
16  DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY 1 

 2 

222  BUREAU OF STATE POLICE 3 

 4 

  STATE BUREAU OF IDENTIFICATION 5 

 6 

Chapter 14: RULES RELATING TO THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND 7 
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 10 

 11 

14.01 DEFINITIONS: 12 

 13 

 A Photograph required to be submitted by a convicted Sex Offender or Sexually 14 

Violent Predator under the “Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 15 

1999” shall mean a Passport Photograph, described as a full faced, chest up, 16 

unmounted, color photograph not larger than 2 ¾ x 2 ½ inches with a white or 17 

off-white background and a space showing above the person’s head. The 18 

photograph must have been taken not more than six (6) months prior to 19 

submission. 20 

A. Bureau.  “Bureau” means the Maine State Bureau of Identification. 21 

B. Initial registration date.  “Initial registration date” means  the date the initial 22 

registration form is received at the Bureau after the registrant has the duty to 23 

register.  If the initial registration form is received on the 29th, 30th, or 31st day of 24 

the month, the initial registration date will be considered the first day of the 25 

following month. 26 

C. Passport photograph. “Passport photograph” means a photograph described as a 27 

full faced, chest up, unmounted, color photograph not larger than 2 ¾ x 2 ½ 28 

inches and not less than 2 x 2 inches with a white or off-white  background and a 29 

space showing above the person’s head.  The picture can not have features 30 

obscured, including but not limited to wearing a hat, sunglasses, or bandana.  31 

The photograph must have been taken not more than six (6) months prior to 32 

submission. 33 

D. Registrant.  "Registrant" means a 10-year registrant or a lifetime registrant or, 34 

when appropriate, both a 10-year registrant and a lifetime registrant. 35 

E. SORNA 1999.  “SORNA 1999” means the Sex Offender Registration and 36 

Notification Act of 1999 (34-A MRSA c. 15). 37 

F. Verification due date.  “Verification due date” means:   38 

  39 

1. The verification due date for a ten year registrant is every year on the 40 

anniversary of the initial registration date. 41 

2. The verification due date for a lifetime registrant is quarterly (every 3 42 

months) from the initial registration date.  43 



 44 

The verification due date is calculated from the initial registration date and not 45 

the date the last verification was received. 46 

 47 

 48 

 49 

14.02 RULES RELATING TO THE SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION AND 50 

NOTIFICATION ACT OF SORNA 1999  51 

 52 

A.  A. A Photograph photograph submitted under this Act for the 53 

maintenance of the Sex Offender Registry by a person convicted Sex Offender 54 

or Sexually Violent Predatorof a sex offense or sexually violent offense must 55 

shall meet the definition of a Passport passport Photograph photograph 56 

described in this rule. 57 

 58 

B. Pursuant to 34-A M.R.S. § 11225-A(5), the Bureau may suspend a Registrant’s 59 

obligation to verify if: 60 

  61 

1. The Bureau has received from the Registrant a signed notice indicating 62 

a change of domicile or residence to another state;  63 

2. The Registrant shows proof of registration in the other state; 64 

3. The Registrant will be physically absent from the State of Maine for 90 65 

days; and 66 

4. The Registrant has previously complied with obligations under 67 

SORNA. 68 

  69 

A person whose verification duties have been suspended under this Rule 70 

must notify the Bureau and local law enforcement on return to the State in 71 

accordance with 34-A M.R.S. § 11222(5). 72 

 73 

C. Pursuant to 34-A M.R.S. § 11225-A(5), the Bureau may suspend a Registrant’s 74 

obligation to verify in person if: 75 

 76 

1. The Bureau has received from the Registrant a signed notice indicating a 77 

change of domicile or residence to another state;  78 

2. The Registrant will be physically absent from the State of Maine for 90 79 

days;  80 

3. The Registrant has previously complied with obligations under SORNA; 81 

and 82 

4. The Registrant shows proof that registration is not required in the other 83 

State. 84 

 85 



Then the Bureau may allow verification in writing, provided that verification 86 

by the Registrant is done in person every five years. 87 

 88 

A person whose verification duties have been suspended under this Rule 89 

must notify the Bureau and local law enforcement on return to the State in 90 

accordance with 34-A M.R.S. § 11225-A(5). 91 

 92 
BASIS STATEMENT 93 

 94 

The amended regulation will better assist the Maine State Police, State Bureau of 95 

Identification to effectively administer the Sex Offender Registration and Notification 96 

Act of 1999. 97 


