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Mandated Reporting and Confidentiality 

Authority 

Chapter 958-A; §1981, C. 527 §1, (Adult Protective Services Act Heading) Subchapter 1-A, 

§1981, C. 705, §2 (Reporting of Abuse, Neglect or Exploitation)  

Title 22 §4011-A, Subtitle 3 (Income Supplementation)  

Public Law 1973, C. 790, §1 (AMD) Part 3: Children, Chapter 1071 (Child and Family Services 

and Child Protection Act) Subchapter 2 (Reporting of Abuse and Neglect) 

Title 22 §4002 (Definition of Child Physical Abuse, Neglect, Sexual Abuse/Exploitation, 

Emotional Abuse) 

22 MRSA, Chapter 958-A, §3477 (Maine Adult Protective Services Act) 

Title 17-A §555 (Definition of an Incapacitated Adult) 

Policy 

1. As mandated reporters under State law, State and Local Agency staff shall be required to 

report known or suspected child abuse, neglect or jeopardy to health or welfare of a child. 

2. A report shall be required when a person knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a 

child has been or is likely to be abused or neglected. 

Procedure 

1. For suspected adult abuse, WIC staff shall be responsible for making a report to Adult 

Protective Services when the staff member has reasonable cause to suspect that an 

incapacitated or dependent adult has been or is in danger of abuse, neglect, or exploitation. 

1.1. WIC staff shall be legally required to make a report to Adult Protective Services Intake 

at 1-800-624-8404 (TTY 1-800-624-8404), or using the online form 

(https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aging/aps/intake.shtml), immediately or as soon as 

possible, if they suspect abuse, neglect, or exploitation of a dependent or incapacitated 

adult who does not have developmental disabilities. The Intake Unit is available to 

receive reports 24 hours a day. 

2. For suspected child abuse by a caretaker or parent, WIC staff shall be legally required to 

make a report to the Child Protective Intake Unit of the Department of Health and Human 

https://www.maine.gov/dhhs/oads/aging/aps/intake.shtml
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Services at 1-800-452-1999 (TTY Maine Relay 711) immediately or as soon as possible, if 

the abuse of a child is by a caretaker or parent. The Intake Unit is available to receive reports 

24 hours a day.  See Appendix OM-A6 Mandated Reporting Worksheet for information that 

may be asked when making a report to Child Protective Intake. 

3. For suspected child abuse by someone other than the caretaker or parent, WIC staff must 

make a report to the appropriate county District Attorney's office: 

3.1 1st Prosecutorial District Attorney (York County) 

207.363.7434 

3.2 2nd Prosecutorial District Attorney (Cumberland County) 

207.871.8384 

3.3 3rd Prosecutorial District Attorney (Androscoggin/Franklin/Oxford Counties) 

207.753.2500 

3.4 4th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Kennebec/Somerset Counties) 

207.623.1156 

3.5 5th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Penobscot/Piscataquis Counties) 

207.942.8552 

3.6 6th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Knox/Lincoln/Sagadahoc/Waldo Counties) 

207.594.0424 

3.7 7th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Hancock/Washington Counties) 

207.667.4621 

3.8 8th Prosecutorial District Attorney (Aroostook Counties) 

207.498.2557 

4. In making a report, State and Local Agency staff may disclose confidential applicant and 

participant information including the name and address of the child or adult; name and 

address of the person responsible for care, custody, or welfare of the child or dependent 

adult; and any other pertinent information concerning the alleged or suspected abuse without 

the consent of the participant or applicant to the extent necessary to comply with such law. 

4.1. When a report is made, all the information provided, when and to whom the information 

was given, must be documented in the client’s file. 

4.2. State law requires mandated reporters to identify themselves when they call, however, 

confidentiality may be requested. 

4.3. Confidentiality means that the caseworker shall not reveal the reporter’s identity unless 

the case goes to court.  

4.4. WIC staff may use their own judgment to determine what constitutes pertinent 

information and may refuse to release information requested by investigators if the 

information is not believed to be pertinent.  CPS or APS may contact WIC clinics to 

assist with cases that did not stem from a report originally filed by WIC staff. 



 

Organization and Management (OM) 

OM-15 Mandated Reporting and Confidentiality                                                                                        3 

 

 

4.5. In this situation, WIC staff may inform the CPS or APS investigator about the federal 

WIC confidentiality provisions and the need for client permission to provide any 

information. 

5. Child abuse or neglect means a threat to a child’s health or welfare due to physical, mental or 

emotional injury, sexual abuse or exploitation, deprivation of essential needs or lack of 

protection from these by a parent or caregiver responsible for the child.   

6. Examples of jeopardy to health or welfare of a child include but are not limited to: 

6.1. Deprivation of adequate food, clothing, shelter, supervision, care, or education when the 

child is at least age 7 and has not started school. 

6.2. Deprivation of necessary health care when the deprivation places the child in danger of 

serious harm. 

6.3. Abandonment of the child or absence of any person responsible for the child that creates 

a threat of serious harm. 

6.4. The end of voluntary placement, when the imminent return of the child to his or her 

custodian causes a threat of serious harm. 

7. Reporting of suspected child or adult abuse does not constitute a violation of 

confidentiality provisions. 

8. WIC staff who make a report in good faith are protected under the law from being sued in 

civil court. 

9. Mandated reporter training may be accessed on the DHHS Child and Family Services 

website at http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/.   

http://www.maine.gov/dhhs/ocfs/cps/

