MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

15 Oak Grove Road  Vassalboro, Maine  04989

Telephone (207)877-8000  FAX (207)877-8027

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE TRAINING PROGRAM

PHASE I

Tuition:
Tuition for Phase I of the THREE (3) PHASE Law Enforcement Pre-Service Course is $250.   Payment is due upon registration and can be paid by check or money order payable to “Treasurer, State of Maine”.  


You can find more information on our website at:

                            http://www.maine.gov/dps/mcja/training/preservice/index.htm

Hours:

The Phase I On-line Training Course is approximately 40 hours in length.  Topics 

Include:  Ethics, Power Authority and Discretion, Criminal Law, Motor vehicle Law, Juvenile Law, Civil Liability, Laws of Arrest, Use of Force, Variant Behavior, Domestic

Violence, Child Abuse, Cultural Diversity, Community Policing, Courtroom Procedure, Stress Management, Traffic Law Enforcement and Driving Dynamics.

Format:
This course is designed for you to complete at your own pace.  You will need to 

                          complete Phase I before you can register for the Phase II portion of this course.     

                          Phase II of this Program also requires several prerequisites that must be

                          completed before registration is accepted. These prerequisites include, but are not

                          limited to:  Passing the Alert Test (reading, writing comprehension 

                          exam), Sponsorship by a Law Enforcement Agency, completed background

                          investigation, medical form signed by a physician, and passing the (PFT) 

                          Physical Fitness Test. You can find more information about

                          Phase II on our website.  

Age:

21 years old, or 20 years old with at least 60 credits from an accredited

college, or age 19, currently enrolled in an accredited post secondary education program, with at least 40 credit hours. *Copies of transcripts or current grade reports required with the application for those under 21.

Time Line:
If Phase I Online Training is not completed within two (2) years of registering



for this course you will be required to go through a recertification process. 

MAINE CRIMINAL JUSTICE ACADEMY

15 OAK GROVE ROAD

VASSALBORO, ME  04989

PHASE I

ONLINE TRAINING COURSE

LAW ENFORCEMENT PRE-SERVICE APPLICATION

Name__________________________________________________________________​

Email address:__________________________________________________________

DOB______________________ Social Security Number________________________

Mailing Address_________________________________________________________

(complete)



         _________________________________________________________

Telephone/Cell Number__________________________________________________

 If you are under 21 years of age, you MUST attach your college transcript.
If a Law Enforcement Agency or Educational Agency has agreed to make payment for this Phase 1 Law Enforcement Pre-Service Online Course and wishes to be billed they must sign and date the following:

This agency wishes to be billed the $250 fee for the Phase 1 training for the above student.  

___________________________________              ____________________________

Sheriff/Chief or Agency Head Signature


Date

_______________________________________________________________________

Agency

_______________________________________________________________________

Address

To be completed by academy staff:

Payment:______________________________________________________________________

Website Login:    

