## MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE

## **Application Checklist for Temporary Licensure**

<u>TEMPORARY LICENSURE</u> is for an applicant that is **actively licensed as a dentist or dental hygienist** in another state. A temporary license issued by the Board is only good for a period of 6 months.

The following is a list of required items when filing an online licensure application. Some of the items can be submitted directly by the applicant, submitted directly from a third party such as an academic institution verifying a degree program.

Curriculum vitae (resume).
Current; valid life support certification (BLS required effective 10/25/2023)
Verification of active license in good standing issued under the laws of another state.
Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination. Visit link to access the examination: <a href="https://www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html">www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html</a>
For Temporary Dentist Applicants Only - National Practitioner's Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query Report. NPDB link: <a href="https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/">www.npdb.hrsa.gov/</a>
Payment of \$21.00 Maine Criminal Background Fee.
<b>Dentist</b> – Payment of \$250.00 licensure fee. If requesting a waiver of the fees, include documentation demonstrating that the purpose of this license is to provide free dental care in conjunction with a charitable nonprofit organization (i.e., letter from the nonprofit organization affirming free dental care).
<b>Dental Hygienist</b> – Payment of \$150.00 licensure fee. If requesting a waiver of the fees, include documentation demonstrating that the purpose of this license is to provide free dental care in conjunction with a charitable nonprofit organization (i.e., letter from the nonprofit organization affirming free dental care).

For more information regarding qualifications for a temporary dentist license or a temporary dental hygiene license please review Board Rules Chapters 2 (Dental Hygiene) and 6 (Dentist) here: Maine Board of Dental Practice Rules

## **Board Contact Information:**

Board of Dental Practice 143 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0143

Telephone: (207) 287-3333 TTY users call Maine relay 711

Fax: (207) 287-8140

Email: dental.board@maine.gov

Website: www.maine.gov/dental