
Maine Department of Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry 

ARBORIST TESTING INFORMATION  
 

 

 
“Arborist” means a person who, for compensation, takes 
down or fells, diagnoses or evaluates the condition of 
shade or ornamental trees; solicits, recommends or 
supervises the treatment of those trees; or in any manner 
or for any purpose treats or cares for those trees. 
 
“Takes down or fells” means the cutting for removal of 
any part of a tree by topping of sections or felling the tree 
whole. 
 
“Treats or cares for” means the pruning, trimming and 
shaping of trees when the care requires the person to 
leave the ground.  “Treats or cares for” also includes 
installing lightning protections, cabling or bracing of 
trees. 
 
Laws established by the Maine Department of 
Agriculture, Conservation and Forestry require anyone 
practicing arboriculture in Maine to first obtain a First 
Class Arborist license. 
 
Obtaining a First Class Arborist License in the category 
pertaining to the work being performed (Utility or 
Landscape) is the basic requirement for an individual to 
work independently in the field of arboriculture in Maine. 
 
Testing the knowledge and skills of a prospective arborist 
in either or both of these categories demonstrates a 
person’s capabilities to safely and professionally provide 
services to the public. 
 

The Arborist Apprentice Permit provides an opportunity 
for on-the-job training of new arborists.  It is a training 
permit only and not a license to work independently.  
 

 
 

 
Apprentice: an unlicensed individual working under the 
supervision of a licensed arborist. 
 

First Class Landscape Arborist: an individual licensed 
as an arborist, who is primarily concerned with the 
planting and care of shade or ornamental trees. 
 

First Class Utility Arborist: an individual licensed as 
an arborist who performs arboricultural procedures 
primarily in the proximity of electrical transmission, 
distribution and/or other utility lines. 
 

Master Landscape or Master Utility Arborist:  
an individual who has a minimum of five years of 
experience as a First Class Arborist, has successfully 
completed the Master Arborist examination and holds a 
valid Maine Pesticide Applicator License in category 3A 
– Outdoor Ornamentals.  
 

Your application for examination must be submitted to 
the Division of Animal and Plant Health with a check 
made payable to the “Treasurer, State of Maine” for the 
application and examination fee as well as the fee for the 
study guide. 
 

Fees set by the Department are as follows: 
 

Study Guide:            $45.00 
   

Application & Exam Fees: 
First Class Landscape or Utility                       $ 60.00 
First Class Landscape and Utility                     $ 85.00 
Master Landscape or Utility                      $ 85.00 
Master Landscape and Utility                          $110.00 

Exams often fill up weeks before the exam date. Do not 
delay submitting your application.  When the test 
sessions fill up names will be placed on a waiting list. 
 
EXAMINATION DATE                   
January 13, 2016   
March 9, 2016                               
June 15, 2016                                  
September 14, 2016                  
December 8, 2016  (**date change**)           
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1.  The candidate completes and submits the application 
with the appropriate fees to the Department for eligibility 
to take the exam.  Exam sessions often fill up weeks 
before the actual exam dates listed here.  When the test 
sessions fill up names will be placed on a waiting list. 
 
2.  The Department mails the candidate an examination 
admission letter approximately 2 weeks before the exam. 
 
3.  The candidate takes the exam. 
 
4.  The Department notifies the candidates of scores, 
licensing and re-take information.  

  
The Department will send an admission letter to each 
approved candidate who has paid the correct exam fees 
prior to the deadline.  The admission letter will show the 
name of the exam registered for and the specific date, 
time and location of the exam.   
 
Only pre-registered candidates will be admitted to the 
exam.  No walk-in applicants will be admitted. 
 
Please contact this office prior to the examination date if 
you are unable to attend the exam so that we may 
accommodate people on the waiting list.  

IF YOU DO NOT ATTEND THE EXAMINATION 
ON THE TIME AND DATE LISTED AND DO NOT 
CONTACT US TO RESCHEDULE YOUR EXAM, 
YOU WILL FORFEIT YOUR EXAMINATION FEE.   

If you lose your admission letter, or have not received an 
admission letter 3 days before the exam date, contact the 
Department at (207) 287-3891. 
 

 
 

 
 
If you have questions regarding the arborist licensing 
process please contact the Division of Animal and Plant 
Health at 28 State House Station Augusta Maine 04333 
or by phone at (207) 287-3891. 

 
 
 
There are two parts to the exam; written and oral. 
The written portion of the First Class exams is open 
book.  Books are not permitted during the /oral portion of 
the First Class exams. Master exams are closed book for 
all parts.  The written exams include true or false, 
multiple-choice questions.  The practical/oral portion of 
the exams covers the applicant’s knowledge of the safe 
use of arborist tools and equipment and approved 
arboricultural techniques.  
 
Exam sessions are 3 hours long. 

Your score is based on the number of questions you 
answer correctly.  You will not be given credit for any 
question that has been answered incorrectly, left blank or 
has more than one answer marked.  Be sure to mark an 
answer for each question.  There is no penalty for 
guessing. 
 
Your score will be mailed within 2 weeks after the test 
date.  All scores are mailed at the same time.  The 
minimum score required to pass the First Class exam is 
70%.  The minimum score required to pass the Master 
exam is 75%. 
 
Applicants receiving passing scores will also be sent an 
insurance affidavit and a letter describing the necessary 
license fee. 
 
 
 
YOUR LICENSE WILL NOT BE ISSUED 
IMMEDIATELY AFTER PASSING THE EXAM.   
It could take several weeks before you are licensed  
to work. 

 
To receive your license as quickly as possible return 
your insurance affidavit and appropriate fees ASAP.  
Your license will be issued only after receipt of the 
requested form and payment. 
 
 

The State of Maine has the authority to consider an 
applicant’s criminal history record prior to issuing an 
occupational license.  This is important because the 
general public relies on the state to verify that 
individuals who receive occupational licenses warrant 
the public’s trust and are not a threat to their well-being.  
The Department will conduct random criminal history 
records checks prior to issuing licenses. 
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