
 Bureau of Alcoholic Beverages and Lottery Operations  
Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement 
8 State House Station,  
Augusta, ME 04333-0008 
Tel:  (207) 287-4482 or (207) 287-4492 
Fax:  (207) 287-3434 
Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov  
 
 
Present license Expires: ____________________ 
 

DIRECT SHIPPER LICENSE RENEWAL 
�    License fee:   $50.00 Check Payable:  Treasurer, State of Maine 
Corporation Name: Business Name (D/B/A) 

 APPLICANT(S) –(Sole Proprietor)                          DOB:                                                                                                                                                       Physical Location: 

                                                                                            DOB: City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code 

Address Mailing Address 

City/Town                                          State                Zip Code City/Town                                    State                           Zip Code 

Telephone Number                                 Fax Number Business Telephone Number                           Fax Number 

Federal I.D. # Seller Certificate #: 
or Sales Tax #: 

Email Address: 
Please Print 

Website: 

Do you have a federal basic permit pursuant to the Federal Alcohol Administration Act?  � Yes      � No  
Do you have a License/ Permit issued by your State? � Yes       � No Please attach a copy of current State 
license / Permit with this application.  
 
I hereby acknowledge that shipments made in accordance with Chapter 55 of Title 28-A must be accompanied 
by a shipping label that clearly indicates the name of the direct shipper and the name and address of the 
recipient and that the common carrier shall obtain the signature of a person 21 years of age or older at the 
address listed on the shipping label prior to delivery of the shipment.   
In addition the common carrier shall request photographic identification from the person signing for the 
shipment and verify that the person is 21 years of age or older. 

 
I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper I may not ship a container of wine of less than 750 milliliters and 
may ship no more than 12 cases, each of which may contain no more than 9 liters or an equivalent volume, to 
any one recipient address in a calendar year.   
I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper I may not ship to any address in an area identified by the Division 
of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement as a prohibited shipping area or a local option area. 
I hereby acknowledge that any shipment of wine by a licensed direct shipper shall be made only in containers 
that clearly indicate on the exterior of the container the name of the direct shipper and the name and address of 
the recipient.  Each package to be shipped in accordance with this section so that it conspicuously reads:  

DIVISION USE ONLY 
 

License No.: 
 
Class: 
 
Deposit Date: 
 
Amt. Deposited: 
____________________________________________________ 
CASH  CK  MO:  

 

Direct Shipper Renewal Rev. 1-2017 

mailto:Liquor.Licensing@Maine.gov


“CONTAINS ALCOHOL: SIGNATURE OF A PERSON 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER IS REQUIRED 
FOR DELIVERY.” 
Is applicant a Corporation, Limited Liability Co. or Limited Partnership:  Yes ☐                No ☐    
          (If Yes, complete Corporate Information Required for Business Entities Who Are Licensees) 
Is/Are applicant(s) citizens of the United States?   Yes  ☐                 No  ☐ 

Is/Are applicant(s) residents of the State of Maine?  Yes ☐                       No  ☐ 
 
List name, date of birth and place of birth for all applicants and mangers. Give maiden name if married:  
Name in Full   (Print Clearly)                                                      DOB                            Place of Birth 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................  
Residence address on all of the above for previous 5 years (Limit answer to city & state) 
Name in Full  (Print Clearly)                        Address                           City                  State               
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
 
........................................................................................................................................................................ 
   Use a separate sheet of paper if necessary. 
 
Has applicant(s) or manager(s) ever been convicted of any violation of the law, other than minor traffic violations of  
any State of the United States?    Yes  ☐                  No  ☐ 
 
Name:  ______________________________________________    Date of Conviction:  ________________________ 
 
Offense:  ____________________________________________     Location:  ________________________________ 
 
Disposition:  _________________________________________ (use additional sheet(s) if necessary) 
 
Will any law enforcement official benefit financially either directly or indirectly in our license, if issued?   
       Yes  ☐     No ☐        If  Yes, give name:  _____________________________________________________________ 

Has applicant(s) formerly held a Maine liquor license?     Yes   ☐                No   ☐ 

Does any other person have any interest directly or indirectly in your business?  Yes  ☐                  No  ☐      
If Yes, give details: _________________________________________________________________________________  
Do applicant(s) own the premises?  Yes ☐          No  ☐     If No, give name and address of owner:  _________________ 
 
 
 
 

Direct Shipper Renewal Rev. 1-2017 



Sales Tax Registration and payment required                         Maine Revenue Service  (207) 624-9693 
As a condition of receiving a certificate of approval, a shipper located outside the State shall comply with the  
provisions of Title 36, Part 3, including all requirements relating to registration as a seller and the collection, reporting  
and remittance of the sales and use taxes of this State, and shall agree to be subject to the jurisdiction of the State for  
purposes of the enforcement of those obligations.  
I hereby acknowledge that licensed direct shippers are responsible for remitting gallonage, excise and premium taxes 
quarterly to the Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement as required by the State of Maine. 
I hereby acknowledge that licensed direct shippers shall provide to the Division of Liquor Licensing & Enforcement, upon 
request and under penalty of perjury, a list of any wine shipped to an address within Maine, including the addressee. 
I hereby acknowledge that as a direct shipper, and as a condition of licensure, I am subject to the jurisdiction and              
enforcement authority of the State of Maine for the purposes of enforcement of 28-A ,  M.R.S.A. §1403-A. 
Payments to the Division by check are subject to penalty provided by Section 3-B of Title 28A, MRS.  
NOTE:  “I understand that false statements made on this form are punishable by law.  Knowingly supplying false 
information on this form is a Class D offense under the Criminal Code, punishable by confinement of up to one year or by 
monetary fine of up to $500.00 or by both.” 
 
Dated at:  _____________________________________________  on  _____________________________, 20 ________ 
                                                                    City/Town                                                                                                         Date                                                         Year 
 
____________________________________________                  _____________________________________________ 
Signature(s) of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s)                          Print Name of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s) 
  
____________________________________________                  _____________________________________________ 
  Signature(s) of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s)                          Print Name of Applicant(s) or Corporate Officer(s) 
 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________day of _________________20_______  
 
My Commission Expires ____________________Notary Public __________________________________ 
 
CONSENT TO JURISDICTION AND VENUE  

 
I, _________________________, on behalf of the above listed applicant, hereby consent to jurisdiction and venue of all 
actions brought before the Division of Liquor Licensing and Enforcement, any state agency or the courts of the State of 
Maine, such that any and all hearings, appeals and other matters relating to my direct shipper license, if issued, shall be 
held in the State of Maine.  
 

________________________________  
Signature of Applicant  
 

Subscribed and sworn to before me this ______________day of _________________20_______  
 
My Commission Expires ____________________Notary Public __________________________________ 
 

WARNING:  The statements on this application are made under oath or affirmation. False statements can be grounds 
for the refection of the application or suspension or revocation of permit / license if issued. All data, written statements, 
affidavits, evidence or other documents submitted in support hereof shall be deemed to be a part of this application.  
 

 
 
 
 
 
 
      

For Division Use Only: 
 

☐ Approved ☐ Not Approved Start Date: ____________________________ Issued by: ________________ 

Direct Shipper Renewal Rev. 1-2017 
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