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Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry
Division of Animal and Plant Health
28 State House Station
Augusta, ME 04333
(207) 287-3891
www.maine.gov/dacf/php/horticulture

APPLICATION FOR A LICENSE TO SELL PLANTS  (Renewal___________ or New ____________)

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated (Title 7 MRSA sec.2171) requires that all businesses selling plants, defined as Nursery 

Stock, obtain a license. (See back of application for definitions.)

1. Name of Firm (or Individual):

2. Firm location/Street Address:

Town: County: Zip Code:

3. Name of Proprietor/Manager Location Phone#

4. Town: Zip Code:Mail Address: State:

5. E-Mail address: Website:

6. Address of Branch Offices or Other Sales Locations:
Attach a separate sheet, include address, manager's name, phone # and any other information required on this form.

Each permanent sales location must be licensed.

7. Plant Sales at Your Operation Include:

Wholesale Retail

Check all that apply

AquaticPlants

a.

b.

c.

d.

Plants that I grow Plants that are grown by others

Annuals Bulbs House PlantsFall Mums Perennials Poinsettias Woody Plants

Other (Please Specify)

I am growing and/or selling plants: All Year January February March April May June July

August September October November December

8. Size of Growing Area: Greenhouse Growing Area in Square Feet:

Field Growing Area in Acres: Perennials Woody Plants

9. Sources of Plants: List major suppliers of plant material that are sold, but not produced by your company.

Name Address (minimum town and state) Type of Plants (annuals, woody etc)

Directions to Location (include directions and/or a map):10.

LICENSE FEE: A fee of $25.00,$5.00 or no fee is required for each license issued.(Fee schedule and declaration on back

of application.) Make check payable to TREASURER, STATE OF MAINE and return form to above address.

11. 

Signature: Date:12.



 
 
 

DEFINITIONS 
(Title 7 MRSA Sec 2211) 

 
NURSERY STOCK MEANS: 
 
A.  Woody plants, including ornamental and fruiting trees, shrubs, vines and all                              
viable parts of these plants; 
B. Herbaceous plants, including florist stock plants, annuals, perennials, 
vegetable seedlings, herbs, potted plants and all viable parts of these plants; 
C. Any other plant or plant part designated by the commissioner. 
 
 
 
 

FEE SCHEDULE 
 
 
1.  An applicant who has a nursery stock retail sales area in excess of 150 

square feet or gross annual sales of nursery stock in excess of $500 shall 
pay a license fee of $25 per year. 

 
 
2.  An applicant who has gross annual sales of nursery stock of $500 or less 

and a nursery stock retail sales area of less than 150 square feet shall 
pay a license fee of $5 per year. 

 
 
3.  Educational institutions are exempt from a license fee. 
 
 
 

ANYONE SENDING A $5.00 FEE MUST COMPLETE THE FOLLOWING: 
 
 
I ____________________________ of _________________________ 
                       name                                                    firm 
 
declare and certify to the Commissioner of the Maine Department of Agriculture, 
Conservation and Forestry that my business generates less than  $500.00 
annually from the sale of nursery stock and has a nursery stock retail sales area 
less than 150 square feet. 
 
                               
 
                                                         Signature_________________________ 
 
                                                         Date______________________________ 
 


