RECERTIFICATION PROCESS  

You must be actively employed by a Law Enforcement Agency as a Law Enforcement Officer to qualify for Recertification.

Specification S-30 states If you have not been employed in the State of Maine as a law enforcement officer for a period of more than two years and have previously been certified by the Maine Criminal Justice Academy as a law enforcement officer you will need to complete the Recertification Process.  

This process also applies to graduates of the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Course, who have not worked as a Law Enforcement Officer since completing the class.  
The Recertification Process starts automatically once the academy receives the Notice of Employment from your hiring agency.  A packet will be sent to your hiring agency with the forms needed, and the information you will need to complete the “Recertification Online Training”.  
The cost of the Recertification Process is $250. It is between you and your agency as to who acquires this cost. We will bill your hiring agency if they are incurring the cost.       

Once the Maine Criminal Justice Academy receives your “Notice of Employment” from your hiring agency, you will receive a “Provisional Certificate”.  This certificate will allow you to work as a Law Enforcement Officer as soon as you are hired.  The Provisional Certificate is valid for one year from the date of your employment. This will allow you time to complete the process of recertification.  

You will be required to complete a 40-hour Online Training Course to complete the training requirement of Recertification.  Once you have completed this course you will need to call the academy to schedule your Recertification Exam.  This exam will cover the entire Pre-Service Course, which is the requirement by Maine State Statute to work in the State of Maine as a Law Enforcement Officer.  

Your agency will be required to send in the proper paperwork consisting of the “Notice of Employment”, “Recertification Application”, “Background form”, “Motor Vehicle Check Form” and (“Firearms Qualification Form” if you have never been certified). 

Once actively employed, you will be required to complete the Annual Mandatory Refresher Training to keep your certification active. This training and requirement can be found on our website. 
**In the case of someone being hired, who has taken the Law Enforcement Pre-Service Course over two years ago, and, has never been employed as a Law Enforcement Officer……..The MCJA must receive your signed Firearms Qualification Form before you will be issued your Law Enforcement Provisional Certificate.  Your Provisional Certificate will not be VALID if your Firearms Qualification Form has not been received by the academy.   
