
 1 

MAINE TAX ALERT 
A Publication of Maine Revenue Services for Tax Professionals 

 
  Volume 25, Issue 11 November 2015 
  

 
 

2016 Income Tax Withholding Changes 
 
A number of Maine tax law changes were made in 2015 that effect Maine income tax 
withholding in 2016.  This includes the establishment of new taxable income rate brackets of 
5.8%, 6.75% and 7.15%.  Although the 2016 Maine personal exemption amount ($4,050) is the 
same as the federal exemption amount, the Maine basic standard deduction amounts are 
different, increased to $11,600 for single and $23,200 for married individuals filing joint returns.  
In addition, the Maine standard deduction amounts are phased out for single taxpayers with 
Maine income over $70,000 and married taxpayers filing joint returns with Maine income over 
$140,000.  For a complete summary of Maine tax law changes, see 
www.maine.gov/revenue/rules/legischange15.htm. 
 
The percentage method for calculating Maine withholding (see pages six & seven of the 2016 
Maine withholding tables booklet available at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/with/2016.htm) 
and the withholding tables have been adjusted to reflect the law changes.  For example, the 
exemption amount in Step 2 on page six of the booklet has been increased to $4,050 and Step 3 
(previously an adjustment for nonresident aliens) has been replaced with a calculation for the 
phase-out of the standard deduction amounts.  Also note the new tax rate schedules in Step 5 on 
page six and the new Example 3 on page seven. 
 
Employers are encouraged to alert employees of the numerous tax law changes that take effect in 
2016 and provide them opportunity to submit new Forms W-4ME to request a change in the 
Maine withholding amount.  Maine Form W-4ME is available at 
www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/with/2016.htm. 
 
If you have any questions about Maine income tax withholding, please call 207 626-8475 (press 
1, option 4) or email withholding.tax@maine.gov. 
 
 

Sales and Use Tax – Sales Tax Bulletins Revised 
 
The following sales tax bulletins have been revised to reflect legislative changes from the First 
Regular Session of the 127th Maine Legislature. Highlights of these changes can also be found in 
the General Information Bulletin No. 105 issued on September 1, 2015. All bulletins can be 
found at http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/salestax/bulletinssales.htm. 
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Bulletin 9 – Casual and Infrequent Sales 
Bulletin 10 – Retailers of Food Products (previously known as “Grocers”) 
Bulletin 13 – Sales of Fuel and Utilities 
Bulletin 27 – Sales of Prepared Food 
Bulletin 39 – Sale Price Upon Which Tax is Based 
 
In addition to legislative changes, clarifications were made to the following bulletins: 
 
Bulletin 24 – Vehicle Dealers 

 Clarifies that all-terrain vehicles are “automobiles” for sales tax purposes. Short term 
rentals of ATVs are subject to 10% tax and sales of extended warranties on ATVs are 
taxable at 5.5%. 

 Clarifies that the exemption for watercraft sold to nonresidents for removal from Maine 
also includes repair parts incorporated in such watercraft. 

 Clarifies that “temporary storage” with regard to watercraft owned by nonresidents 
includes days while in winter storage and days while being repaired. 

 
Bulletin 32 – Rental of Living Quarters 

 Clarifies that an exemption for an organization does not pass through to its employees. 
 Clarifies that combined room and meals (including continental breakfast) sold for one 

bundled price is taxable at the lodging rental rate. 
 Clarifies that an overnight visitor fee at a campground is taxable while a day visitor fee is 

exempt. 
 Clarifies that complimentary food and drink provided in a hotel lobby is subject to use 

tax to the hotel. 
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2016 Maine Individual Income Tax Rates 
 
Below are the individual income tax rate schedules for tax years beginning in 2016.  The rate schedules 
for 2015 are found at www.maine.gov/revenue/forms/1040/2015/1040_rate_sched_2015.pdf. 

 
Note:  For tax years beginning in 2016, the tax rate brackets are changed to 5.8%, 6.75% and 7.15%.  36 
M.R.S. § 5111, sub-§§ 1-E, 2-E and 3-E.  The Maine standard deduction amount is the amount specified 
in 36 M.R.S. § 5124-B and the personal exemption amount is equal to the federal personal exemption 
amount.  The tax rate brackets, standard deduction and personal exemption amounts are not subject to an 
inflation adjustment for tax year 2016. 
 

Do not use these tax rate schedules to determine income tax withholding from wages. 

Tax Rate Schedule #1 
For Single Individuals and Married Persons Filing Separate Returns 

If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $21,050 5.8% of Maine taxable income 
 $21,050  but less than $37,500  $1,221 plus 6.75% of excess over $21,050 
  $37,500  or more  $ 2,331 plus 7.15% of excess over $37,500 

 
Tax Rate Schedule #2 

For Unmarried or Legally Separated Individuals who Qualify as Heads of Household 
If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $31,550 5.8% of Maine taxable income 
 $31,550  but less than  $56,250 $1,830  plus 6.75% of excess over  $31,550 
 $56,250 or more  $ 3,497 plus 7.15% of excess over  $56,250 

 
Tax Rate Schedule #3 

For Married Individuals and Surviving Spouses Filing Joint Returns 
If the taxable income is: The tax is: 
 Less than $42,100 5.8% of Maine taxable income 
 $42,100  but less than  $75,000 $2,442  plus 6.75% of excess over $42,100 
 $75,000 or more  $4,663  plus 7.15% of excess over $75,000 
 
Personal Exemption: $4,050 

Standard Deduction: Single - $11,600 Married Filing Jointly - $23,200 
 Head of Household - $17,400 Married Filing Separately - $11,600 
 
Additional Amount for Age or Blindness: 
 $1,250 if married (whether filing jointly or separately) or a qualified surviving spouse.  The additional 

amount is $2,500 if one spouse is 65 or over and blind, $2,500* if both spouses are 65 or over, $5,000* 
if both spouses are 65 or over and blind, etc.   

 *If married filing separately, these amounts apply only if you can claim an exemption for your spouse. 
 
 $1,550 if unmarried (single or head of household).  The additional amount is $3,100 if the 
individual is both 65 or over and blind. 
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 

Please contact:  
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 

Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 626-8475 (207) 287-5855 
Central Registration (207) 624-5644 (207) 287-6975 taxregistration@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 624-5625 (207) 287-3618 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel & Special Taxes (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 624-5600 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 


