Child Support – Federal Annual Fee of $25
If you have questions after reading this page, please contact the Case Review Unit at 1-800-371-7179 or 207-624-7830. 

The Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005 requires states to collect a $25 federal annual fee for eligible child support cases. 

Cases that are eligible for the federal annual fee

Each year the State will charge the custodial parent a $25 federal annual fee for each case in which the State has disbursed at least $500 of child support for a person who has never received cash assistance from:
· Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) or Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
Cases not eligible for the federal annual fee

Cases will not be charged a fee if:

At any time, you had a child living in your household and have received cash assistance for that child(ren) under a public assistance (IV-A) program:
· Temporary Assistance to Needy Families or Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC)
· Tribal Temporary Assistance for Needy Families (TANF) 

· Maine is enforcing a nonpublic assistance case for another state 

· Income withholding-only (Non-IV-D) service cases that include cases in which the child support agency is only collecting spousal maintenance.

How the federal annual fee is collected

Each year, in each eligible case, the child support agency will redirect $25 from the custodial parent's child support payments, but only after it has disbursed $500 to the custodial parent. The agency will collect the federal annual fee on each of the custodial parent’s eligible cases. 

The federal fiscal year is used to determine when it has disbursed $500 of support in an eligible case. The federal fiscal year runs October 1 through September 30 of the following year. 

If you do not want to pay the federal annual fee

Custodial parents who applied for child support services and do not receive public assistance can ask to have their case closed if they do not want to pay the federal annual fee.

Authority

42 United States Code, section 654 (6)(B) of the Social Security Act. 

Maine Revised Statutes, Title 19A, section 2103, 3-A
$25 Annual Service Fee Frequently Asked Questions 

$25 Annual Service Fee General

Q. Why is the $25 Fee being collected? 

The federal government is imposing on all state child support agencies a $25 annual  fee for services provided in child support cases where: 
· The family and the child(ren) related to that case has never received cash assistance benefits such as Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF), Tribal TANF, Aid to Families with Dependent Children (AFDC), and
· You (the custodial party) have received $500 or more in child support payments during the previous federal fiscal year (October 1, 2010 – September 30, 2011) and
· You (the custodial party) have not already paid a child support annual fee in another state.

Q: What is the Department’s authority for levying the fee? 

Imposition of the fee is federally mandated under the Federal Deficit Reduction Act of 2005, Public Law 109-171 and Maine Revised Statutes, Title 19A, section 2103, 3-A.

Q: When will the $25 fee be collected? 

The fee will be deducted from the first child support payment that you receive on or after October 1 of each year. If the first payment you receive on or after October 1 is less than $25, additional deductions will be made until the $25 has been collected.

Q: Where does the money go? 

The funds collected go to the state General Fund as reimbursement for fee payments to the federal government.

Q: What if I have more than one child support case? 

Subject to the conditions covered elsewhere in these FAQs, you will be charged $25 for each qualifying case. The fee will not exceed $25 per case. 

Q: Is the $25 fee waived for persons who receive child support payments by direct deposit or EPC card? 

No. We encourage you to receive your child support payments electronically but this has no effect on your case’s fee status.

One-time Notice of Annual Service Fee 

Q: I received a notice regarding a $25 service fee being charged to me in October, why am I being sent this letter? 

You are receiving this notice because our records show you meet the qualifications for paying the service fee for Federal Fiscal Year 2013: You received more than $500 in disbursements; never received cash assistance benefits such as Temporary Assistance to Needy Families (TANF) on behalf of a child in that case.
Q: How will I know when the fee will be taken? 

The fee will be collected from the first disbursement after the first $500 in child support is collected and each disbursement thereafter until the entire $25 Fee is paid.
Q: Can I pay the fee now instead of waiting for the system to automatically withhold it? 

No. The fee will be deducted from the first child support payment you receive on or after the first $500 is collected each year. If the first payment you receive on or after that $500 is collected additional deductions will be made until the $25 is collected.

Q: Can I send in a check to pay the fee? 

No. Please do not send a check. The fee will be deducted from the first child support payment you receive on or after the first $500 is collected each year. If the first payment you receive on or after October 1 is less than $25, additional deductions will be made until the $25 is collected.

Q: Who can I contact with my questions about the $25 fee? 

If you have questions after reading this page, please contact the Case Review Unit at 1-800-371-7179 or 207-624-7830. 

Annual Fee Assessment

Q: What if I received assistance in the past? 

If you have received TANF or AFDC in the past for the children in the case you may be exempt from the service fee.

Q: What if I begin receiving cash assistance benefits after the fee has been deducted? 

The fee is collected based on money received during the federal fiscal year beginning October 1, so no adjustments will be made if the fee is collected prior to the receipt of public assistance. However, you may not have to pay the fee in the future.

Q: What if I received cash assistance before in another state, but the $25 service fee is collected in Maine? 

You may be eligible for a refund if the assistance was for the child in the case. Contact the Division of Support Enforcement’s Case Review Unit at 1-800-371-7179 or 207-624-7830.
Q: Will the NCP get credit for a full child support payment – even though the fee has been deducted. 

Yes. The account of the parent obligated to pay will receive full credit for payment received.

Annual Service Fee Exemption 
Q: Who do I contact if I believe I am exempt from the $25 fee?  

You can write to:

Case Review Unit

Division of Support Enforcement

Station 11

Augusta, Maine  04333

You can also communicate by fax at 207-287-2334 or by e-mail at case.review@maine.gov
Q: Do I need to send in proof of the reason I am checking on the exemption letter when I mail it back? 

If you have proof of the receipt of public assistance it will speed up the determination of exemption from the $25 fee. Otherwise, no, just tell Case Review why you believe you should be exempt.
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