Maine Board of Dental Practice Denturist Jurisprudence Examination (Updated December 7, 2023)

To successfully complete this examination, 9 of the 10 questions must be answered correctly by the applicant. It is an open book examination. The answers may be obtained by going to our website www.maine.gov/dental, and click on "Statutes and Rules" on the home page. Please circle the letter identifying the correct answer.

1. 32 M.R.S. § 18321(1) identifies the Board's sole purpose, which is to protect one of the following:

a. Board members.

- b. Dental professionals.
- c. Public health and welfare.
- d. Educational institutions.
- 2. Which list reflects board membership and terms pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 18322?
 - a. 9 dentists; 10-year term.
 - b. 6 dentists, 3 hygienists, 1 denturist; 5-year term.
 - c. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 5-year term.
 - d. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 10-year term.
- 3. Which statutory provision outlines the Board's authority to take disciplinary action?
 - a. 32 M.R.S. § 18323.
 - b. 32 M.R.S. § 18305.
 - c. 32 M.R.S. § 18325.
 - d. 32 M.R.S. § 18324.
- 4. 32 M.R.S. § 18325(1) identifies grounds for disciplinary action that the board may take. Which most accurately reflects the Board's statutory authority:
 - a. Obtaining a license by fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation; incompetent practice, unprofessional conduct.
 - b. Aiding and abetting unlicensed practice; any violation of board rule; failure to provide supervision as required.
 - c. Misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that has resulted or may result in endangering the health or safety of patients.
 - d. All of the above.
- 5. Which Board Rule identifies failure to adhere to the practice standards, including failure to utilize the CDC Guidelines for Infection Control set forth in Board Rule Chapter 12, as unprofessional conduct?
 - a. Board Rule, Chapter 1.
 - b. Board Rule, Chapter 2.
 - c. Board Rule, Chapter 9.
 - d. Board Rule, Chapter 14.

- 6. Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2), licensees and applicants are required to report into the Board within 10 days after any of the following changes or events:
 - a. Change of name or address.
 - b. Criminal convictions.
 - c. Disciplinary action taken in Maine or any other jurisdiction.
 - d. All of the above.
- 7. A denturist's authorized scope of practice is found in the following statutory provisions:
 - a. 32 M.R.S. § 18346.
 - b. 32 M.R.S. § 18374.
 - c. 32 M.R.S. § 18378.
 - d. 32 M.R.S. § 18392.
- 8. Board Rule, Chapter 12 outlines the denturist practice requirements to which of the following areas:
 - a. Immediately refer a patient to a dentist or physician any abnormality or disease process observed during an oral inspection.
 - b. Refer a patient to a dentist if a tissue modification or opposing natural tooth modification is needed to ensure a proper fit of a full denture.
 - c. Maintain complete patient records including updated medical and dental histories.
 - d. All of the above.
- 9. 32 M.R.S. § 18392 requires removal dental prosthesis to be identified by name and social security number. If not practical, then the following is acceptable:
 - a. Social security number may be omitted if the patient name is shown.
 - b. Initials of the patient may be shown alone if the name of the patient is impracticable.
 - c. Identification marks may be omitted in their entirety if none of the forms of identification are practicable or clinically safe.
 - d. All of the above.
- 10. Board Rule, Chapter 13 requires that denturists obtain the following continuing education hours in order to qualify for re-licensure as follows:
 - a. 20 hours per biennium; 15 hours in category 1 and 5 hours in category 2.
 - b. 20 hours annually; 15 hours in category 1 and 5 hours in category 2.
 - c. 30 hours per biennium.
 - d. 20 hours annually; 5 hours in category 1 and 15 hours in category 2.