NAME:	DATE:

Maine Board of Dental Practice Dental Radiographer Jurisprudence Examination (Updated December 7, 2023)

To successfully complete this examination, 9 of the 10 questions must be answered correctly by the applicant. It is an open book examination. The answers may be obtained by going to our website www.maine.gov/dental, and click on "Statutes and Rules" on the home page. Please circle the letter identifying the correct answer.

- 1. 32 M.R.S. § 18321(1) identifies the Board's sole purpose, which is to protect one of the following:
 - a. Board members.
 - b. Dental professionals.
 - c. Public health and welfare.
 - d. Educational institutions.
- 2. Which list reflects board membership and terms pursuant to 32 M.R.S. § 18322?
 - a. 9 dentists; 10-year term.
 - b. 6 dentists, 3 hygienists, 1 denturist; 5-year term.
 - c. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 5-year term.
 - d. 5 dentists, 2 hygienists, 1 denturist, 1 public member; 10-year term.
- 3. Which statutory provision outlines the Board's authority to take disciplinary action?
 - a. 32 M.R.S. § 18323.
 - b. 32 M.R.S. § 18305.
 - c. 32 M.R.S. § 18325.
 - d. 32 M.R.S. § 18324.
- 4. 32 M.R.S. § 18325(1) identifies grounds for disciplinary action that the board may take. Which most accurately reflects the Board's statutory authority:
 - a. Obtaining a license by fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation; incompetent practice, unprofessional conduct.
 - b. Aiding and abetting unlicensed practice; any violation of board rule; failure to provide supervision as required.
 - c. Misuse of alcohol, drugs or other substances that has resulted or may result in endangering the health or safety of patients.
 - d. All of the above.
- 5. Which Board Rule identifies failure to adhere to the practice standards, including failure to utilize the CDC Guidelines set forth in Board Rule Chapter 12, as unprofessional conduct?
 - a. Board Rule, Chapter 1.
 - b. Board Rule, Chapter 2.
 - c. Board Rule, Chapter 9.
 - d. Board Rule, Chapter 14.

- 6. Pursuant to 10 M.R.S. § 8003-G(2), licensees and applicants are required to report into the Board within 10 days after any of the following changes or events:
 - a. Change of name or address.
 - b. Criminal convictions.
 - c. Disciplinary action taken in Maine or any other jurisdiction.
 - d. All of the above.
- 7. A dental radiographer's authorized scope of practice is found in the following statutory provisions:
 - a. 32 M.R.S. § 18343.
 - b. 32 M.R.S. § 18374.
 - c. 32 M.R.S. § 18372.
 - d. 32 M.R.S. § 18378.
- 8. 32 M.R.S. § 18350 requires that as a condition to renew a dental radiographer must meet the following continuing education requirements:
 - a. Possess a current basic life support certification.
 - b. There are no requirements for dental radiographers to be re-licensed.
 - c. 10 hours during a five-year period; all hours in category 1.
 - d. 10 hours during a five-year period; 5 hours in category 1 and 5 hours in category 2.
- 9. In addition to the duties authorized to perform dental radiography there are duties that a dentist may delegate to an unlicensed individual, also known as a dental assistant. The provision outlining the duties authorized to be delegated by a dentist to an unlicensed person is:
 - a. 32 M.R.S. § 18343(1).
 - b. 32 M.R.S. § 18344(1).
 - c. 32 M.R.S. § 18371(3).
 - d. 32 M.R.S. § 18371(4).
- 10. Board Rule, Chapter 12 establishes the requirement to use radiation barriers when exposing ionizing radiation to patients. Which of the following most accurately reflects the rule:
 - a. A dental radiographer is required to place on or over a patient's body a radiation barrier prior to exposing the patient to ionizing radiation.
 - b. A dental radiographer is required to place on or over a patient's body a radiation barrier after exposing the patient to ionizing radiation.
 - c. A dental radiographer is not required to use radiation barriers as it is the supervising dentist's responsibility only.
 - d. None of the above.