5:54 6:43-4:34 6:25-5:13 5:47-7:32 4:23-8:43 4:50-8:32  5:27-7:43

*Legal hunting hours are based on sunrise/sunset in Bangor, Maine (Eastern Standard Time).
Exceptions: Raccoon, Coyote, and Migratory Bird hunting (see separate legal hunting hours for these species).
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2016-17 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS SEASONS & BAG LIMITS

SPECIES AND AREA

Crows*

Wildlife Management Districts’s 1 - 6

SEASONS

FIRST DAY
August 1, 2016

FINAL DAY
September 23, 2016

February 4, 2017

April 15,2017

August 1, 2017

September 22, 2017

Crows*

Wildlife Management Districts’s 7 - 29

August 1, 2016

September 23, 2016

January 20, 2017

March 31, 2017

LIMITS

DAILY BAG POSSESSION

NO LIMITS

Closed season on Ravens in all WMDs

August 1, 2017 September 22, 2017

Common (Wilson’s) Snipe** September 1, 2016 December 16, 2016 8 24
October 1, 2016 October 29, 2016

Woodcock** 3 9
October 31, 2016 November 15, 2016

Rails (Sora And Virginia)***

September 1, 2016

November 9, 2016

25 Singly or in aggregate 25

North Zone September 1, 2016 September 24, 2016 6 18
Canada G
(Ea n? )a 00s€ South Zone September 1, 2016 September 24, 2016 10 30
arly’
Coastal Zone  September 1, 2016 September 24, 2016 10 30
North Zone October 1, 2016 December 21, 2016
Canada Goose October 1, 2016 October 27, 2016
Regular South Zone
] November 1, 2016 December 24, 2016 3 9
Including Greater
White-Fronted Geese October 1, 2016 October 27, 2016
Coastal Zone
November 11, 2016 January 4, 2017
Snow Geese ..
Gl € October 1, 2016 January 31, 2017 25 No Limit
5 15
Sea Ducks Shall not include Shall not include
Scoter, Eider, and November 11, 2016 January 19, 2017 more than 4 more fhf; 1,5
_Tailed Duck scoters or 4 eiders scoters or 12 eiders
Long-Tailed Duc or 4 long-tailed or 12 long-tailed
ducks ducks
North Zone September 26, 2016 December 3, 2016
* *
October 1, 2016 October 15, 2016 & L
Regular Ducks South Zone No more'than 4 of any No more than 12 of
Including Mergansers November 1, 2016 December 24, 2016 one species Al R PEES
and American Coots
Conetal Zome October 1, 2016 October 15, 2016 Singly or in aggregate
November 11. 2016 January 4, 2017 Exceptions to these limits listed below
North Zone September 26, 2016 December 3, 2016
October 1, 2016 October 15, 2016
South Zone

Brant

November 1, 2016

December 24, 2016

Coastal Zone

October 1, 2016

October 15, 2016

November 11, 2016

January 4, 2017

All dates are inclusive except that hunting is prohibited on Sunday.
*Crows are neither migratory waterfowl or migratory game birds. The use of lead shot and the use of a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells is permitted.
A migratory waterfowl stamp is not required.

**Woodcock & Snipe are considered migratory game birds, not migratory waterfowl. The use of lead shot is permitted.
The use of a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells is prohibited. A migratory waterfowl stamp is not required.
***Rails are considered migratory game birds not migratory waterfowl. The use of lead shot and a shotgun capable of holding more than three shells is prohibited.
A migratory waterfowl stamp is not required.
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2016-17 MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS SEASONS & BAG LIMITS

SPECIES AND AREA SEASONS LIMITS
FIRST DAY FINAL DAY DAILYBAG ~ POSSESSION
North Zone December 22,2016 February 11, 2017

Closed to Goose  February 1, 2017 February 11, 2017

3 9
Special Falconry Season
In addition to the regular migratory South Zone January 7, 2017 February 28, 2017 ; ;
bird season (on ducks, geese, mergansers, b Y 2% Respectively, singly or
in aggregate

american coots.)

Closed to Goose  February 17,2017  February 28, 2017 Species Restrictions Apply

Coastal Zone January 7, 2017 February 28, 2017

Special Youth Waterfowl Hunts

All duck species except Harlequins, Barrow’s
Goldeneye, and Moorhens and Gallinules —
may be hunted on these days, including geese.  South Zone September 24, 2016 & October 22, 2016

For the October 22, November 5, December Special regulations apply to

10 youth days, the goose limit is under the youth and accompanying adult.
Regular Season limit. On September 17, Please see Junior Hunters
September 24, October 22, November 5, section.

December 10, scoters, eiders, and long-tailed  Coastal Zone September 24, 2016 & November 5, 2016

ducks may be taken as part of the 6 bird daily

limit on regular ducks. Also on these dates,

1 Black Duck may be taken.

North Zone September 17, 2016 & December 10, 2016

EXCEPTIONS
HARLEQUIN DUCKS, BARROW’S GOLDENEYE, MOORHENS & GALLINULES ~ CLOSED SEASON

It is unlawful to take more than 5 American Coots in any one day

American Coots ; :
or possess more than 15 American Coots at any time

The daily limit on these species shall not include more than 1 bird;

Black Ducks, Mottled Ducks, Fulvous Whistling Ducks possession limit shall not include more than 3 of these species.

Hen Mallards, Redheads, Northern Pintails, The daily limit on these species shall not include more than 2 birds;
Scaup, Canvasbacks possession limit shall not include more than 6 of these species.

Hunters may take 5 mergansers in addition to the limits on other
regular ducks, however only 2 may be a hooded merganser. It is
unlawful to possess more than 15 mergansers at any time (only 6 of
which may be hooded mergansers).

Mergansers

Within the Sea Duck Hunting Area defined below, hunters may take
Sea Ducks 5 sea ducks in addition to the limits on regular ducks (but not more
than 4 scoters or 4 eiders or 4 long-tailed ducks).

It is unlawful to take more than 3 wood ducks in any one day or to

Wood Ducks possess more than 9 wood ducks at any time.

2016-17 STATE OF MAINE SUMMARY OF LAWS & RULES HUNTING
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Hunting hours on
migratory game birds are from 1/2 hour
before sunrise to sunset daily.

All
coastal waters and all waters of rivers and
streams seaward from the first upstream
bridge. In all other areas, sea ducks may be
taken only during the regular duck season
dates and are part of the regular duck bag
limits.

Maine-New Brunswick border in
Baileyville, Maine west along Stony Brook
to Route 9 in Baileyville. West along Route
9 to Route 15 in Bangor. West along Route
15 to I-95 in Bangor. Southwest along
I-95 to Route 202 (Exit 109A) in Augusta.
Southwest along Route 202 to Route 11
in Auburn. Southwest along Route 11 to
Route 110 in Newfield. West along Route
110 to Maine-New Hampshire border.

Includes areas south of a line beginning at
the Maine-New Brunswick border in Calais
at the Route 1 bridge, South along Route

1 to the Maine-New Hampshire border in
Kittery.

The use or
possession of ammunition loaded with
other than nontoxic shot while hunting
wild ducks, geese, brant, rails, or coots
is prohibited. Nontoxic shot means any
shot type that does not cause sickness and
death when ingested by these birds and is
approved for use by the Director, U.S. Fish
and Wildlife Service. Steel, bismuth-tin,
tungsten-iron (2 types), tungsten-matrix,
tungsten-bronze (2 types), tungsten-poly-
mer, tungsten-tin-bismuth, tungsten-
tin-iron-nickel, and tungsten nickel-iron
(HEVI) shot have been approved nontoxic
by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service.

On National Wildlife Refuges which permit
hunting of upland game, persons hunting
upland species other than deer and turkey
with a shotgun shall possess and use only
nontoxic shot while in the field.

The State Migratory Waterfowl Permit is
required of anyone 16 years of age or older
if they are hunting on an adult license, but
is not required if continuing to hunt on a
junior license for the remainder of the cal-
ender year. Anyone who turns 16, whether
hunting on an adult license or a junior
license, must purchase a Federal Stamp

The Federal Stamp must be validated by the

holders signature written across the face of
the stamp in ink.

The state permit may be purchased for
$7.50 from local license agents or from
the Department of Inland Fisheries and
Wildlife, 284 State St., SHS #41, Augusta,
ME 04333. The Federal stamp can be
purchased by visiting your local Post Office
or USPS.com.

The Migratory Waterfowl Stamp is not
required to hunt woodcock, snipe, rails
or crows. For more details, contact the
Department of Inland Fisheries and
Wildlife at 287-8000.

Note: All revenue from the sale of state
waterfowl permits must be used exclusively
for acquisition of waterfowl habitat and
waterfowl management activities.

The provisions of the following three para-
graphs apply to the waters of the Kennebec
River, known as Merrymeeting Bay, bound-
ed as follows: From the high tension wires
at Chop’s Point to the first dam on the
Androscoggin River, to the first road bridge
on the Muddy, Cathance, Abbagadassett,
and Eastern rivers and the Richmond-Dres-
den bridge on the Kennebec River, being

in the counties of Cumberland, Sagadahoc,
and Lincoln. Datum is WGS 84. Waypoints
for the sanctuary are as follows:

NE Corner: SE Corner:

44 00.385' 43 59.5314'
69 49.1854' 69 49.5330"
SW Corner: NW Corner:
4359.8112' 44 00.1483'
69 50.4763' 69 50.6447'
Edge of Rice: Browns Point:
43 59.7550' 44 00.1486'

Power Lines:
69 49.5421'

Kennebec River:
69 50.0391'
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If you plan to hunt woodcock,
ducks, geese, snipe, rails, or coots,
you are required to indicate on your
license your intention of doing so at
the time you purchase your license.
The information will be used by the
U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service in the
Migratory Bird Harvest Informa-
tion Program (H.L.P).

+ No artificial cover which is termed sta-
tionary blind, or parts thereof, used for
hunting purposes shall be left or allowed
to remain in the waters of Merrymeet-
ing Bay between one hour after legal
shooting time and one hour before legal
shooting time.

No duck decoys shall be allowed to re-
main in the waters of Merrymeeting Bay
at any time during the period from one
hour after legal shooting time until one
hour before legal shooting time.

It is unlawful to hunt waterfowl on Haley
Pond in the Town of Rangeley and Dallas
Plt. in Franklin County.

+ No power boat may be operated in Mer-
rymeeting Bay at a speed in excess of 10
miles per hour except within the confines
of the buoyed channels.

It is unlawful to shoot, or shoot at, or
near, any wildfowl decoy of another
person, with a rifle, pistol, or shotgun
with a ball, slug, or buckshot. “Near”
means the area encompassed by the set
of decoys and including the area 50 yards
away from the outer perimeter of the set
of decoys.

It is unlawful to hunt with firearms
during the open firearms or muzzleloader
season on deer (except when hunting
waterfowl from a boat or blind or in
conjunction with waterfowl decoys)
unless wearing 2 articles of hunter orange
clothing that are in good and serviceable
condition and visible from all sides. One
article must be a solid colored hunter
orange hat and the other must be a min-
imum of 50% hunter orange in color and
cover a major portion of the torso.

It is unlawful for any person to willfully
interfere with the lawful hunting or trap-
ping of any wild animal or wild bird,
including the willful disturbance of wild
animals or wild birds with intent to inter-
fere with their lawful taking.

+ It is unlawful to hunt on Sunday.
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Please see legal hunting time table for all other species on page 29.

2016-17 MIGRATORY BIRD HUNTER'S TIME AND TIDE TABLE

LEGAL HUNTING HOURS TIDE* LEGAL HUNTING HOURS TIDE*

DATE OPEN CLOSE HIGH Low DATE OPEN CLOSE HIGH Low
9/1/16 05:28 AM 07:11 PM 11:57 AM 05:44 AM 11/17/16 06:06 AM 04:04 PM 12:41 PM 06:27 AM
9/2/16 05:29 AM 07:09 PM 12:37 PM 06:26 AM 11/18/16 06:07 AM 04:04 PM 01:37 PM 07:22 AM
9/3/16 05:30 AM 07:07 PM 01:15 PM 07:04 AM 11/19/16 06:08 AM 04:03 PM 02:36 PM 08:21 AM
9/5/16 05:33 AM 07:04 PM 02:29 PM 08:18 AM 11/21/16 06:11 AM 04:01 PM 04:43 PM 10:28 AM
9/6/16 05:34 AM 07:02 PM 03:08 PM 08:56 AM 11/22/16 06:12 AM 04:00 PM 05:28 AM 11:34 AM
9/7/16 05:35 AM 07:00 PM 03:50 PM 09:36 AM 11/23/16 06:13 AM 04:00 PM 06:27 AM 12:37 PM
9/8/16 05:36 AM 06:58 PM 04:36 PM 10:20 AM 11/24/16 06:15 AM 03:59 PM 07:22 AM 01:35 PM
9/9/16 05:37 AM 06:56 PM 05:10 AM 11:08 AM 11/25/16 06:16 AM 03:58 PM 08:11 AM 02:27 PM
9/10/16 05:39 AM 06:54 PM 06:05 AM 12:02 PM 11/26/16 06:17 AM 03:58 PM 08:55 AM 03:12 PM
9/12/16 05:41 AM 06:51 PM 07:58 AM 01:55 PM 11/28/16 06:20 AM 03:57 PM 10:11 AM 04:32 PM
9/13/16 05:42 AM 06:49 PM 08:51 AM 02:49 PM 11/29/16 06:21 AM 03:56 PM 10:46 AM 05:07 PM
9/14/16 05:43 AM 06:47 PM 09:40 AM 03:40 PM 11/30/16 06:22 AM 03:56 PM 11:20 AM 05:10 AM
9/15/16 05:44 AM 06:45 PM 10:26 AM 04:29 PM 12/1/16 06:23 AM 03:56 PM 11:54 AM 05:44 AM
9/16/16 05:46 AM 06:43 PM 11:11 AM 05:17 PM 12/2/16 06:24 AM 03:55 PM 12:30 PM 06:20 AM
9/17/16 05:47 AM 06:41 PM 11:56 AM 05:44 AM 12/3/16 06:25 AM 03:55 PM 01:09 PM 06:58 AM
9/19/16 05:49 AM 06:37 PM 01:31 PM 07:17 AM 12/5/16 06:27 AM 03:54 PM 02:37 PM 08:27 AM
9/20/16 05:50 AM 06:36 PM 02:22 PM 08:07 AM 12/6/16 06:28 AM 03:54 PM 03:29 PM 09:19 AM
9/21/16 05:52 AM 06:34 PM 03:16 PM 09:00 AM 12/7/16 06:29 AM 03:54 PM 04:26 PM 10:16 AM
9/22/16 05:53 AM 06:32 PM 04:15 PM 09:57 AM 12/8/16 06:30 AM 03:54 PM 05:06 AM 11:17 AM
9/23/16 05:54 AM 06:30 PM 05:19 PM 10:59 AM 12/9/16 06:31 AM 03:54 PM 06:03 AM 12:20 PM
9/24/16 05:55 AM 06:28 PM 06:05 AM 12:06 PM 12/10/16 06:32 AM 03:54 PM 07:01 AM 01:22 PM
9/26/16 05:58 AM 06:24 PM 08:18 AM 02:19 PM 12/12/16 06:34 AM 03:54 PM 08:53 AM 03:18 PM
9/27/16 05:59 AM 06:22 PM 09:16 AM 03:18 PM 12/13/16 06:35 AM 03:54 PM 09:47 AM 04:12 PM
9/28/16 06:00 AM 06:20 PM 10:07 AM 04:10 PM 12/14/16 06:35 AM 03:55 PM 10:40 AM 05:05 PM
9/29/16 06:01 AM 06:18 PM 10:52 AM 04:57 PM 12/15/16 06:36 AM 03:55 PM 11:32 AM 05:17 AM
9/30/16 06:02 AM 06:17 PM 11:32 AM 05:21 AM 12/16/16 06:37 AM 03:55 PM 12:25 PM 06:10 AM
10/1/16 06:04 AM 06:15 PM 12:09 PM 05:59 AM 12/17/16 06:38 AM 03:56 PM 01:18 PM 07:04 AM
10/3/16 06:06 AM 06:11 PM 01:17 PM 07:08 AM 12/19/16 06:39 AM 03:56 PM 03:10 PM 08:57 AM
10/4/16 06:07 AM 06:09 PM 01:52 PM 07:43 AM 12/20/16 06:39 AM 03:57 PM 04:09 PM 09:57 AM
10/5/16 06:09 AM 06:07 PM 02:29 PM 08:19 AM 12/21/16 06:40 AM 03:57 PM 05:10 PM 10:59 AM
10/6/16 06:10 AM 06:06 PM 03:09 PM 08:58 AM 12/22/16 06:40 AM 03:58 PM 05:46 AM 12:01 PM
10/7/16 06:11 AM 06:04 PM 03:53 PM 09:40 AM 12/23/16 06:41 AM 03:58 PM 06:41 AM 01:00 PM
10/8/16 06:12 AM 06:02 PM 04:42 PM 10:28 AM 12/24/16 06:41 AM 03:59 PM 07:32 AM 01:54 PM

10/10/16 06:15 AM 05:58 PM 06:21 AM 12:19 PM 12/26/16 06:42 AM 04:00 PM 09:02 AM 03:27 PM
10/11/16 06:16 AM 05:57 PM 07:17 AM 01:18 PM 12/27/16 06:42 AM 04:01 PM 09:42 AM 04:06 PM
10/12/16 06:17 AM 05:55 PM 08:12 AM 02:16 PM 12/28/16 06:42 AM 04:02 PM 10:19 AM 04:43 PM
10/13/16 06:19 AM 05:53 PM 09:04 AM 03:11 PM 12/29/16 06:42 AM 04:03 PM 10:55 AM 05:18 PM
10/14/16 06:20 AM 05:51 PM 09:53 AM 04:03 PM 12/30/16 06:43 AM 04:03 PM 11:31 AM 05:20 AM
10/15/16 06:21 AM 05:50 PM 10:41 AM 04:54 PM 12/31/16 06:43 AM 04:04 PM 12:08 PM 05:56 AM
10/17/16 06:24 AM 05:46 PM 12:17 PM 06:04 AM 1/2/17 06:43 AM 04:06 PM 01:29 PM 07:18 AM
10/18/16 06:25 AM 05:45 PM 01:08 PM 06:54 AM 1/3/17 06:43 AM 04:07 PM 02:15 PM 08:04 AM
10/19/16 06:26 AM 05:43 PM 02:00 PM 07:46 AM 1/4/17 06:43 AM 04:08 PM 03:06 PM 08:55 AM
10/20/16 06:28 AM 05:41 PM 02:56 PM 08:41 AM 1/5/17 06:43 AM 04:09 PM 04:02 PM 09:51 AM
10/21/16 06:29 AM 05:40 PM 03:56 PM 09:39 AM 1/6/17 06:42 AM 04:10 PM 05:04 PM 10:53 AM
10/22/16 06:30 AM 05:38 PM 05:01 PM 10:43 AM 1/7/17 06:42 AM 04:11 PM 05:37 AM 11:58 AM
10/24/16 06:33 AM 05:35 PM 06:56 AM 12:59 PM 1/9/17 06:42 AM 04:13 PM 07:39 AM 02:07 PM
10/25/16 06:34 AM 05:33 PM 07:57 AM 02:03 PM 1/10/17 06:41 AM 04:15 PM 08:39 AM 03:06 PM
10/26/16 06:36 AM 05:32 PM 08:53 AM 03:01 PM 1/11/17 06:41 AM 04:16 PM 09:35 AM 04:02 PM
10/27/16 06:37 AM 05:30 PM 09:42 AM 03:52 PM 1/12/17 06:41 AM 04:17 PM 10:29 AM 04:54 PM
10/28/16 06:38 AM 05:29 PM 10:26 AM 04:37 PM 1/13/17 06:40 AM 04:18 PM 11:20 AM 05:05 AM
10/29/16 06:40 AM 05:27 PM 11:05 AM 05:18 PM 1/14/17 06:40 AM 04:19 PM 12:11 PM 05:56 AM
10/31/16 06:43 AM 05:24 PM 12:13 PM 06:04 AM 1/16/17 06:38 AM 04:22 PM 01:50 PM 07:38 AM
11/1/16 06:44 AM 05:23 PM 12:46 PM 06:37 AM 1/17/17 06:38 AM 04:23 PM 02:41 PM 08:30 AM
11/2/16 06:45 AM 05:22 PM 01:20 PM 07:11 AM 1/18/17 06:37 AM 04:25 PM 03:34 PM 09:23 AM
11/3/16 06:47 AM 05:20 PM 01:56 PM 07:47 AM 1/19/17 06:36 AM 04:26 PM 04:29 PM 10:19 AM
11/4/16 06:48 AM 05:19 PM 02:35 PM 08:25 AM 1/20/17 06:36 AM 04:27 PM 05:27 PM 11:18 AM
11/5/16 06:49 AM 05:18 PM 03:18 PM 09:07 AM 1/21/17 06:35 AM 04:29 PM 05:53 AM 12:18 PM
11/7/16 05:52 AM 04:15 PM 04:00 PM 09:47 AM 1/23/17 06:33 AM 04:31 PM 07:39 AM 02:08 PM
11/8/16 05:53 AM 04:14 PM 04:57 PM 10:45 AM 1/24/17 06:32 AM 04:33 PM 08:27 AM 02:55 PM
11/9/16 05:55 AM 04:13 PM 05:40 AM 11:46 AM 1/25/17 06:32 AM 04:34 PM 09:11 AM 03:37 PM
11/10/16 05:56 AM 04:12 PM 06:36 AM 12:46 PM 1/26/17 06:31 AM 04:35 PM 09:52 AM 04:15 PM
11/11/16 05:58 AM 04:10 PM 07:31 AM 01:45 PM 1/27/17 06:30 AM 04:37 PM 10:30 AM 04:52 PM
11/12/16 05:59 AM 04:09 PM 08:23 AM 02:41 PM 1/28/17 06:29 AM 04:38 PM 11:08 AM 05:28 PM
11/14/16 06:02 AM 04:07 PM 10:05 AM 04:27 PM 1/30/17 06:26 AM 04:41 PM 12:26 PM 06:14 AM
11/15/16 06:03 AM 04:06 PM 10:56 AM 05:19 PM 1/31/17 06:25 AM 04:43 PM 01:09 PM 06:57 AM
11/16/16 06:04 AM 04:05 PM 11:48 AM 05:34 AM

Tide information listed is estimated by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration. Although these are estimates, they are expected to be useful for planning purposes.

TIDE CONVERSIONS: Tide information listed is for PORTLAND. For Merrymeeting Bay (Richmond), add 2 hrs. 48 minutes for high tide; for Jonesport, subtract 23 minutes; for Bath, add 1
hr. 1 minute; for Rockland, subtract 16 minutes; for Waldoboro, subtract 16 minutes.

All times listed through October 31 are Eastern Daylight Time; after that date, they are Eastern Standard Time (for Bangor).
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MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

In accordance with the Revised Statutes

of 1964, Title 12, Sections 10104 and
11855, the following regulations have been
adopted, governing the lawful hunting

and possession of migratory game birds.
For the purpose of this section, migratory
game birds include and are limited to spe-
cies in the following families: 1. Anatidae
(wild ducks, geese, and brant); 2. Rallidae
(rails, coots, moorhens and gallinules);

and 3. Scolopacidae (woodcock and snipe).
Except as expressly provided in the regula-
tions, it shall be unlawful to hunt, capture,
kill, take, possess, transport, buy or sell any
migratory game bird or part thereof.

1. Hunting Methods

It shall be lawful to hunt migratory game
birds by the aid of dogs, artificial decoys,
manually or mouth-operated bird calls,
with hand-held bow and arrow, crossbow,
or by the practice of falconry, or with
shotgun (not larger than No.10 gauge

and incapable of holding more than three
shells) fired from the shoulder. Every other
method is unlawful.

It shall be lawful to hunt migratory game
birds from floating craft (except a sinkbox),
including those capable of being propelled
by motor, sail and wind, or both, only
when (1) the motor of such craft has been
completely shut off and/or the sails furled,
as the case may be, and (2) the progress or
motion of the craft in the water has ceased
and the craft is drifting, beached, moored,
resting at anchor, or is being propelled
solely by paddle, oars, or pole.

It shall be lawful to use a motor or sail on a
craft as a means of retrieving or picking up
dead or injured birds.

2. Transportation

Any person, without a permit, may
transport lawfully killed and possessed
migratory game birds into, within, or out
of any State, or export such birds to a
foreign country during and after the open
seasons in the State where taken, subject
to the conditions and restrictions specified
in this part.

If such birds are dressed, one fully feath-
ered wing must remain attached to each
bird so as to permit species identification
while being transported between the place
where taken and the personal abode of the
possessor or between the place where tak-
en and a commercial preservation facility.

Any package or container in which such
birds are transported shall have the name

and address of the shipper and of the
consignee and an accurate statement of
the numbers and kinds of birds contained
therein clearly and conspicuously marked
on the outside thereof.

3. Possession for the Purpose of Pro-
cessing, Transportation, or Storage
No hunter who legally takes and possesses
any migratory game birds shall place or
leave any such birds in the custody of

any other person for picking, cleaning,
processing, shipping, transportation, or
storage (including temporary storage) un-
less such birds have a tag attached signed
by the hunter stating his address, the total
number and kinds of birds, and the date
such birds were killed.

No person may receive or have in custody
any migratory game birds belonging to
another person unless such birds are
tagged as provided above.

No hunter who legally takes and possesses
any migratory game birds shall place or
leave such birds at any place for storage
(including temporary storage) other than
at his personal abode unless such birds

are tagged as provided above. Legally
possessed migratory game birds being
transported in any vehicle as the personal
baggage of the possessor shall not be deemed
to be in storage or temporary storage.

Any commercial picking establishment or
cold-storage or locker plant receiving, pos-
sessing, or having in custody any migratory
game birds shall maintain accurate records
showing the numbers and kinds of such
birds, the dates received and disposed of,
and the names and addresses of the per-
sons from whom such birds were received
and to whom such birds were delivered. The
records required to be maintained shall be
retained by the person or persons responsi-
ble for their preparation and maintenance
for a period of 1 year following the close

of the open season on migratory game
birds prescribed for the State in which such
picking establishment or cold-storage or
locker plant is located.

4. Termination of Possession

For the purposes of this part, the posses-
sion of birds legally taken and properly
tagged by any hunter shall be deemed to
have ceased when such birds have been
delivered by him to another person as

a gift; or have been delivered by him

to a post office, a common carrier, or a
commercial cold-storage or locker plant for
transportation by the postal service or a
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common carrier to some person other than
the hunter.

5. Wounded Live Migratory Game Birds
Every migratory game bird wounded by
hunting and reduced to possession by the
hunter shall be immediately killed and
become a part of the daily bag limit.

6. Possession of Plumage

Any person, without a permit, may possess
and transport for his own use the plumage
and skins of lawfully taken migratory game

birds.

7. Wanton Waste of Migratory Game
Birds

No person shall kill or cripple any migra-
tory game bird pursuant to this regulation
without any visible means to retrieve

and without making a reasonable effort

to retrieve the bird and include it in his
daily bag limit. The shooting of crippled
waterfowl from a motorboat under power
will be permitted on those coastal waters
and all waters of rivers and streams lying
seaward from the first upstream bridge.
Additionally, Maine state law states that

a person may not waste a wild bird that
has been wounded or killed by that person
while hunting. A person cannot intention-
ally leave a wounded or killed animal in the
field or forest without making a reasonable
effort to retrieve and render it for con-
sumption or use.

8. Open Seasons, Limits, and

Other Provisions

Migratory game birds may be taken only in
accordance with the open seasons, the daily
bag limits, possession limits, and within
the shooting hours as stated herein.

No person may take in any one day more
than the daily bag limit or aggregate daily
bag limit, whichever applies.

No person may possess more birds lawfully
taken than the possession limit or the
aggregate possession limit, whichever
applies. No person on the opening day

of the season may possess any migratory
game birds in excess of the daily bag limit
or aggregate daily bag limit, whichever
applies, and no person may possess any
freshly killed migratory game birds during
the closed season.



MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

NOTICE: The material below is only a sum-
mary of Federal rules. Each hunter should
also consult the actual Federal regulations,
which may be found in Title 50, code of
Federal Regulations, Part 20.

RESTRICTIONS. No person shall take
migratory game birds:

A.While possessing shot (either in shot
shells or as loose shot for muzzleload-
ing) other than steel shot or such shot
approved as nontoxic while taking Anati-
dae (ducks, geese, and brant), coots and
any species that make up aggregate bag
limits during concurrent seasons.

B. With a trap, snare, net, rifle, pistol, swiv-
el gun, shotgun larger than 10-guage,
punt gun, battery gun, machine gun,
fishhook, poison, drug, explosive, or
stupefying substance.

C. With a shotgun capable of holding more
than three shells, unless it is plugged
with a one-piece filler which is incapable
of removal without disassembling the
gun.

D. From a sink box (a low floating device,
having a depression affording the hunter
a means of concealment beneath the
surface of the water).

E. From or with the aid or use of a car or
other motor-driven land conveyance,
or any aircraft, except that paraplegics
and single or double amputees of the
legs may take from any stationary motor
vehicle or stationary motor-driven

land conveyance. “Paraplegic” means an
individual afflicted with paralysis of the
lower half of the body with involvement
of both legs, usually due to disease of or
injury to the spinal cord.

E. By the use or aid of live decoys. All live,
tame or captive ducks and geese shall be
removed for a period of 10 consecutive
days prior to hunting, and confined
within an enclosure which substantially
reduces the audibility of their calls and
totally conceals such tame birds from the
sight of migratory waterfowl.

G.Using records or tapes of migratory bird
calls or sounds, or electrically amplified
imitations of bird calls.

H.By means or aid of any motor driven
land, water, or air conveyance, or any
sailboat used for the purpose of or
resulting in the concentrating, driving,
rallying, or stirring up of any migratory
bird.

I. By the aid of baiting or on or over any
baited area, where a person knows or
reasonably should know that the area
is or has been baited. However, nothing
in this paragraph prohibits the taking
of migratory game birds on or over the
following lands or areas that are not
otherwise baited areas: a) standing crops
or flooded standing crops; standing,
flooded, or manipulated natural veg-
etation; flooded harvested croplands;
or lands or areas where seeds or grains
have been scattered safely as a result of a
normal agricultural planting, harvesting,

Coordinate System: NAD 1983 UTM Zone 19N
Projection: Transverse Mercator

u jection: Transverse Mer
| Datum: North American 1983
False Easting: 500,000.0000
W —t False Northing: 0.0000
AN Central Meridian: -69.0000
| Scale Factor: 0.9996
s

Latitude Of Origin: 0.0000
Units: Meter

Kilometers.

post-harvest manipulation or normal
soil stabilization practice; b) from a blind
or other place of concealment camou-
flaged with natural vegetation; ¢) from

a blind or other place of concealment
camouflaged with vegetation from ag-
ricultural crops, as long as such camou-
flaging does not result in the exposing,
depositing, distributing or scattering of
grain or other feed.

J. A person must also retain the bird in his
actual custody, at the place where taken
or between that place and either (a) his
automobile or principle means of land
transportation; or (b) his personal abode
or temporary or transient place of lodging.

Game Warden Headquarters
Ashland........cccooeueee. (207) 435-3231

Gray....... ...(207) 657-2345
Greenville.. ...(207) 695-3756
Bangor...... ...(207) 941-4470
Sidney ....c.coeveeeennnee (207) 547-5300

If you are unable to locate a warden at
one of the above headquarters, contact
either the Fisheries and Wildlife
Department headquarters in Augusta
at (207) 287-2766 or the nearest State
Police Barracks.

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
E.Orland .................. (207) 469-6842

Maine Waterfowl Hunting Zones

- Wildlife Management Districts

= South/Coastal Zone Line

North/South Zone Line
Segments

=== Stony Brook to Rte 9
Rte 9 to Rte 15
Rte 15 to 1-95

= |-95 to Rte 202

= Rte 202 to Rte 11
Rte 11 to Rte 110

= Rte 110 to Maine-New Hampshire Border

Definition for North & South Zone Line:
Maine-New Brunswick border in Bai-
leyville, Maine west along Stony Brook to
Route 9 in Baileyville. West along Route 9
to Route 15 in Bangor. West along Route
15 to I-95 in Bangor. Southwest along
I-95 to Route 202 (Exit 109A) in Augusta.
Southwest along Route 202 to Route 11
in Auburn. Southwest along Route 11 to
Route 110 in Newfield. West along Route
110 to Maine-New Hampshire Border.
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MIGRATORY GAME BIRDS

No person shall possess more than one
daily bag limit while in the field or while re-
turning from the field to one’s car, hunting
camp, home, etc.

For information regarding the importation
of migratory birds killed in another country
hunters should consult 50 CFR 20.61
through 20.66. One fully-feathered wing
must remain attached to all migratory game
birds being transported between the port
of entry and one’s home or to a migratory
bird preservation facility. No person shall
import migratory game birds killed in any
foreign country, except Canada, unless

such birds are dressed (except as required
in 20.63), drawn, and the head and feet are
removed. No person shall import migratory
game birds belonging to another person.

il

Dual Violation
Violation of State migratory bird regulations
is also a violation of Federal regulations.

Caution

More restrictive regulations may apply to
National Wildlife Refuges open to public
hunting. For additional information on
Federal refuge regulations, see contact
information on page 25.

Anyone finding a band or recovering
one while hunting should log onto:

reportband.gov or call
1-800-327-BAND(2263)

Results will provide better estimates
of survival and harvest rates and will
reduce high costs associated with
banding studies.
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The Maine Department of Inland
Fisheries and Wildlife wishes to
continue the lawful hunting of
Common Goldeneyes while ensuring
adequate protection of the Barrow’s
Goldeneye, a Threatened Species
under the Maine Endangered Species
Act. Barrow’s and Common Gold-
eneyes look very similar. Our goal

is to reduce the unintentional take
of Barrow’s in Maine by improving
duck hunter’s ability to distinguish
Barrow’s from Common Goldeneyes.
Further, we desire to alert waterfowl
hunters that Barrow’s are known

to congregate in certain areas.
Despite our efforts, we suspect that
a few Barrow’s Goldeneyes may be
unintentionally shot. In these cases,
hunters are required to surrender

to the Department any that are
taken incidentally to legal waterfowl
hunting activities. There will be no
penalty for reporting this to the
Department. To accomplish this

we ask that you contact your local
game warden.
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HUNTING LAWS

Stewards of Maine’s Inland Fisheries & Wildlife, protecting and

preserving Maine’s natural resources, quality of place and economic future.

284 State Street, 41 SHS
Augusta, ME 04333-0041
(207) 287-8000

mefishwildlife.com

In State: 1-800-ALERT US (253-7887)
Out of State: (207) 287-6057

If you are in need of the services of a game
warden call the Department of Public
Safety Dispatch at the following toll-free
numbers:

Augusta......ccooevieiiiinnns 1-800-452-4664
Gray...oovereiicciiieccns 1-800-228-0857
Houlton......ccceovuvvvuvinnincnnns 1-800-924-2261
Bangor......cccoviviiiiiinnn, 1-800-432-7381

Note! The State Police numbers may be
used to report a fire, ONLY if a fire warden
or forest ranger cannot be reached. To
report wildfire arson call 1-800-987-0257
— The Maine Forest Service, Department
of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry.

Paul R. LePage

Chandler E. Woodcock

Timothy E. Peabody

Jerry Scribner

Androscoggin, Kennebec, &

Sagadahoc Counties...........

Richard “Dick” Fortier
Aroostook County..............

Matthew E. Thurston
Cumberland County...........

Sheridan R. Oldham
Franklin & Oxford
Counties......ccceeeeveeecvveennnenns

(207) 495-7751

(207) 496-1221

(207) 926-4147

(207) 864-4323

Jeffrey C. Lewis (Vice-Chair)

Hancock County.................

Gunnar Gundersen
Knox, Lincoln, & Waldo
Counties......ccoeeveereervennnenns

Donald Dudley (Chair)
Penobscot County ..............

Lawrence Farrington
Piscataquis & Somerset
Counties.......cccocevvviiiiininnnes

Lance S. Wheaton
Washington County...........

Jenny Starbird
York County.......cceuevriunnnee

(207) 460-6859

(207) 563-1959

(207) 538-5173

(207) 695-2017

(207) 448-7726

(207) 477-2635

Region A - Gray.................. (207) 657-2345
Region B - Sidney............... (207) 547-5300
Region C — Jonesboro ........ (207) 434-5927
Region D - Strong.............. (207) 778-3324
Region E - Greenville......... (207) 695-3756
Region F - Enfield............... (207) 732-4132
Region G - Ashland............ (207) 435-3231

Bangor Research Office...... (207) 941-4440

The Maine Department of Inland Fisheries
and Wildlife receives federal funds from the
U.S. Department of the Interior. According-
ly, all Department programs and activities
must be operated free from discrimination
in regard to race, color, national origin, age,
or handicap. Any person who believes that
he or she has been discriminated against
should write to the Office of Equal Oppor-
tunity, U.S. Department of the Interior,
Washington, D.C. 20240.

Written comments should be mailed to:
Maine Department of Inland
Fisheries & Wildlife

284 State Street

41 State House Station

Augusta, ME 04333-0041
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