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Editor’s Note

The editor reviewed the public laws passed by the 124th Legislature in the Second Regular Session prior to selecting statutes believed to be of general interest to Maine law enforcement officers. This is not a listing of all laws passed by the Legislature. In the interest of clarity and brevity, the selected public laws have been summarized. If a particular change is of interest to the reader, a statutory citation is given so that the reader can review the entire text of the new law, which should be done before any enforcement action is taken. Finally, there are many types of law enforcement officers in Maine and some statutes which may be of interest to only a particular specialized type of law enforcement have been left out to keep the length of this document manageable.

If the reader has questions, comments, etc. the editor can be contacted at:

Lt. Mark M. Waltz

Brunswick Police Department

28 Federal Street

Brunswick, ME 04011

(207) 725-5521

waltz@brunswickpd.org
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Motor Vehicle

Chapter 469 – L.D. 1736
An Act to Improve Safety on Maine’s Primary and Secondary Roads, Reduce Road Maintenance Costs and Improve the Environment and the Economy by Allowing Certain Heavy Commercial Vehicles on the Interstate Highway System in Maine
A 6-axle combination vehicle consisting of a 3-axle truck tractor with a tri-axle semitrailer with a maximum gross vehicle rate of 100,000 pounds may be operated on the Maine Turnpike.

Retroactive to December 16, 2009


Amends 29-A M.R.S.A. § 2355-A 

Chapter 469 – L.D. 1736

An Act To Expand the Use of Ignition Interlock Devices
A person who committed their 2nd or 3rd OUI offense prior to September 1, 2008 may  apply for early termination of a driver's license suspension for their 4th offense (committed on or after September 1, 2008) on the condition that the person installs an ignition interlock device in the motor vehicle the person operates for four years.  Prior law required the 2nd and 3rd convictions to also be after August 1, 2008. 
Retroactive to December 16, 2009


Amends 29-A M.R.S.A. §2508 (1)(C)  

Chapter 484 – L.D. 1640
An Act To Provide for the Safety of Maine Athletes
In addition to bicycles, if a driver overtakes someone on roller skis, the driver cannot make a right turn unless it can be done with reasonable safety.,

Effective July 12, 2010


Amends  29-A  M.R.S.A. § 2060 (1-A) 

Roller skiers must follow the same rules of the road as bicycles (ride to the right, ride with traffic, stop for school buses, etc.).

Effective July 12, 2010


Amends  29-A  M.R.S.A. § 2063 

Like bicycles, roller skiers must also be given 3 feet of space when passed by a vehicle.

Effective July 12, 2010


Amends  29-A  M.R.S.A. § 2070 (1-A) 

A person under 16 years of age using roller skis must wear a helmet if used on a public roadway.  

Effective July 12, 2010


Amends  29-A  M.R.S.A. § 2323 

Chapter 493 – L.D. 1612 
An Act To Amend the Laws Regarding the Unlawful Use of License of Identification Card
In addition to the ability to tow a vehicle if the operator or owner is arrested, it may now be towed if the operator or owner is summonsed for a civil OAS.  

Effective July 12, 2010


Amends 29-A MRSA §2069 (3) 

The offense of possessing or displaying a suspended license is amended to create a 2-tier violation, a crime and a traffic infraction. A person commits a Class E crime if that person displays or possesses a suspended driver's license or identification card when operation of the motor vehicle by that person is punishable as a crime. A person commits a traffic infraction if that person displays or possesses a suspended driver's license or identification card when operation of the motor vehicle by that person is punishable as a traffic infraction.

Effective July 12, 2010



Amends 29-A MRSA §2102) 

Chapter 554 – L.D. 1503 
An Act To Establish Emergency Zones on Public Ways to Minimize Accidents
An “emergency zone” is defined as a portion of a way where at least one emergency vehicle is rendering assistance.  A person entering an emergency zone must operate their vehicle at a careful and prudent speed or they commit a traffic violation with a minimum fine of $250.00

Effective July 12, 2010



Enacts 29-A MRSA § 2074 (1-A) 

Chapter 624 – L.D. 1675 
An Act to Reduce Noise Caused by Motorcycles and Improve Public Health
Effective January 1, 2012, motorcycles must have an inspection sticker be affixed to the rear of the motorcycle either on a mounting plate, a rear fender, or body part of the motorcycle. 
Effective January 1, 2012



Amends 29-A MRSA §1758(3)
Criminal and Other Related Statutes

Chapter 570 – L.D. 1822
An Act To Further Amend the Sex Offender Registration and Notification Act of 1999
In an effort to ensure that the sex offender registration statute is not deemed unconstitutional, it has been amended in two areas:

a. Registrants sentenced on or after January 1, 1982 and prior to September 18, 1999 now only have to report for an in-person verification every five (5) years.  They will still have to complete forms for the sex offender registry annually if they are a ten (10) year registrant and every ninety (90) days if they are a lifetime registrant, they simply do not have to go to a law enforcement agency to have the  as the previously had to for every registration.  If the Bureau or a law enforcement agency believes an offender’s appearance has substantially changed, they may order (in writing) the offender to provide/submit to a new photograph; and
b. The following additional categories of offenders may apply to the Maine State Bureau of Identification to be removed from the sex offender registry:

(1) Offenders sentenced in Maine on or after June 30, 1992 and prior to September 18, 1999 who were finally discharged from the correctional system at least 10 years prior to applying for relief; and

(2) Offenders sentenced in Maine on or after September 18, 1999 and prior to July 30, 2004 for a violation of former Title 17A, section 252 (Rape, now repealed) who were finally discharged at least 10 years prior to applying for relief.

Note that both of these categories of applicants still must meet the other requirements of existing Title 34A, section 11202A (essentially they must have only one sex offense and not have committed any felonies since the sex offense).

Effective March 30, 2010




Amends 34-A MRSA §11202-A
Alcohol Laws

Chapter 472 – L.D. 1596
An Act Regarding Mobile Service Bars at Municipal Golf Courses
Employees of a Class A Restaurant or Class A restaurant/lounge, operating under contract with a municipal golf course that does not have a license to serve alcohol, may serve malt liquor from a mobile service bar.
Effective February 10, 2010



Amends 28-A  M.R.S.A. § 1075-A (2-A) 

Communications

Chapter 196 – L.D. 1828
Resolve, Regarding Emergency Communication Services
The ESCB must implement the recommendations contained in the latest Kimball report and develop “a plan for achieving the 15 to 17 public safety answering point configuration proposed in the Kimball report”.
Effective April 1, 2010





Chapter 617 – L.D. 1813
An Act Relating to the Recommendations of the Office of Program Evaluation and Government Accountability Regarding Emergency Communications Services
The Public Utilities Commission may no longer set the fees that must be paid by political subdivisions for public safety answering point services and dispatch services provided by the Department of Public Safety. The Maine Communications System Policy Board may set the fees based on DPS’s incremental costs of providing such services to political subdivisions.  

Effective April 7, 2010





Amends 25 MRSA § 1535
The PUC’s Emergency Services Communications Bureau must develop and implement a quality assurance program to audit and monitor compliance of PSAP’s with emergency dispatching standards, practices and procedures.
Effective April 7, 2010





Amends 25 MRSA § 2926 (1-A)
The E-9-1-1 fund may be used to support legislatively authorized supervisory positions relating to emergency dispatch and E911 call-taking services provided by the Department of Public Safety until June 30, 2011;

 Effective April 7, 2010





Amends 25 MRSA § 2927 (3-B)
Fish and Wildlife

Chapter 550 – L.D. 650
An Act To Amend Provisions of Certain Laws Relating to Fish and Wildlife
Unlike other wild birds and animals, coyotes may be wasted (intentionally left in the forest).
Effective March 25,, 2010




Amends 12 MRSA §11224 (1) 
The number of dogs which may be used to hunt a bear is increased from 4 to 6.

Effective March 25,, 2010




Amends 12 MRSA §11302 (1) 

Dogs may be used during the fall wild turkey hunting season.

Effective March 25,, 2010




Amends 12 MRSA §11801 (2)(A)

The coyote night hunting season now runs from December 16th to August 31st.

Effective March 25,, 2010




Amends 12 MRSA §12001(1)

Chapter 644 – L.D. 1824
An Act To Decriminalize Violations of Rules or Permit Conditions of the Baxter State Park Authority
Rather than Class E crimes, violations of rules or permit conditions of the Baxter State Park Authority are now civil violations with a fine of not more than $1,000.00

Effective April 12, 2010




Amends 12 MRSA §903 (2) 

Miscellaneous

Chapter 503 – L.D. 1522
An Act To Streamline the Renewal Process for a Permit to Carry a Firearm
Under current Maine law, a person who would otherwise be prohibited from carrying a firearm (for example an adult or juvenile felon), may apply to carry a firearm under certain circumstances (normally 5 years after his or her sentence is completed).  Under current Maine law, the Commissioner of Public Safety must check with the presiding judge, DA’s office, law enforcement agency that investigated the crime before issuing either the initial permit or a renewal.  Now, the checks with the other agencies only have to be done for the original permit and do not have to be done for a renewal permit (unless the permit was revoked by DPS).
Effective July 12, 2010




Amends 15 M.R.S.A. §393 (2) 

Chapter 543 – L.D. 1519
An Act To Ensure Search and Rescue Dogs Are Afforded Access to Public Accommodations without an Extra Charge
A search and rescue dog assisting the commissioner with a search or in training with an organization recognized by the Warden Service may not be denied lodging with its master or charged an extra fee or security deposit.
Effective July 12, 2010




Enacts 12 M.R.S.A. §10105 (4-A)
Chapter 583 – L.D. 1610
An Act To Establish the Silver Alert Program
Maine now has a “Silver Alert” program for missing adults who are 60 years of age and older or, in extreme circumstances, are between the ages of 18 and 59 but have 
irreversible deterioration of their intellectual faculties  Missing person announcements will be posted on the Maine Turnpike and broadcast on television and radio. 
Effective July 12, 2010




Enacts  25 MRSA §§2201 & 2202 

Chapter 614 – L.D. 1705
An Act To Align the Duties of School Boards Concerning Student Safety with the Requirements of the Federal Gun-Free Schools Act and To Prohibit the Discharge of Firearms within 500 Feet of Public and Private School Properties 

Prior law banned the possession of a firearm on school property or discharge within 500 feet of a public school or community college.  This law adds “approved private schools” (most private secondary schools, see Title 20A, chapter 117) to the list, but removes community colleges (because they have the power under other Maine law to ban firearms from their campus).  This amendment also clarifies that a person who possess the firearm at school must be expelled, not just the person who brought it to school.
There are exceptions for instructional activities if the school board has adopted safeguards to ensure student safety, law enforcement officers, and people attending hunter’s breakfasts where the gun is locked in a vehicle and is unloaded.
Effective July 12, 2010




Amends 20-A MRSA §1001 (9-A) 








Amends 20-A MRSA §6552  
Chapter 631 – L.D. 1811

An Act To Amend the Maine Medical Marijuana Act

A person is not guilty of cultivating marijuana if the conduct is expressly authorized under Title 22, Chapter 558C (the Medical Marijuana Statutes). 

Effective April 9, 2010





Enacts 17-A MRSA §1117 (4) 

For the purposes of food marketing, grading and labeling, goods that are prepared in food establishments licensed under 22 M.R.S.A. § 2167 and that contain marijuana, for medical use by a registered patient, are not considered to be “adulterated”. 
Effective April 9, 2010





Amends 7 MRSA §483
The definition of “usable marijuana for medical use” has been changed to allow the medical user to possess 2½ ounces or less of “prepared” marijuana (the prior law read “harvested” marijuana) and a total of 6 plants (the requirement that “no more than 3 may be mature, flowering plants” has been deleted). 

Effective April 9, 2010




Amends  22 MRSA §12383-B (3)(E)
The definition of “prepared marijuana” is “dried leaves and flowers…and any mixture or preparation of those dried leaves and flowers… including tinctures, ointments… or food or drink prepared with marijuana as an ingredient for human consumption”.
Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts  22 MRSA §2422 (14)

A “registered patient” (who will have a card identifying them as such) may:

1) Possess up to 2 ½ ounces of prepared marijuana;

2) Possess marijuana paraphernalia;

3) Furnish to another registered patient for personal use up to 2 ½ ounces of prepared marijuana as long as nothing of value is offered in return;

4) Designate a primary caregiver or a registered dispensary to cultivate medical marijuana for the use of the patient” 

Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts  22 MRSA §2423-A (1)
A “registered primary caregiver” (who will have a card identifying them as such) may:

1) Possess up to 2 ½ ounces of prepared marijuana and an “incidental amount” of marijuana for each patient who has named the person as their primary caregiver;

2) Cultivate up to 6 marijuana plants for each patient who has named them the primary caregiver;

3) Not assist more than 5 patients at any one time with their medical use of marijuana;

4) Receive reasonable monetary compensation for services growing marijuana (as long as they have been properly designated with the State of Maine);

5) Prepare food containing marijuana for medical use by a registered patient;

Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts  22 MRSA §2423-A (2)

A patient or primary caregiver who cultivates marijuana must keep it in a locked, enclosed facility.

Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts  22 MRSA §2423-A (3)

If DHHS wants to make an onsite assessment of a registered primary caregiver who is designated to cultivate marijuana for up to three patients at a time, they must give the caregiver 24 hours written notice.

Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts 22 MRSA §2423-A (3)

A person may not be discriminated against with regards to education, employment, leasing, or child custody based upon their engaging in conduct authorized by the medical marijuana laws (smoking, possessing or cultivating).  However, there are exceptions to this if the school, employer or landlord could be in violation of federal law or lose a federal contract or funding by allowing the smoking, possessing or cultivating and a landlord can prohibit marijuana smoking as part of a general ban of all smoking (and posts an appropriate notice).

Effective April 9, 2010




Enacts 22 MRSA §2423-E
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