Maine Board of Licensure of Water System Operators Meeting Minutes

~ Friday, February 11, 2021 – 9:00 am ~ Meeting via Zoom / In-Person

Members Present via In-Person:

- Brian Tarbuck Chair, Professional Engineer Representative, Greater Augusta Utility District
- Amy Lachance Maine DHHS, Drinking Water Program; Director
- Kerry Smart Class II Representative, Alfred Water District
- Brian McBride Class IV Representative, Kennebunk, Kennebunkport, and Wells
- Gregory Kidd Educator Representative, NEWWTA
- Mary Bowers Vice Chair, NTNC Representative, Waterworks Mgmt. LLC

Members Present via Zoom:

- Suzanne Yerina VSWS Representative, CES, Inc.
- Keith Levasseur Class III Representative, Sanford Water District

Board Coordinator and Clerk:

- David Welch Maine DHHS, Drinking Water Program; Licensing Coordinator
- Tina Lemieux Maine DHHS, Drinking Water Program; Licensing Clerk

Guests:

- Margaret Machaiek, AAG
- Nathan Saunders, DWP
- Shawn Yeatts, MRWA
- Kristen Hebert, MRWA
- Kathy Rodgers, guest

- Matthew Demers, guest
- Willis Emmons, guest
- Bruce Berger, guest
- Fred Bowers, guest

Meeting called to order at **9:01 AM** by Brian Tarbuck.

- 1. Introduction of Guests and Board Members
 - a. 6 members In-Person present, 2 members Zoom present, 9 guests
- 2. Public Comment
 - a. None
- 3. Agenda Additions
 - a. None
- 4. Old Business
 - a. Minutes:
 - i. Approve minutes Friday, October 29, 2021 and Friday, December 10, 2021
 - \bullet Motion to accept the minutes, <u>10-29-21</u>.

1st: Brian Tarbuck 2nd: Mary Bowers Vote: Unanimous

❖ Motion to accept the minutes, 12-10-21

- b. Budget: David Welch review and discuss
 - i. June will have new budget information to reflect changes
- c. Rulemaking: update BLWSO rules
- d. Draft Rules:
 - i. Finished draft, next meeting *(Friday, June 3, 2022)
- ❖ Motion to send draft to Tera Pare to review

1st: Greg Kidd 2nd: Kerry Smart Vote: Unanimous

- e. Streamline complaint procedures: (3-6-20)
 - i. Pending investigation report 2021
 - ii. Margaret Machaiek, AAG, and Tara Pare
 - 1. Public hearing and public viewing and comment
- 5. New Business
 - a. Elect Officers VOTE
 - i. Section 1: Officers –

"The officers of the board must include a Chair and Secretary. The Chair shall be elected by the board at the first meeting held each year. The Secretary and Vice Chair may be elected at any time. The board may also from time-to-time elect other officers and agents a deemed necessary."

- b. Current Officers
 - i. Chair: Brian Tarbuckii. Vice Chair: Mary Bowersiii. Secretary: Greg Kidd
- ❖ Motion to show Mary Bowers (chair), Keith Levasseur (vice chair), and Brian Tarbuck (secretary) as new elected officers of the BLWSO.

1st: Brian Tarbuck 2nd: Brian McBride Vote: Unanimous

Motion to adjourn.

1st: Kerry Smart 2nd: Mary Bowers Vote: Unanimous

ADJOURN – <u>10:33 AM</u>

**Next scheduled meeting: Friday, June 3, 2022