

Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention An Office of the Department of Health and Human Services Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention (Maine CDC) 220 Capitol Street 11 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0011 (207) 287-3771 Fax : (207) 287-1093 TTY Users: Dial 711 (Maine Relay)

Instructions and Information for Declaration of Domestic Partnerships

Effective July 30, 2004, Public Law 672 regarding Domestic Partner Registration will allow individuals who have been legally domiciled together in this state, for at least 12 months, to submit a notarized registration form (Declaration of Domestic Partnership) to the Maine CDC vital records office to have their partnership legally registered. <u>The Domestic Partner Registration allows individuals to have rights of inheritance (as specified in Title 18-A M.R.S.A.) as well as the right to make decisions regarding the disposal of their deceased partners remains (Title 22 M.R.S.A. §2843-A).</u>

Persons who wish to register their domestic partnership, or persons who wish to terminate an already registered domestic partnership, may obtain the appropriate forms at the following locations:

- Municipal offices in Maine;
- Regional offices of Department of Health & Human Services;
- Probate courts within Maine; and
- Online at <u>www.maine.gov/dhhs/mecdc/public-health-systems/data-research/vital-records/index.shtml</u>

Registering Your Domestic Partnership (Form VS70)

Persons wishing to register their domestic partnership must obtain a **Declaration of Domestic Partnership** (VS 70) at one of the above locations and upon completion, file the declaration, along with a filing fee of \$50.00, checks made payable to "Treasurer, State of Maine" to the above address.

Partners will be responsible for completing the declaration and having their signatures notarized **before** filing the declaration with the Maine CDC vital records office. This office will be responsible for the filing of the declarations and issuance of certified copies **ONLY**. Persons registering as domestic partners should not expect to be able to complete a declaration at the Maine CDC vital records office at the time of filing.

You are eligible to be a registered domestic partner if:

- A. At the time when a declaration is filed, each domestic partner is a mentally competent <u>adult</u> and not impaired or related in a fashion that would prohibit marriage under Title 19-A M.R.S.A. section 701 (2), (3) or (4);
- B. The domestic partners have been legally domiciled together in this State for at least 12 months preceding the filing;
- C. Neither domestic partner is married; or in a registered domestic partnership with another person; and
- D. Each domestic partner is the sole domestic partner of the other and expects to remain so.

Once you have filed your Declaration of Domestic Partnership with the Maine CDC vital records office and the registration fee has been received, you will receive, in the mail, two certified copies of your Declaration.

If, at any time in the future, you need additional certified copies of your Declaration, you will be able to purchase them at the Maine CDC vital records office, either in person or through the mail. To purchase one copy of the declaration, the fee is \$15.00. Additional copies purchased, *at the same time*, will cost \$6.00 each.



It is important to remember that a registered domestic partnership is NOT the same as a marriage and does not entitle partners to rights other than those for which the registry was intended. This registry is intended to allow individuals to have rights of inheritance, as well as the right to make decisions regarding disposal of their deceased partner's remains.

Termination of a Registered Domestic Partnership

If, after your partnership has been registered with the Maine CDC vital records office, one or both partners wish to terminate the partnership; termination may be accomplished by filing a <u>Notice of Termination</u> with the Maine CDC vital records office. There are a few ways to do this and it is important that you thoroughly research the methods available, since terminating a domestic partnership may affect inheritance rights. <u>Please read the next sections carefully</u>. Before filing a termination, if you have ANY questions, please contact the Maine CDC vital records office at 1-888-664-9491.

A. <u>Termination by Marriage</u>

A registered domestic partnership is automatically terminated by the marriage of either registered domestic partner.

B. <u>Termination by Mutual Consent</u> (Form VS71)

A registered domestic partnership is terminated immediately upon the filing of a Termination of Domestic Partnership by Mutual Consent (form VS 71). Before filing this form with the Maine CDC vital records office, **each** partner must agree to the termination and indicate their agreement by signing, in front of a notary public, the termination form. Remember – Signatures <u>MUST BE</u> <u>NOTARIZED</u>. This form must be completed prior to registration at the Maine CDC vital records office. There is a \$50.00 filing fee to terminate a registered domestic partnership in this manner.

C. <u>Alternate Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership</u> (Form VS72)

A registered domestic partnership may also be terminated if only one partner wishes to terminate the partnership. This is done by using the Alternate Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership (form VS72). The first page of this form is the actual notice that must be completed, photocopied, and then **the PHOTOCOPY must be served on the other partner**. The **ORIGINAL must be filed with the Maine CDC vital records office** along with the original second page, entitled "Proof of Service." This three-page form allows one partner to serve a notice of their intention to terminate the partnership upon the other partner.

The notice may be served in one of the following methods:

• <u>**Personal Service.**</u> This is the method used when the terminating partner **personally** delivers a notice of intention to terminate their domestic partnership upon the other partner, and **no one else**.

- <u>Substitute Service In State</u>. This method may be used when the terminating partner is personally serving either the other partner or a person of suitable age and discretion residing in the State of Maine at the dwelling house or usual place of abode of the other partner. <u>If the notice is served to a person other than the domestic partner, that person **must** be a person residing with the partner receiving notice.</u>
- <u>Substitute Service Outside State</u>. This method applies when the same circumstances apply as in Substitute Service In State, except it occurs outside the State of Maine. Remember, Substitute Service is accomplished *in person* when the terminating partner serves notice upon the other partner or a person of suitable age and discretion at the dwelling house or usual place of abode of the other partner out of state. If the notice is served to a person other than the domestic partner, that person **must** be a person residing with the partner receiving notice.
- <u>Service by Mail</u>. When the terminating partner is unable, after diligent effort, to personally serve the other partner, service may be made by mail. In this case, on the Proof of Service form, the terminating partner checks off the box entitled "Service by Mail" and that partner must explain in writing the reasons he or she was not able to personally serve the other partner.
- <u>Service by Publication</u>. The Maine Rules of Civil Procedure allows for a partner to obtain, from a district or superior court, an order for service by publication when the terminating partner is unable to locate or serve the other partner by any other method. The order must be published, for three successive weeks, in a designated newspaper of general circulation in the county where the two partners were domiciled. The notice must also be mailed to the address of the other partner if it is known. If this method is used, the original notice must be filed with the Maine CDC vital records office along with a copy of the court order and the affidavit filed with the court as proof of service.
- <u>Alternate Method of Service of Notice</u>. If some other form of service, not mentioned above, but in accordance with Rule 4 of the Maine Rules of Civil Procedure was used, then this box may be checked off on the Proof of Service form. The reasons for serving the other partner and a description of the method used must be written on the Proof of Service in the spaces provided.

Maine Rules of Civil Procedure may be viewed online at <u>www.courts.state.me.us/court_info/rules/rules.html</u>

If the Alternate Notice of Termination of Domestic Partnership form is used to terminate a partnership, it is important to understand that **the notice of termination will not be effective until 60 days after service is complete.** Service, by any of the methods on this form, is only complete after the service has been made and the Notice of Termination, along with Proof of Service (and any other documentation required) has been filed and accepted for filing at the Maine CDC vital records office. This means that the termination will be effective 60 days from the date the termination is filed.

The following sections of Title 19-A, M.R.S.A. §701, are relevant to the filing of a Declaration of Domestic Partnership:

Section 701 (2): Prohibitions based on degrees of consanguinity; exceptions. This subsection governs marriage between relatives.

- A. A man may not marry his mother, grandmother, daughter, granddaughter, sister, brother's daughter, sister's daughter, father's sister, mother's sister, the daughter of his father's brother or sister or the daughter of his mother's brother or sister. A woman may not marry her father, grandfather, son, grandson, brother, brother's son, sister's son, father's brother, mother's brother, the son of her father's brother or sister or the son of her mother's brother or sister.
- B. Notwithstanding paragraph A, a man may marry the daughter of his father's brother or sister or the daughter of his mother's brother or sister, and a woman may marry the son of her father's brother or sister or the son of her mother's brother or sister as long as, pursuant to sections 651 and 652, the man or woman provides the physician's certificate of genetic counseling.

Section 701 (3): Persons under disability. A person who is impaired by reason of mental illness or mental retardation to the extent that that person lacks sufficient understanding or capacity to make, communicate or implement responsible decisions concerning that person's property or person is not capable of contracting marriage. For the purposes of this section:

- A. "Mental illness" means a psychiatric or other disease that substantially impairs a person's mental health; and
- B. "Mental retardation" means a condition of significantly subaverage intellectual functioning resulting in or associated with concurrent impairments in adaptive behavior and manifested during the developmental period.

Section 701 (4): Polygamy. A marriage contracted while either party is not divorced from living wife or husband is void.

Persons registering a Domestic Partnership in Maine must not be impaired or related in a fashion that would prohibit marriage under the above sections.