STATE OF MAINE
DEPARTMENT OF AGRICULTURE, CONSERVATION & FORESTRY
ANIMAL WELFARE PROGRAM
28 STATE HOUSE STATION

PAUL R. LEPAGE AUGUSTA, MAINE 04333 WALTER E. WHITCOMB
GOVERNOR COMMISSIONER

Animal Shelter Application

A criminal background check is required by law. Please include $25.00 (per owner) in addition to the
$100.00 (license fee). Please make checks payable to Treasurer, State of Maine

Facility Name: Non-Profit ID:

Mailing Address:

Physical Location/Directions:

Facility Phone: Cell Phone: Emergency Phone:

Hours/Days of operation (*Required for inspection purposes):

Owner Name:

First Ml Last Nickname or Maiden Name

Date of Birth: Driver’s License #:

Co-Owner Name:

First MI Last Nickname/Maiden name

Date of Birth: Driver’s License #:

7 8§ 3935. License Prohibited

The department may not issue a license to maintain a boarding kennel, breeding kennel, animal shelter or pet shop to a person
who, within the 10 years previous to the application for the license, has been convicted of murder, a Class A or Class B
offense, a violation under Title 17-A, chapter 9, 11, 12 or 13 or a criminal violation under Title 17, chapter 42, or under a
criminal law involving cruelty to animals that is no longer in effect, or within 10 years previous to the application for the
license, has been adjudicated of a civil violation for cruelty to animals under chapter 739 or has been convicted or adjudicated
in any other state, provincial or federal court of a violation similar to those specified in this section.
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Species of animals your facility will accept:

Shelter Capacity (available year round only):

Reptiles:

Large Animal Shelter Capacity:

Horse stalls:

Dog pens:

Birds:

Cow stall/run-in:

Poultry:

Quarantine Area for New Arrivals

Please describe your plan for isolating all new arrivals/placements:

Three sided run-in:

Pig pen/shelter:

Cat Pens:

Small mammals:

Other:

Will you have an area for rabies quarantine?

Will you accept owner surrender animals?

Will you accept stray animals?

From which municipalities will you contract if so?

Please attach a copy of the shelter’s adoption policy.

Pursuant to 7 8 3913. Procedure for stray dogs

2-B. Adoption policy. Beginning January 1, 2010, to be eligible for reimbursement under subsection 2-A, an

animal shelter must have an adoption policy. An adoption policy must provide for a dog to be available for

adoption for a minimum of 24 hours except as provided in subsection 6. [2009 NEW]

I certify the information given herein to be true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Name (Signature)

If Euthanasia is performed, you must be certified with the Maine Department of Agriculture, Animal and Plant

Health (207)287-3701

Name (Printed)



