Safer Chemicals - Fee Structure Policy for Manufacturers of Regulated Products
Maine law 38 M.R.S. §§ 1691-1699-B and 06-096 C.M.R. ch. 881 authorizes the Department to collect fees from regulated entities reporting Priority Chemicals in products sold in Maine.
The Department’s fee structure starts with a base fee and then puts emphasis on the number of product categories and the number of units sold contained in a single report.
Base Fee: $100
|Dollar Amount||Number of Product Units Sold in Maine Reported|
|$100||50,001 - 200,000|
|$150||200,001 - 450,000|
|$200||450,001 - 600,000|
|$250||600,001 - 750,000|
Fee Calculation Formula
Base Fee + Dollar Amount for Number of Units Sold for Each Product Category = Fee
Manufacturer Y Inc. reported Priority Chemical B in 5 product categories:
4 categories reported for 125,000 Units Sold: $100 * 4 categories
Fee Calculation: Base $100 + $50 + $400 = $550 Fee