MAINE DEPARTMENT OF INLAND FISHERIES AND WILDLIFE 353 Water St, 41 SHS Augusta, ME 04333-0041 Phone 207-287-5261 - www.maine.gov/ifw

Application to Conduct a Fishing Derby on Maine Inland Waters

Application Cost: \$24.00 (Costs waived if event is for participants under age 16, with no cash prizes award and no entry fee)

Name of Applicant:				
Organization Name:				
Street/PO Box:	Ci	ity:	State:Zip:	
Telephone:	Email Address:			
Fishing Derby Date(s):		Start Time:	End Time:	
List waterbodies below; OR ch	eck here if fishing derby is st	atewide (all legal Ma	aine waters): 🛛	

Waterbody Name	Town	County

Location of weigh-in: _____

Targeted fish species: _____

Describe derby rules, categories, and prize structure (attach additional sheets if necessary):

Does the cash value of all prizes to be awarded exceed \$10,000? Yes or No

NOTE: It is a Class E crime to obtain a permit through fraud, misstatement, or misrepresentation (Title 12 MRSA Section 10757)

Signature of Applicant: _____ Date: _____

APPLICATION INSTRUCTIONS

Please return completed application with required fee to: MDIFW, Fisheries and Hatcheries Division, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333-0041 Please make check payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine"

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT TO CONDUCT

2.04 Rules Pertaining to Fishing Derbies

A. Scope of Rules

These rules shall be applicable only to fishing derbies as authorized by Title 12, M.R.S.A., Sections 12504 & 12504-A.

B. Applications

- 1. An application for a permit to conduct a fishing derby shall be on such forms as the department requires. The following information is required:
 - a. Name and address of the sponsor
 - b. Rules of the derby
 - c. Body(s) of water affected
 - d. Date(s) and time(s) of the derby
 - e. Prize structure
- 2. (Repealed. This fee has been established by the Legislature, P.L. 1991, c.443)
- 3. Applications for open water fishing derbies will be accepted after January 1 annually.
- 4. Applications for ice fishing derbies will be accepted after September 1 annually.
- 5. Applications for fishing derbies will be processed in order of receipt.

C. Restrictions

- 1. No fishing derbies will be permitted on any single body of water having a surface area of less than 100 acres and managed by the department for cold water fish species (trout, salmon and/or togue) or if the issuance of a permit would be inconsistent with the fisheries management objectives of the waters being affected.
- 2. Open water fishing derbies are not allowed to be held between April 1 June 15, except where fishing derbies are consistent with the fisheries management objectives of the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.
- 3. No more than 4 derbies will be permitted on any single body of water in any calendar year. County-wide or state-wide derbies shall not be counted as a derby on any one body of water.
- 4. The total cash value of prizes to be awarded at any single fishing derby (excluding door prizes) shall not exceed \$10,000, except:
 - a. when the derby is of a regional or statewide nature, involves more than a single body of water, or only involves waters not managed by the department for cold water fish species (trout, salmon and/or togue), in which case the total cash value of prizes to be awarded (excluding door prizes) shall not exceed \$25,000.

D. Requirements

- 1. Except as otherwise provided by law, all anglers in the derby must comply with the licensing requirements of Title 12, M.R.S.A., Sections 10751 to 10759.
- 2. A copy of the derby permit and a copy of the sponsor's rules affecting the derby shall be conspicuously displayed during each derby at a location accessible to all derby contestants.

It is illegal to transport live fish except for legal baitfish or smelts without a permit. A permit is required before live fish can be transported to stock water in the State of Maine. There is a \$10,000 fine for conviction of illegal stocking.