
Instructions
YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS UNLESS:

1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or

2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed $1,000. 

WORKSHEET:

Line 1:  First Payment Tax Estimate.   (35% of either 2015 tax paid or 2016 tax liability) ......................  $

Line 2:   Carryover From Prior Year.   From 2015 Form INS-4, line 21a.  Do not enter more than line 1 .  $

Line 3: Estimated Payment.  Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.  Enter result here and also on estimate          
payment line above.  (Must not be less than zero)  ...................................................................  $   

 

                         

INTEREST & PENALTY:
For calendar year 2016, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater of $25 or 10% of the tax 
due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case the failure-to-fi le penalty 
is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.  The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction 
thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-4
Estimated payments for the 2016 Insurance Premium Tax must be reconciled on the 2016 Maine Form INS-4, due March 15, 2017.  Any fi nal amount due 
must be paid with the return.

FORM INS-1

*1230001*
99  

Due 05/02/2016

.00

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.

The fi rst payment of estimated tax must be at least 35% of the total tax liability 
for either the preceding calendar year or the current year.  

ENCLOSE PAYMENT
              Make check payable to:
              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

.00

.00

.00

Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. 
  See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.

MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR
PREMIUMS  AND/OR  WORKERS’  COMPENSATION  

INSURANCE  TAX

1st Payment 2016,  01/01/16- 03/31/16

Company

Address

*Signature

Name/Title

Telephone

MRS Insurance Premiums Tax      
Account Number  ....................

Estimated Payment
(from worksheet, line 3 below) .........



              Make check payable to:
              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

FORM INS-1

*1230001*
99  

Due 06/27/2016

.00

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.

The second payment of estimated tax must be at least 35% of the total tax 
liability for either the preceding calendar year or the current year.  

ENCLOSE PAYMENT

.00

.00

.00

MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR
PREMIUMS  AND/OR  WORKERS’  COMPENSATION  

INSURANCE  TAX

2nd Payment 2016,  04/01/16- 06/30/16

Instructions
YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS UNLESS:

1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or

2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed $1,000. 

WORKSHEET:

Line 1:  Second Payment Tax Estimate.   (35% of either 2015 tax paid or 2016 tax liability) ......................  $

Line 2:   Carryover From Prior Year.   From 2015 Form INS-4, line 21a.  Do not enter more than line 1 .  $

Line 3: Estimated Payment.  Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.  Enter result here and also on estimate          
payment line above.  (Must not be less than zero)  ...................................................................  $   

 

                         

INTEREST & PENALTY:
For calendar year 2016, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater of $25 or 10% of the tax 
due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case the failure-to-fi le penalty 
is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.  The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction 
thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-4
Estimated payments for the 2016 Insurance Premium Tax must be reconciled on the 2016 Maine Form INS-4, due March 15, 2017.  Any fi nal amount due 
must be paid with the return.

Company

Address

*Signature

Name/Title

Telephone

MRS Insurance Premiums Tax      
Account Number  ....................

Estimated Payment
(from worksheet, line 3 below) .........

Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. 
  See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.



FORM INS-1

*1230001*
99  

Due 10/31/2016

.00

 *Must be signed by President, Treasurer, Secretary, Chief 
Accounting Offi cer, or Attorney-in-Fact of a Reciprocal Insurer.

The third payment of estimated tax must be at least 15% of the total tax liability 
for either the preceding calendar year or the current year.  

ENCLOSE PAYMENT
              Make check payable to:
              Treasurer, State of Maine
Mail To : Maine Revenue Services 
                P.O. Box 1065
                Augusta, ME  04332-1065

.00

.00

.00

MAINE ESTIMATED PAYMENT FOR
PREMIUMS  AND/OR  WORKERS’  COMPENSATION  

INSURANCE  TAX

3rd Payment 2016,  07/01/16- 09/30/16

Instructions
YOU MUST MAKE ESTIMATED PAYMENTS UNLESS:

1. You are a Risk Retention Group, or

2. Your annual tax obligation does not exceed $1,000. 

WORKSHEET:

Line 1:  Third Payment Tax Estimate.   (15% of either 2015 tax paid or 2016 tax liability) ......................  $

Line 2:   Carryover From Prior Year.   From 2015 Form INS-4, line 21a.  Do not enter more than line 1 .  $

Line 3: Estimated Payment.  Subtract Line 2 from Line 1.  Enter result here and also on estimate          
payment line above.  (Must not be less than zero)  ...................................................................  $   

 

                         

INTEREST & PENALTY:
For calendar year 2016, the interest rate is 7%, compounded monthly.  The penalty for failure to fi le a return on time is the greater of $25 or 10% of the tax 
due, unless the return is fi led more than 60 days after the receipt of a demand notice from the state tax assessor, in which case the failure-to-fi le penalty 
is the greater of $25 or 25% of the tax due.  The penalty for failure to pay a tax liability timely is 1% of the outstanding liability for each month or fraction 
thereof during which the failure continues, to a maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.

Form INS-4
Estimated payments for the 2016 Insurance Premium Tax must be reconciled on the 2016 Maine Form INS-4, due March 15, 2017.  Any fi nal amount due 
must be paid with the return.

Company

Address

*Signature

Name/Title

Telephone

MRS Insurance Premiums Tax      
Account Number  ....................

Estimated Payment
(from worksheet, line 3 below) .........

Note:  Certain taxpayers with large annual tax liabilities are required to remit tax payments electronically. 
  See MRS Rule 102 on the MRS web site (www.maine.gov/revenue, select Laws & Rules) for details.


