## MAINE BOARD OF DENTAL PRACTICE

## **Application Checklist for Faculty Licensure**

<u>PATHWAY I – STANDARD APPLICATION</u> is for an applicant that is **not actively licensed** as a Faculty Dentist, Faculty Dental Hygienist, or Faculty Denturist in another jurisdiction.

The following is a list of required items when filing an online licensure application. Letter from the employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism indicating that the applicant satisfies the credentialing standards of the school, and that the applicant will teach dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism in this State as part of a clinical and didactic program for professional education for dental students, dental residents, dental hygiene students, or denturism students accredited by CODA or a successor organization approved by the Board. Verification of active, full license in good standing issued under the laws of another jurisdiction. Curriculum vitae (resume), including previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including dates of employment). Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination. Link to access the examination: www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html Current; valid basic life support (BLS) certification. For Dentists Only: National Practitioner's Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query Report. NPDB link: www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ Payment of \$871.00 in fees (includes \$21.00 Maine criminal background fee, \$100.00 application fee, and \$750.00 license fee) PATHWAY II - ENDORSEMENT APPLICATION is for an applicant that is actively licensed as a Faculty Dentist, Faculty Dental Hygienist, or Faculty Denturist in another jurisdiction. The following is a list of required items when filing an online licensure application. Letter from the employing school of dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism indicating that the applicant satisfies the credentialing standards of the school and that the applicant will teach dentistry, dental hygiene or denturism in this State as part of a clinical and didactic program for professional education for dental students, dental residents, dental hygiene students, or denturism students accredited by CODA or a successor organization approved by the Board. Verification of active, faculty license in good standing issued under the laws of another jurisdiction. Curriculum vitae (resume), including previous employment experience relevant to the subject to be taught (including dates of employment). П Passing Score on Jurisprudence Examination. Link to access the examination: www.maine.gov/dental/jurisprudence-examinations.html Current; valid basic life support (BLS) certification For Dentists Only: National Practitioner's Data Bank (NPDB) Self-Query Report. NPDB link: www.npdb.hrsa.gov/ If fully licensed and actively practicing during three consecutive years immediately preceding the application, then you will be prompted to include a link to the licensing jurisdiction(s) regulations as part

of the online licensure application

## **Application Checklist for Dentist Licensure (cont.)**

□ Payment of \$871.00 in fees (includes \$21.00 Maine criminal background fee, \$100.00 application fee, and \$750.00 license fee)

For more information regarding qualifications for all categories of licensure please review Board Rules here: Maine Board of Dental Practice Rules

## **Board Contact Information:**

Board of Dental Practice 143 State House Station Augusta, Maine 04333-0143

Telephone: (207) 287-3333 TTY users call Maine relay 711

Fax: (207) 287-8140

Email: dental.board@maine.gov

Website: www.maine.gov/dental