
STATE OF MAINE 
 

BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR LICENSURE 
 

 

FACULTY DENTIST 
 
 

• Standard Application 

• Endorsement Application 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 

 

Maine Board of Dental Practice 

143 State House Station 

Augusta, ME 04333-0143 
 

 
 
 
 

Office Telephone: (207) 287-3333 
Office Facsimile: (207) 287-8140 

TTY users call Maine Relay 711 
Website:  https://www.maine.gov/dental/ 

 
 
 

 

 
Revised: 7/2023 

http://www.maine.gov/professionallicensing


APPLICANT INFORMATION GUIDE 
 
 
 

The application material you have requested from the Board of Dental Practice is enclosed. It 
contains all the relevant materials you need to complete your application for licensure in the State of 
Maine. Please read all the information carefully. If you have any questions after reading this packet, 
please call or e-mail our office. 

 

FURNISHED TO APPLICANT 
 

• Application Information Guide 
 

• Individual License Application 
 

• Certification of Dental Education Form 
 

• Verification of Licensure Form 
 

• Jurisprudence Examination Link 
 

• Maine's Prescription Monitoring Program Link 
 

• Maine’s Mandated Reporter Requirements Link 
 

• Maine’s Medical Professionals Health Program Link 
 
 
 
 

ADDITIONAL RESOURCES 
 

• Board of Dental Practice Statute, Title 32, Chapter 143 
 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible for 

knowing and complying with all Maine Laws throughout your licensure. 

Available: http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/32/title32ch143sec0.html or call (207) 287-
3333. 

 

• Board of Dental Practice Rules 
 

Please read these carefully and review periodically for changes. You are responsible 
for knowing and complying with all Board Rules throughout your licensure. 
Available: http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#313 or call (207) 287-
3333. 

 

• Statutory Authority, Titles 5 & 10 
 

Available: http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html 
 

http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html 

http://legislature.maine.gov/legis/statutes/32/title32ch143sec0.html
http://www.maine.gov/sos/cec/rules/02/chaps02.htm#313
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/10/title10ch901sec0.html
http://www.mainelegislature.org/legis/statutes/5/title5ch341sec0.html


APPLICATION INFORMATION GUIDE 
 

➢ National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB): You are required to obtain a self-query report and submit the 
report to the Board with your application. Please visit NPDB’s website at 
http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/index.jsp or contact them directly at: 1-800-767-6732. 

 

➢ State of Maine Criminal Background Check: The Board requires a Maine Criminal Background Check be 
completed as part of the application process. Board staff can obtain the report with payment of a $21.00 
fee, or you can contact the Maine State Bureau of Identification and request a report with payment of a 
$31.00 fee.  See link for more information: https://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/about/sbi 

 
➢ Verification of Licensure Form: The Board requires that you submit verification of licensure for any 

professional license ever held, i.e. expired, inactive, retired, etc. from any licensing authority as part of the 
application materials. 

 
 
➢ Certificate of Education Form: The Board requires that your dental education be verified by the 

educational institution and submitted directly to the Board as an alternative to an official transcript. 

 

➢ Mandated Reporter Requirements: Maine law requires that dentists and dental hygienists immediately 
report or cause a report to be made to the Maine Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS) when 
the licensee knows or has reasonable cause to suspect that a child or adult has been or is likely to be 
abused or neglected or that a suspicious death has occurred. Mandated Reporter Training and additional 
information regarding mandated reporting can be found at the Board’s website at: 
https://www.maine.gov/dental/index.html 

 

➢ Maine's Prescription Monitoring Program (PMP): The PMP is a tool created to prevent and detect prescription 
drug misuse and diversion, and improve patient care through better coordination of care. PMP maintains a 
database of all transactions for schedule II, III and IV controlled substances dispensed in the State of Maine. 
This database is available free online to prescribers and dispensers by the Office of Substance Abuse and 
Mental Health Services (SAMHS) in the Maine Department of Health and Human Services. FMI visit the 
Board’s website at:  https://www.maine.gov/dental/index.html 

 

➢ Maine’s Medical Professionals Health Program (MPHP): The MPHP works cooperatively with six Maine 
boards of licensure, hospitals, medical staffs, and professional associations to ensure that professionals in 
need of treatment and services get the help they need. The MPHP is not a treatment program, but their 
staff will help professionals to find the resources they need, to better understand the treatment and 
recovery process, and to implement strategies for return to safe practice. https://www.mainemphp.org/ 

 

➢ 10 Day Reporting Requirement: Please be advised, pursuant to 32 MRS §18352, licensees and applicants 
are to report to the Office, in writing, any change of name or address on file with the Office, any criminal 
conviction, any revocation, suspension or other disciplinary action taken in this or any other jurisdiction 
against any occupational or professional license held, or any material change set forth in this application 
within ten (10) days: 

 

➢ Please submit your application materials to the Board by USPS to our office. Faxed submissions will not 
be accepted. Your application will be reviewed and processed in the order that it was received. Application 
reviews generally take at least two weeks, barring any action required by the full Board, or any high volume 
renewal of licensure periods. 

 
➢ Pursuant to M.R.S. Chapter 143 §18341 (3), An applicant has 90 days after being notified of the materials 

needed to complete the application to submit those materials to the board.  You will be notified by mail if 
there are deficiencies with your application.  You may also check the Board’s website at 
www.maine.gov/dental.  It is the responsibility of the applicant to see that all documentation is completed and 
returned to the Board for consideration.  Failure to complete the application within that 90-day period may 

result in a denial of the application. 

http://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/index.jsp
https://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/about/sbi
https://www.maine.gov/dental/index.html
https://www.maine.gov/dental/index.html
https://www.mainemphp.org/
http://www.maine.gov/dental


THERE ARE 2 PATHWAYS FOR LICENSURE AS A FACULTY DENTIST 
 

PATHWAY I – STANDARD APPLICATION 
 

Qualifying individuals who are issued dentist faculty licenses by the Board are limited to practice only 
within the dental school setting. To qualify for licensure, an applicant shall be actively licensed in good 
standing as a dentist under the laws of another state or a Canadian province, and shall provide the 
following: 

 

 

 Completed and signed Application (pgs. 1-10) 
 

 Payment of fees: application fee $100.00; and license fee $750.00 
 

 Payment of a Maine Criminal Background Report Fee of $21.00 
 

 Completed Certificate of Dental Education Form, or official transcript 
 

 Letter of recommendation from the employing school of dentistry 
 

 Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination – download exam here 
https://www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html 

 

 Completed Verification of Licensure Form(s) 
 

 NPDB Self-Query Report (See instructions on Application Information Guide) 
 

 Current; valid BLS Certification 
 

 Maine Criminal Background Report (See instructions on Application Information Guide) 
 
PATHWAY II – ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION (See M.R.S. §18347 for more information) 

 

An application for licensure on the basis of endorsement shall include: 
 

 Completed and signed Application (pgs. 1-10) 
 

 Payment of fees: application fee $100.00; and license fee $750.00 
 

 Payment of a Maine Criminal Background Report Fee of $21.00 
 

 Completed Certificate of Dental Education, or official transcript 

 Letter of recommendation from the employing school of dentistry 

 If licensed 3 years in another state prior to date of application; then please provide a copy of that 

state’s statutes and rules; and a curriculum vitae  

 Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination – download exam here 
https://www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html 
 

 Completed Verification of Licensure Form(s) 

 NPDB Self-Query Report (See instructions on Application Information Guide) 
 

 Current; valid BLS Certification 
 

 Maine Criminal Background Report (See instructions on Application Information Guide) 
 
 
 

 

https://www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html
https://www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html


STATE OF MAINE / BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
Mailing Address: 143 State House Station, Augusta, Maine  04333-0143   

Phone: (207) 287-3333 Fax:  (207) 287-8140  TTY users call Maine Relay 711 Website:www.maine.gov/dental 
 
 
 

Frequently Asked Questions: 
 

• Where do I send my application? Our mailing address is 143 State House Station, Augusta, Maine 
04333- 0143. 

 
• Can I come to Augusta to pick up my license? No. Your license will be sent electronically to your email 

address provided on the application. 
 

• How can I check the status of my application? You can check the Board’s website:  www.maine.gov/dental 
 

• Can I fax my application? No. 
 
 
 

NOTICES 

BACKGROUND CHECK:  Pursuant to 5 M.R.S.A. §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record. The Maine Board of Dental Practice requires a criminal history records check as part of the application 
process for all applicants. 

 

PUBLIC RECORD: This application is a public record for purposes of the Maine Freedom of Access Law (1 MRSA §401 et seq). Public 
records must be made available to any person upon request. This application for licensure is a public record and information supplied as part 
of the application (other than social security number and credit card information) is public information. Other licensing records to which this 
information may later be transferred will also be considered public records. Names, license numbers and mailing addresses listed on or 
submitted as part of this application will be available to the public and may be posted on our website. 

 
SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: The following statement is made pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974 (§7(B)).  Disclosure of your Social 
Security Number Is mandatory.  Solicitation of your Social Security Number is solely for tax administration purposes, pursuant to 35 MRSA 
§175 as authorized by the Tax Reform Act of 1975 (42 USC §405(C)(2)(C)(1)). Your Social Security Number will be disclosed to the State 
Tax Assessor or an authorized agent for use in determining filing obligations and tax liability pursuant to Title 36 of the Maine Revised Statutes. 
No further use will be made of your Social Security Number and it shall be treated as confidential tax information pursuant to 36 MRSA §191. 

 

 
 
 
 

Before you seal the envelope, did you: 
 

➢ Complete every item on the application including the criminal background disclosure question? 
➢ Sign and date your application? 

➢ Include the required fee(s). Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” or complete the 
credit card section on the application. DO NOT SEND CASH. 

➢ Make a copy of your application to keep for your records? 

http://www.maine.gov/dental
http://www.maine.gov/dental


 

STATE OF MAINE 
BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 

143 State House Station, Augusta, ME 04333-0143 
 

 

INDIVIDUAL LICENSE APPLICATION           (Revised 7/2023) 

 

APPLICANT INFORMATION (please print) 

FULL LEGAL NAME FIRST MIDDLE INITIAL LAST 

ANY OTHER NAMES EVER USED 

DATE OF BIRTH mm / dd / yyyy SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER 

MAILING ADDRESS 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE COUNTY 

PHONE ( ) FAX ( ) E-MAIL 

 

 

BACKGROUND CHECK and 10 DAY REPORTING NOTICE 

Pursuant to 5 MRS §5301 - 5303, the State of Maine is granted the authority to take into consideration an 
applicant’s criminal history record. The Board of Dental Practice requires a criminal history records check as 
part of the application process for all applicants. In addition, the Board of Dental Practice requires licensees to 
report to the Board criminal convictions within 10 days. 

 

 

Board of Dental Practice 
 

Required Fee: $871.00 

(includes Criminal History Report Fee) 
 
 

Please Select License Type: 
 

 Standard (FDN) – Faculty Dentist 
 Endorsement (FDN) – Faculty Dentist 

 
 
 

Office Use Only 
 

1446 - $100.00 
1421 - $750.00 
2690 - $21.00 

 
 

Office Use Only 
       Check  #                 
       Amount:                  
       Cash #:                    
       License #:                

 

 

 
PAYMENT OPTIONS: 

 
Make checks payable to “Maine State Treasurer” – if you wish to pay by credit or debit card, fill out the following: 

1 

NAME OF CARDHOLDER (please print)          FIRST                            MIDDLE INITIAL                       LAST 

 ADDRESS OF CARDHOLDER (please print) 

I authorize the Maine Board of Dental Practice to charge my card the following amount:  $                               
VISA M/C Discover         AMEX 

 I understand that fees are non-refundable 

   Card number:                                                                                            Expiration Date:                   mm / yyyy 

SIGNATURE                                                                                       DATE 



 

 

Undergraduate Education 

Name of Academic Institution: 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Major: Degree Granted: Date Conferred: 

 

 
 

Dental Education 

Name of Dental School Attended: 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Degree Granted: Date Conferred: 

 

 
 

Residency Training (If applicable) 

Name of Dental Residency Program: 

Mailing Address: 

City: State: Zip Code: 

Dates: 

 
Professional Experience/Hospital Affiliations/Work History 

List in chronological order all professional experience including full work history of practice, and all healthcare 
entities where you have held or now hold privileges. 

 

Dates 
Name of Hospital, 

Institution or Practice 

 

Address 
Nature of 

Experience 

    

    

 
 

 

2 



 

Professional Experience/Hospital Affiliations/Work History (cont.) 
List in chronological order all professional experience including full work history of practice, and all healthcare 
entities where you have held or now hold privileges. 

 

Dates 
Name of Hospital, 

Institution or Practice 

 

Address 
Nature of 

Experience 
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Continuing Education Activities 
Please list continuing education activities that you have completed during the past two years prior to this 

application. 

Date Title of Activity Hours Earned 
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Credentialing History 
 

Have you ever held a professional license/certification/registration in this or any other state/country? 
 
 

 

If yes: 
[ ] YES [   ] NO 

Profession License # State/Country Date Issued Expiration Date 

     

     

     

     

     

 

 
 

 

Specialty / Drug Enforcement Administration 
 

 
 

Do you hold a specialty certification? If so, please list and submit a copy of your specialty 
certification: . 

 
Do you hold a DEA registration? If so, please list #: . 
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Licensure / Disciplinary Questions 

The following questions must be answered.  If you circle “YES” to any question numbered 1 through 19, then 

please provide additional information such as a written explanation regarding the disclosure, along with 

additional documentation relevant to the disclosure. 
 
 

1. Have you ever submitted an application for a professional or occupational license, certification, 
registration, or permit to any authority, other than the Maine Board of Dental Practice, that was not 
approved or that was approved subject to a condition, limitation, or restriction? 

 
YES NO 

2. Has any professional or occupational licensing, registration, or certifying authority, other than the 
Maine Board of Dental Practice, ever disciplined or otherwise imposed any sanctions, fines, 
probation, limitations, or restrictions on any license, certification, registration, or permit held by 
you? 

 
YES NO 

 
3. Have you ever entered into any type of settlement agreement with any professional or 

occupational licensing, registration, or certifying authority other than the Maine Board of Dental 
Practice? 

 
YES NO 

4. Are you aware of any complaints filed with any professional or occupational licensing, 
registration, or certifying authority, other than the Maine Board of Dental Practice, against any 
license, certification, registration, or permit held by you, for which you have not received a 
notice of final dismissal? 

 
YES NO 

5. Are you aware of any investigations or inquiries undertaken by any professional or occupational 
licensing, registration, or certifying authority, other than the Maine Board of Dental Practice, that 
involve, to any extent, any license, certification, registration, or permit held by you, for which you 
have not received a notice of final closure or dismissal? 

YES NO 

6. Have your practice privileges ever been restricted? 
 

YES NO 

7. Have you ever left a dental licensing jurisdiction, other than the Maine Board of Dental 
Practice, while a complaint or allegation was pending? 

 
YES NO 

 
8. Have you ever been denied registration or had your ability to administer, prescribe, or dispense 

controlled substances modified, restricted, suspended, revoked, or voluntarily suspended? 

YES NO 
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Licensure / Disciplinary Questions (Continued) 
 
 
 

9. Have you ever received a sanction from the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services or 
any state Medicaid program? 

 
YES NO 

10. Have you ever rendered any dental services illegally? 
 

YES NO  

11. Are you currently dependent on the use of alcohol or habituating drugs? 
 

YES NO 

12. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of drugs or misuse of any drugs? 

YES NO 

13. Are you currently participating in a substance abuse and/or alcohol or drug treatment 
program, or have you been diagnosed with a substance abuse disorder that in any way 
currently affects or limits your ability to practice safely and in a competent and 
professional manner? 

 
YES NO 

14. Do you currently use any chemical substance(s), including alcohol or drugs, which in any way 
impairs or affects your ability to practice your dental profession with reasonable skill and safety? 

YES NO 

15. Do you have or have you ever been diagnosed with or treated for a medical, mental, physical, 
emotional, nervous, or behavioral disorder or condition that in any way currently limits or impairs 
your ability to practice safely or to function as a dental professional? 

 
YES NO 

16. Have you ever asserted any condition or impairment as a defense or in mitigation of, or as 
an explanation for your actions in the course of any administrative or judicial proceeding or 
investigation; any inquiry or other proceeding; or any proposed termination action 
(educational, employer, government agency, professional organization, or licensing 
authority)? 

 
YES NO 

17. Have you been named in any lawsuit involving your practice as a dental professional that was 
adjudicated to any degree in favor of the other party? 

 

YES NO 
 

 



 

 

Licensure / Disciplinary Questions (Continued) 
 
 

18. Have you been named in any lawsuit involving your practice as a dental professional that 
was settled by the parties? 

 
YES NO 

19. Are you currently in default on payment of student loans? 
 

YES NO 

 
 
 

 
 
 

 

Maine Statutes and Rules 

 
20. Have you read the statutes and rules governing dental practices in Maine? 

 
YES NO 

 
 

 
 
 

Affidavit of Applicant 
 

I have read and completed this application and attest that  all  information  is  true  to  the  best  of  my knowledge. Should 
I furnish any false information in this application, I hereby agree that such act shall constitute cause for denial, suspension 
or revocation of my license to practice in the state of Maine. 

 
I hereby authorize all hospitals, institutions or organizations, personal physicians, employers (past and present), business 
and professional associations (past and present), and all government agencies and instrumentalities (local, state, federal or 
foreign) to release to the Maine Board of Dental Practice, my references and information, files, or records requested by the 
Board in connection with processing of this application. I hereby authorize the Maine Board of Dental Practice to use 
photocopies of this authorization and waiver in lieu of the original. 

 
I further authorize the Maine Board of Dental Practice to release to the organizations, individuals and groups listed above, 
any information which is material to my application. 

 

 
Signature of Applicant:  Date:    
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VERIFICATION OF LICENSURE 
 

To be completed by applicant prior to mailing to each state in which you now hold or have ever 
held a license to practice. Please print. (This form may be copied as necessary.) 
Applicant 
Name:   

 

Address:   
 
 

(state) (zip code) 
 

License Type and Number:_ Date Issued:   
 

I hereby authorize the Board of Dentistry of the State of    
to furnish to the Maine State Board of Dental Practice the information requested below. 

 
Applicant Signature: Date: 

 

To be completed by the State Licensing Board verifying the above information. Please complete 
this section and return to the applicants address above: 

 
LICENSING BOARD OR AGENCY: This is to certify that the above-named was issued: 
 
 License # Date issued Date of expiration 

 

 
 
 

Current Status of License: (check all that apply) ❑Active ❑Inactive ❑Lapsed 
❑Probation ❑Restricted ❑Suspended ❑Revoked 

 
Disciplinary Action:  ❑Yes  ❑No  
 
(If yes, please attach a copy of the decision and a detailed explanation for the discipline and a copy 
of the consent agreement(s) or decision & order(s) issued) 

 
Has this license ever been revoked, suspended, limited, surrendered, restricted, placed on probation, 
disciplined in any way or is it currently under investigation? ❑Yes ❑No 

 

 
 

Signature:   
 

Title:   
 

State completing this form:    
 

Date:    
 
 
(SEAL) 
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STATE OF MAINE 

BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE 
 

 

CERTIFICATE OF DENTAL EDUCATION 
 

I am applying to practice dentistry in the state of Maine. The Maine board requires verification of 
my dental education. This is your authority to release any information in your files directly to the 
Maine board at the address below. 

 

THIS SECTION TO BE COMPLETED BY THE APPLICANT. 
 

Applicant's name:    
 

Applicant's address:    
 

Dates of attendance:  from to   
 

THIS SECTION MUST BE COMPLETED BY THE DEAN, SECRETARY OR REGISTRAR OF 
THE DENTAL SCHOOL. 

 

I hereby certify that the above named applicant has received a doctoral degree in dentistry 
from the following educational institution: 

 
Name of dental school   

 

Address of school   
 

Dates of attendance: from to   
 

Degree conferred: date conferred:    
 

Name & title of school official:    
 

Official's signature dated:    
 

PLEASE PLACE 
SCHOOL SEAL 
HERE 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Mail to: 

Maine Board of Dental Practice 

143 State House Station  

Augusta, ME 04333-00143 

 

 


