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Additional Guidance for 2016 Maine Income Tax Withholding 
 
A number of tax law changes were made in 2015 that effect tax years beginning on or after 
January 1, 2016 and 2016 Maine income tax withholding: 
 

• New individual income tax rate brackets 
• Increase in the standard deduction amounts ($11,600 for single taxpayers and $23,200 for 

married taxpayers filing a joint return) 
• Phase-out of the standard deduction amounts for single taxpayers with income of $70,000 

or more and $140,000 or more for married taxpayers filing a joint return. 
 
Nonresident aliens 
 
As a result of Maine decoupling from the federal standard deduction amounts for tax years 
beginning after 2015, an individual filing as a nonresident alien for Maine income tax purposes 
will be allowed to claim the 2016 Maine standard deduction amount for single and married-
filing-separate taxpayers.  In prior years, the Maine standard deduction amount for a nonresident 
alien was zero because of Maine’s conformity to the allowable federal standard deduction 
amounts.  As a result of decoupling, the adjustment in calculating the annual income of a 
nonresident alien for withholding purposes is no longer necessary.  Therefore, the instructions 
related to the nonresident alien income adjustment have been removed from the 2016 Maine 
Withholding Tables booklet.  Consistent with the instructions for Maine Form W-4ME that 
require a nonresident alien taxpayer to check the “single” box in Box 3 regardless of marital 
status, the withholding for a nonresident alien taxpayer should continue to be at the single 
taxpayer rate. 
 
Phase-out of the standard deduction 
 
The withholding tables booklet recently published by MRS contains instructions for utilizing the 
percentage method for calculating Maine income tax withholding.  Because the tax rate 
schedules published in these instructions already factor in the increased standard deduction 
amounts, the amount of the phase-out of the standard deduction must be added back to annual 
income so that the proper withholding amount can be calculated.  The add back in some cases 
will result in a taxable wage base that is higher than the wages earned; however, because the tax 
rate schedules incorporate the full standard deduction amount, the actual tax calculated will 
result in taxation of the appropriate income.  Although the phase-out adjustment may not effect 
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everyone, the phase-out calculation should be completed for all taxpayers, regardless of income.  
The formula for calculating the phase-out amount is as follows: 
 
Single Taxpayers   
 
[(Annual wage amount - $67,150)* / $75,000]** x $11,600  
 
Married Taxpayers 
 
[(Annual wage amount - $137,150)* / $150,000]** x $23,200 
 
*If the result of the calculation is $0 or less, the adjustment is $0.   
 
**If the result of the fraction in the calculation is 1 or more, the adjustment is $11,600 for single 
taxpayers, $23,200 for married taxpayers. 
 
If you have any questions about these changes, please call the withholding tax unit at 207-626-
8475, select option 1 and then option 4, or email withholding.tax@maine.gov. 
 
 

Sales and Use Tax - Sales Tax Bulletins Revised 
(as previously announced via email dated December 4, 2015) 

 
The versions of Bulletin 12 “Retailers of Food Products” and Bulletin 27 “Sales of Prepared 
Food”, effective for January 1, 2016, have been revised. They can be viewed at 
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/salestax/bulletinssales.htm. The following summarizes 
the revisions: 
 

Bulletin 12 
Nuts and seeds that have been processed or treated by salting, spicing, smoking, roasting, or 
other means will become taxable on January 1, 2016. The revised bulletin now draws a bright 
line between unprocessed raw nuts and processed nuts. See pages 4 and 6. All shelled nuts 
will be taxable while nuts in the shell will be exempt except those that have been salted, 
spiced, smoked or roasted. 
 
Bulletin 27 
Section 4 on page 9 explains the exemption for bulk sales of grocery staples with respect to 
those retailers that sell prepared food. This section has been revised to clarify which foods 
prepared by the retailer may qualify for the bulk sale exemption. Please refer to the bulletin 
for details. 

 
For those retailers that participated in MRS’ recent webinar on these topics, the answers to the 
variety of questions raised are now posted as the last bullet on our Sales Tax page. See 
http://www.maine.gov/revenue/salesuse/salestax/salestax.html. 
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This publication is designed to keep taxpayers, tax 
practitioners and the general public informed of 
developments, problems, questions and matters of 
general interest concerning Maine tax law, policy and 
procedure.  The articles in this newsletter are not 
designed to address complex issues in detail, and they 
are not a substitute for Maine tax laws and/or 
regulations. 

Suggestions for the Tax Alert? 
 
Please contact:  
Maine Revenue Services 
PO Box 1060 
Augusta, Maine  04332-1060 

Department Telephone Numbers FAX Numbers E-mail Addresses 
Taxpayer Service Center (207) 626-8475 (207) 287-5855 
Central Registration (207) 624-5644 (207) 287-6975 taxregistration@maine.gov 
Collections & Compliance (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Corporate Tax (207) 624-9670 (207) 624-9694 corporate.tax@maine.gov 
E-file Help Desk (1040 ONLY) (207) 624-9730 (207) 287-6628 efile.helpdesk@maine.gov 
Electronic Funds Transfer (207) 624-5625 (207) 287-3618 efunds.transfer@maine.gov 
Estate & Fiduciary Tax (207) 626-8480 (207) 624-9694 estatetax@maine.gov 
Fuel & Special Taxes (207) 624-9609 (207) 287-6628 fuel.tax@maine.gov 
Forms Request Line (207) 624-7894  
Individual Income Tax Assistance (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 income.tax@maine.gov 
Insurance Premium Tax (207) 624-9753 (207) 624-9694 
NexTalk (TTY Service) (888) 577-6690 
Payment Plan/Income Tax (207) 621-4300 (207) 621-4328 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Payment Plan/Other (207) 624-9595 (207) 287-6627 compliance.tax@maine.gov 
Practitioners’ Hotline (207) 626-8458 (207) 624-9694 
Property Tax (207) 624-5600 (207) 287-6396 prop.tax@maine.gov 
Public Communications (207) 626-8478 (207) 624-9694  
Sales Tax (207) 624-9693 (207) 287-6628 sales.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Clearance Letters (207) 624-9628 (207) 287-6627  
Office of Tax Policy (207) 624-9789 (207) 287-3618 
Taxpayer Advocate (207) 624-9649 (207) 287-3618 taxpayer.advocate@maine.gov 
Withholding Tax (207) 626-8475 (207) 624-9694 withholding.tax@maine.gov 
Tax Violations Hot Line (207) 624-9600 
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