Janet T. Mills Governor

Jeanne M. Lambrew, Ph.D. Commissioner



Maine Department of Health and Human Services
Maine Center for Disease Control and Prevention
11 State House Station
220 Capitol Street
Augusta, Maine 04333-0011
Tel; (207) 287-5500; Toll Free: (888) 664-9491
TTY: Dial 711 (Maine Relay); Fax (207) 287-5470

Title 22 §2767-A governs the amendment of a birth certificate of an adult. LD 83 was passed during the 128th legislation session creating a new process in statute to amend an adult's birth certificate when genetic testing has been done to identify a parent who was not known or listed at the time of the adult's birth. Below, Data, Research and Vital Statistics (DRVS) has provided a step by step process for individuals to follow when requesting a change to the designation of a parent on their birth certificate.

In order to identify a biological parent on a birth certificate for a person who is 18 years of age, the person applying to amend/complete their birth certificate must:

- ✓ complete the VS-7 correction form and have it notarized or provide a signed notarized request;
- ✓ have the biological parent complete the personal affidavit portion (specifying relationship) on the VS-7 and have it notarized or have the biological parent provide a signed notarized request; or
- ✓ provide a certified copy of the death certificate if the biological parent is deceased;
- ✓ provide a notarized report of the results of DNA testing;
- ✓ provide notarized documentation of the chain of custody of the blood and tissue samples examined in the testing;
- ✓ pay the \$60.00 processing fee which includes a copy of the amended record.

The completed VS-7 and documentation specified above must be presented to DRVS. A birth certificate amended without the written, notarized consent of the genetic parent to be named on the amended birth certificate must contain the following language on the birth certificate; "This birth certificate has been amended to identify a genetic parent not known or listed at the time of birth. This amendment does not affect the rights of inheritance or descent of the subject of the birth certificate."

Due to the length of the language not properly fitting on paper based birth records, the amended birth will be entered in the Database Application for Vital Events (DAVE) system and certified and non-certified copies must be issued from DAVE going forward. Municipal clerks will receive instructions from DRVS to mark the original paper birth record or ledger to state "ISSUE FROM DAVE ONLY" to ensure the language specified in statute is included on any certified or non-certified copy issued.

DRVS is currently in the process of updating the VS-7 instructions to include the requirements referenced above. If you have any questions regarding the new amendment process, please contact Jessica Raven at (207) 287-5452 or Jessica.Raven@maine.gov.