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All financial institutions with Maine net income or Maine assets are subject to Maine’s franchise tax, even if
the institution is established as a partnership, S corporation or entity disregarded as separate from its owner.
Owners of financial institutions subject to franchise tax requirements will not also be taxed on that income
for individual or corporate purposes.

MAINE ADOPTS AUTOMATIC PAPERLESS EXTENSION POLICY.  Maine extension request Form 4477ME has been eliminated.  The Maine
corporate extension period for filing the return is equal to the federal extension period plus 30 days.  This extension is automatic and no form or written
request is required to obtain it.  (For more information, see item 3 on page 2).

For DOWNLOADABLE FORMS, visit our Web site: http://janus.state.me.us/revenue

MUTUAL FUND SERVICE PROVIDERS:  APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME.  Mutual fund service providers may elect to apportion income to
Maine using a sales-only formula.  Under current law, taxable corporations (excluding financial institutions) apportion income to Maine on the basis of
property, payroll and sales.  An election by a mutual fund service provider is irrevocable for 5 years.  In the case of unitary businesses, the electing
service provider is not required to file combined reports or to be included in a combined report.  This election is not available to financial institutions
taxable under the Maine Franchise Tax law.  Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5212.

DEFINITION OF “CORPORATION.”  The definition of corporation is clarified to exclude federally taxable corporations subject to, or “that would
be subject to,” the insurance premiums tax imposed by 36 M.R.S.A. §§ 2512-2526.  The definition of corporation also excludes financial institutions
subject to the Maine Franchise Tax and certain corporate small business investment companies.  Effective April 14, 2000.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5102(6).

FAMILY DEVELOPMENT ACCOUNT CREDIT.  Individuals whose family income is below 200% of the poverty level may open a family develop-
ment account in connection with an approved community development organization.  Use of the funds includes educational expenses, home and auto
purchases or repairs, emergency expenses for basic needs, capital to start a business, and health care costs.  Accounts are funded by deposits made by
family members participating in the program and matching funds from community development organizations.  Deposits to the fund are not exempt
from tax; however, withdrawals (both principal and interest) are exempt from Maine income tax.  10 M.R.S.A. § 1077(4).
     New legislation provides a credit to contributors to family development matching fund accounts.  The credit per tax return is equal to the lesser of
$25,000 or 50% of the amount contributed.  The credit is limited to the tax liability on the return and must be taken after the allowance of all other
credits.  Maine itemized deductions must exclude any contributions claimed for this credit.  The aggregate allowable credit amount in a state fiscal year
is limited to $200,000.  The Finance Authority of Maine is required to certify to Maine Revenue Services the allowable credit for each contributor.  The
credit applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-C.

EMPLOYER-PROVIDED LONG-TERM CARE CREDIT.  For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, employers are eligible for the
Employer-Provided Long-Term Care credit if the policy on which premiums are paid meets the federal definition of a qualified long-term care insurance
contract. Premiums paid on long-term care insurance policies previously certified by the Bureau of Insurance as being eligible for this credit will
continue to be eligible even if the policy does not meet the federal definition for a qualified long-term care insurance contract.  Premiums claimed as
Maine itemized deductions may not be used as a basis for this credit.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5217-C.

HISTORIC REHABILITATION CREDIT.  A taxpayer is allowed a credit equal to the amount of the federal credit (including amounts carried over to
the tax year for federal income tax purposes) for rehabilitation of certified historic structures located in Maine.  The credit is nonrefundable and is
limited to $100,000 annually per taxpayer.  The credit is subject to the same recapture provisions as under the IRC.  The credit applies to tax years
beginning on or after January 1, 2000.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-R.

APPORTIONMENT:  VALUATION OF RENTAL PROPERTY.  The value of rental property for purposes of apportioning income to Maine is now
8 times the annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer.  Previously, the value of rental property was 8 times the net annual rental rate paid by the taxpayer,
taking into consideration rent received from sub-rentals.  Effective April 14, 2000 and applies to all open tax periods.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5211(10).

SAWMILL BIOMASS CREDIT.  A taxpayer that produces merchantable lumber or secondary wood products may claim a credit of up to $6 per ton of
the wood processing residue by-product (bark, sawdust, shavings and wood chips) that is transported to a qualifying facility.  A qualifying facility is one
that uses the residue to generate electricity, industrial heat or steam; for landscaping mulch or soil amendment (but not for landfill); for composting of
sewer sludge; to create medium density fiberboard, resin adhesives or other building products; or, to convert the wood by-product to ethanol or other
forms of fuel.  A taxpayer that includes, owns or is affiliated with a qualifying facility is not eligible for the credit.  The allowable credit is determined by
the number of miles the wood processing residue is transported by the taxpayer to a qualifying facility.  The credit amount must be reduced by amounts
received for the wood processing residue.  The credit is limited to the tax liability of the taxpayer and may not exceed $500,000 in the aggregate for all
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taxpayers.  The credit applies to deliveries made from July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-S.  Call 207-624-7894 to request a
sawmill biomass credit application.

MAINE SEED CAPITAL CREDIT.  The credit amount increases from 30% to 40% for credit certificates issued prior to July 1, 2001 for investments
made after August 11, 2000.  The new law clarifies that the owners of flow-through entities (partnerships, S corps, LLCs, nontaxable trusts, etc.) are
considered the investors for investments made by the flow-through entity in private venture capital funds.  Credit certificates are subject to certain
eligibility requirements.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-B (2).

QUALITY CHILD CARE CREDITS.  The Employer-Assisted Day Care Credit (36 M.R.S.A. § 5217) and the Individual Credit for Child Care
Expenses (36 M.R.S.A. § 5218) double if the day care provided constitutes “quality child care” as defined in 36 M.R.S.A. 5219-Q(1).  For quality child
care services, the Individual Credit for Child Care Expenses is refundable up to $500.  Additionally, individual taxpayers who invest at least $10,000 in
quality child care services qualify for the Quality Child Care Investment Credit (36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-Q).  The credit is equal to $1,000 each year for 10
years plus $10,000 at the end of the 10-year period.  Corporation taxpayers qualify for a credit equal to 30% of up to $30,000 in eligible expenditures.
The credit is nonrefundable.  Carryforward provisions apply.  Applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2001,

OVERPAYMENTS CREDITED TO FUTURE TAX YEARS.  Effective January 1, 2001, Maine Revenue Services will offset tax overpayments
designated to be carried forward in order to satisfy an existing debt with the bureau or other agency.

MAINE SALES AND USE TAX.  Taxable items bought from out-of-state sellers that do not collect Maine sales tax are subject to a “use” tax.  For
purchases between January 1, 2000 and June 30, 2000, the use tax equals 5.5% of the purchase price where no sales tax has been paid.  Beginning July 1,
2000 the applicable use tax rate is lowered to 5%.

1.  FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS SUBJECT TO FRANCHISE TAX:
Every financial institution that had Maine net income or Maine assets dur-
ing the taxable year must file Form 1120B-ME and pay Maine franchise
tax, even if the institution is established as a partnership, S corporation
or entity disregarded as separate from its owner.  “Financial institution”
means a bank, bank holding company, thrift institution, savings association,
insured institution, savings bank holding company, qualified savings bank,
insured depository institution, appropriate federal banking agency or quali-
fied family partnership (as defined in the Bank Holding Company Act of
1956, 12 U.S. Code § 1841), or any other financial institution (except a
credit union) authorized to do business in Maine as defined in M.R.S.A.
Title 9-B, § 131(17-A).  “Financial institution” includes any corporation of
which more than 50% of the voting stock is owned, directly or indirectly, by
a financial institution or by a credit union as defined in 9-B M.R.S.A. § 131.

2.  DATE FOR FILING RETURN:  Financial institutions reporting for
calendar year 2000 are required to file with payment on or before March 15,
2001.  Fiscal year taxpayers should file with payment on or before the 15th
day of the third month following the close of the taxable year.

3.  EXTENSIONS FOR FILING:  A State of Maine extension request
form is no longer required.  If you are unable to file your return by the
original due date of the return, Maine allows an automatic seventh-month
extension of time to file.  Caution:  An extension to file your Maine re-
turn is not an extension for payment of tax.  If you owe money, you must
pay at least 90% of that amount by the original due date for filing your
return in order to avoid the penalty for late payment of tax.  The remaining
10% must be paid when the return is filed by the extended due date in order
to avoid the failure to pay penalty.  However, interest is charged on any tax
paid after the original due date of your return.

Remit your estimated tax payment with the payment voucher
(available through the phone number or Web site in paragraph 4 below) by
the original due date for filing your Maine return to:  Maine Revenue Ser-
vices, P.O. Box 1062, Augusta, ME 04332-1062.

4.  PAYMENT OF FRANCHISE TAX:  All financial institutions are re-
quired to pay estimated tax if the Maine franchise tax liability for the tax-
able year can reasonably be expected to be $1,000 or more.  See instructions
for Form 1120ES-ME for details.  Form 1120ES-ME vouchers and instruc-
tions may be ordered by calling 207-624-7894 or downloaded from Maine
Revenue Services’ Web site at http://janus.state.me.us/revenue.

5.  INTEREST:   Interest at 9% per annum, compounded monthly, will be
added to any balance of tax due from the due date of payment and should be
included with any payments.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
6.  PENALTIES:  a.  Underpayment of estimated tax.  This penalty may
be assessed if the quarterly estimated tax payments are not at least equal to
the lesser of the previous year’s Maine franchise tax liability (if it was a 12-
month year) or ninety percent (90%) of the tax liability for the current tax
year.  Large corporations, as defined by IRC § 6655(g)(2)(A), cannot utilize
their previous year’s tax liability in determining the required amount of es-
timated tax payments.

b.  Late filing and late payment penalties.  If a past-due return
is filed either before the receipt, or within 30 days of the receipt, of a de-
mand notice, the penalty for failure to file is the greater of $25 or 10% of the
amount of tax due.  If the return is filed more than 30 days after the receipt
of a demand notice, the failure to file penalty becomes 100% of the tax
otherwise due.

For failure to pay a tax liability timely, the penalty is 1% of the
outstanding tax liability for each month the payment is delinquent, up to a
maximum of 25% of the outstanding liability.  You must pay at least 90% of
your tax liability by the due date for filing your return (March 15, 2001 for
calendar-year filers) in order to avoid the penalty for late payment of tax.

7.  ACCOUNTING PERIOD COVERED BY RETURN:  Form 1120B-
ME will cover the same period as the equivalent federal return.

8.  ACCOUNTING METHODS:   A taxpayer’s method of accounting for
Maine franchise tax purposes must be the same as the method of accounting
for federal income tax purposes.

9.  FEDERAL RETURN MUST ACCOMPANY STATE RETURN:
Maine franchise tax return, Form 1120B-ME, must be accompanied by a
legible copy of pages 1 through 4 of the financial institution’s federal return
for the same taxable period.  You are not required to provide Maine with
copies of supporting schedules attached to the federal form filed with the
Internal Revenue Service unless specifically requested.

10.  FEDERAL AUDIT CHANGES AND AMENDED RETURNS:  All
taxpayers must file an amended Maine return for any change or correction
by the Internal Revenue Service in taxable income or assets as reported on
the federal return within 90 days after final determination of such change or
correction.  Attach a copy of the Internal Revenue agent’s report to your
amended Maine return.

Any financial institution filing an amended federal income tax
return must, within 90 days, file an amended Maine franchise tax return and
attach a copy of the federal amended return.

Generally, an amended Maine franchise tax return is required to
correct errors that affect the Maine tax liability on a previously filed return.
The amended return must be filed within 90 days of the discovery of the
error.
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Maine Revenue Services does not provide a form for amended
franchise tax returns.  Use Form 1120B-ME for the year(s) you are amend-
ing and check the box marked “check here if amended” in the upper left
corner of the form.

11.  COMBINED REPORTS:   A financial institution that is a member of
an affiliated group and operates in a unitary fashion must file a combined
report.

Maine law defines affiliated group to mean a group of two or
more entities in which more than 50% of the voting interest of each member
financial institution is directly or indirectly owned by a common owner or
owners, either corporate or noncorporate, or by one or more of the member
financial institutions.  Unitary is defined as a business activity that is char-
acterized by unity of ownership, functional integration, centralization of
management or economies of scale.

The State of Maine apportionment formula is used to apportion
net income of multi-state institutions.  This formula adopts many features
of the financial institution apportionment formula recommended by the
Multistate Tax Commission and is designed to reflect how financial institu-
tions earn income more accurately than the corporate income tax apportion-
ment formula.

The law provides that the apportionment formula is also used to
compute Maine assets from the total end-of-year assets of the financial in-
stitution.

12.  SCHEDULE CBB:  Any financial institution that is part of an affili-
ated group is required to file Schedule CBB.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS
Line 1a.  Net Income Per Books:   Enter net income per books from federal
Form 1120, 1120S or 1065.

Line 1b.  Maine Net Income:  Financial institutions that are not part of an
affiliated-unitary group and have income solely from activity within Maine
must enter here the same amount as on line 1a.  Financial institutions that
are members of an affiliated-unitary group must file a combined report.  A
financial institution that is taxable both in and outside Maine shall appor-
tion its net income by completing Schedule A on page 2 of Form 1120B-
ME.  The instructions for Schedule A are on page 2 of Form 1120B-ME.
See paragraph 11 of the General Instructions above and instructions on Sched-
ule CBB.

Line 2a.  Total End-of-year Assets:  Enter total end-of-year assets from
federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065.

Line 2b.  Maine Assets:  Financial institutions that are not part of an affili-
ated-unitary group and have income solely from activity within Maine must
enter here the same amount as on line 2a.  Financial institutions that are
members of an affiliated-unitary group must file a combined report.  A fi-
nancial institution that is taxable both in and outside Maine shall apportion
its assets by completing Schedule A on page 2 of Form 1120B-ME.  The
instructions for Schedule A are on page 2 of Form 1120B-ME.  See para-
graph 11 of the General Instructions above and instructions on Schedule
CBB.

Line 3a.  Tax on Maine Net Income:  The tax rate on income is $10 per
$1,000 (1%) of Maine net income as listed on line 1b.

Line 3b.  Tax on Assets:  The franchise tax rate on assets is 8 cents (8¢) per
$1,000 (0.008%) of assets as listed on line 2b.

Lines 4a, b, c:  These lines are for entities that made estimated tax pay-
ments and deposits with an extension voucher, and for those taxpayers fil-
ing amended returns and claiming credit for tax paid with original return.

Line 4d.  Net Operating Loss Credit:   A credit is allowed against the
franchise tax on assets in the case of a taxable entity that sustains a book net
operating loss.  The credit is computed by multiplying the book net operat-
ing loss by the franchise tax rate on income (0.01).  The total amount of the
credit allowed shall not exceed the franchise tax on assets as listed on line
3b.  In any tax year in which there is an excess credit, the excess credit shall
be carried over for no more than the next five (5) tax years and can be
applied against the total tax as listed on line 3c.  If you are carrying over an
excess credit from a previous year, attach a carryover schedule to support
your entry.

Line 4e.  Other Credits:  Following is a list of allowable tax credits.  Enter
the total amount being claimed on line 4e and attach a schedule of support-

ing detail.  Note: The total amount claimed cannot exceed the tax amount
on line 3c.

Jobs and Investment Tax Credit:  Eligibility for this credit requires the
addition of $5 million of IRC § 38 property based on the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, as of December 31, 1985, § 38(b)(1), and 100 new jobs in
the 24-month period following the date the property was placed in service.
Jobs created between August 1, 1998 and October 1, 2001 must be
covered by qualified retirement and health insurance plans and wages
must be greater than the average per capita income in the labor mar-
ket area in which the employee is employed.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5215.

Seed Capital Investment Tax Credit:  The Finance Authority of Maine
(FAME) administers this program.  FAME issues a tax credit certificate
after verifying the eligibility of the investor.  The taxpayer must enclose a
copy of this certificate with Form 1120B-ME when requesting a tax credit
under this program.  The credit is limited to 50% of franchise tax otherwise
due.  The credit amount increases from 30% to 40% for credit certificates
issued prior to July 1, 2001 for investments made after August 11, 2000.
The new law clarifies that the owners of flow-through entities (partnerships,
S corps, LLCs, nontaxable trusts, etc.) are considered the investors for in-
vestments made by the flow-through entity in private venture capital funds.
Credit certificates are subject to certain eligibility requirements.  36 M.R.S.A.
§ 5216-B).

Employer-Assisted Day Care Tax Credit:  A taxpayer constituting an
employing unit is allowed a credit for providing or paying day care expenses
of employees.  The tax credit is limited to the lowest of $5,000, 20% of the
cost incurred or $100 for each child of an employee of the taxpayer enrolled
on a full-time basis.  Carryover provisions apply.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5217.

Employer-Provided Long-Term Care Benefits Credit:  A taxpayer con-
stituting an employing unit is allowed a credit against tax for providing
employees with long-term care insurance coverage.  The tax credit is limited
to the lowest of $5,000, 20% of the costs incurred or $100 for each em-
ployee provided with a long-term care policy.  Carryover provisions apply.
For tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2000, employers are eligible
for the employer-provided long-term care credit if the policy on which pre-
miums are paid meets the federal definition of a qualified long-term care
insurance contract. Premiums paid on long-term care insurance policies pre-
viously certified by the Bureau of Insurance as being eligible for this credit
will continue to be eligible even if the policy does not meet the federal defi-
nition for a qualified long-term care insurance contract.  36 M.R.S.A. §
5217-C).

Solid Waste Reduction Investment Tax Credit:  Taxpayers can claim a
credit on solid waste reduction, reuse or recycling machinery and equipment
certified as eligible for the credit by the State Planning Office.  The credit is
the amount certified by the State Planning Office and applies to machinery



SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS CONTINUED
and equipment placed into service from January 1, 1990 to June 30, 1991 or
January 1, 1993 to June 30, 1995.  Carryover of any unused credit must be
used by December 31, 2004.  The taxpayer must attach a copy of the eligi-
bility certificate in order to claim the credit.  Recapture provisions apply on
the early disposal of machinery and equipment for which a credit has been
claimed.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-D.

Machinery and Equipment Investment Tax Credit:   Machinery and equip-
ment placed into service prior to January 1, 1989 and after April 1, 1996
does not qualify for the Machinery and Equipment Investment Tax Credit.
The credit is equal to 1% of the investment credit base of the taxpayer.
Machinery and equipment on which property taxes are reimbursed pursuant
to 36 M.R.S.A. §§ 6651-6660 are not eligible for the investment tax credit
for that taxable year (applicable to tax years ending on or after July 1, 1997).
The credit is limited to 100% of the first $25,000 of tax liability plus 75%
of any liability that exceeds $25,000.  Carryover provisions apply.  The 12-
year reimbursement period under the Business Equipment Tax Reimburse-
ment Program must be reduced one year for every year the qualified equip-
ment was included in the Investment Tax Credit base.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-
E.

Research Expense Tax Credit:  The credit is 5% of qualified research
expenses incurred during the taxable year that exceed the average qualified
research expense for the previous 3 tax years, plus 7.5% of the basic re-
search payments determined pursuant to IRC § 41(e)(1)(A).  Only expendi-
tures for research conducted in Maine qualify for the credit.  The term “quali-
fied research” is defined in IRC § 41(d).  The credit is limited to the first
$25,000 of tax liability before credits plus 75% of the tax liability that ex-
ceeds $25,000.  Carryover provisions apply.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-K.

Super Research & Development Credit:  Businesses whose Maine re-
search expenses increase by more than 50% over the average research ex-
penses incurred in the 3 years immediately preceding the effective date of
the credit qualify for the credit.  The credit is equal to the excess over 150%
of the 3-year average.  The credit is limited to 50% of the net income tax due
after other credits and may not reduce the tax liability below the liability of
the previous year.  Maine net income must be increased by the amount of the
investment credit base also claimed as a business expense for federal in-
come tax purposes.  Carryover provisions apply.  The credit applies to tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 1998.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-L.

High-Technology Investment Tax Credit:  Entities engaged primarily in
high-tech activities are eligible for this credit.  The credit is equal to the
adjusted basis of eligible equipment on the date that equipment is placed in
service in Maine, net of any lease payments received during the year.  Les-
sors may claim the credit only if the lessee waives its entitlement to the
credit.  The credit may not reduce current year’s tax liability below the li-
ability of the previous year after the allowance of all other credits.  Carryover
provisions apply.  The credit applies to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 1998.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-M.

Credit for Dependent Health Benefits Paid:   Employers that offer a quali-
fied health benefit plan and that employ fewer than 5 low-income employ-
ees may qualify for this credit.  The credit is equal to the lesser of 20% of the
dependent health benefits paid by the employer or $125 per employee with
dependent health benefits coverage.  A taxpayer that employs 5 or more
low-income employees after qualifying for the credit may continue to qualify
for the credit for another 2 years.  Otherwise, a taxpayer may claim a credit
only for those periods during which the employer:  1) offers a qualified
health benefit plan that is made available to all of its low-income employ-
ees; 2)  pays at least 80% of the health insurance costs for each low-income
employee under the plan; and 3)  pays at least 60% of the cost of dependent
health insurance benefits for children under 19 who are dependents of a
low-income employee under the plan.  The credit is limited to 50% of the
income tax due.  Any unused credit may be carried over for 2 years.  The
credit applies to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 1999.  36
M.R.S.A. § 5219-O.

Clean Fuel Credit:  The credit is based on the expenditures paid or in-
curred for construction, installation of or improvements to any filling sta-
tion or charging station for the purpose of providing clean fuels to the gen-
eral public for use in motor vehicles.  Clean fuel is defined as any product or
energy source other than conventional gasoline, diesel or reformulated gaso-
line, that lower emissions of certain pollutants.  Clean fuel includes, but is
not limited to, compressed natural gas, liquefied natural gas, liquefied pe-
troleum gas, hydrogen, hythane, dynamic flywheels, solar energy, alcohol
fuels and electricity.  The credit applies to expenditures incurred on or
after January 1, 1999 and automatically expires January 1, 2006.  36
M.R.S.A. § 5219-P.

Family Development Account Credit:  Individuals whose family income
is below 200% of the poverty level may open a family development
account in connection with an approved community development
organization.  Use of the funds includes educational expenses, home and
auto purchases or repairs, emergency expenses for basic needs, capital to
start a business, and health care costs.  Accounts are funded by deposits
made by family members participating in the program and matching funds
from community development organizations.  Deposits to the fund are not
exempt from tax; however, withdrawals (both principal and interest) are
exempt from Maine income tax.  10 M.R.S.A. § 1077(4).
     New legislation provides a credit to contributors to family development
matching fund accounts.  The credit per tax return is equal to the lesser of
$25,000 or 50% of the amount contributed.  The credit is limited to the
tax liability on the return and must be taken after the allowance of all
other credits.  Maine itemized deductions must exclude any contributions
claimed for this credit.  The aggregate allowable credit amount in a state
fiscal year is limited to $200,000.  The Finance Authority of Maine is
required to certify to Maine Revenue Services the allowable credit for
each contributor.  The credit applies to tax years beginning on or after
January 1, 2000.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5216-C.

Historic Rehabilitation Credit:  A taxpayer is allowed a credit equal to
the amount of the federal credit (including amounts carried over to the tax
year for federal income tax purposes) for rehabilitation of certified
historic structures located in Maine.  The credit is nonrefundable and is
limited to $100,000 annually per taxpayer.  The credit is subject to the
same recapture provisions as under the IRC.  The credit applies to tax
years beginning on or after January 1, 2000.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-R.

Sawmill Biomass Credit:   This credit may not be claimed on line 4e.
Call 207-624-7894 to request a sawmill biomass credit application.  A
taxpayer that produces merchantable lumber or secondary wood products
may claim a credit of up to $6 per ton of the wood processing residue by-
product (bark, sawdust, shavings and wood chips) that is transported to a
qualifying facility.  A qualifying facility is one that uses the residue to
generate electricity, industrial heat or steam; for landscaping mulch or soil
amendment (but not for landfill); for composting of sewer sludge; to
create medium density fiberboard, resin adhesives or other building
products; or, to convert the wood by-product to ethanol or other forms of
fuel.  A taxpayer that includes, owns or is affiliated with a qualifying
facility is not eligible for the credit.  The allowable credit is determined by
the number of miles the wood processing residue is transported by the
taxpayer to a qualifying facility.  The credit amount must be reduced by
amounts received for the wood processing residue.  The credit is limited to
the tax liability of the taxpayer and may not exceed $500,000 in the
aggregate for all taxpayers.  The credit applies to deliveries made from
July 1, 2000 to June 30, 2001.  36 M.R.S.A. § 5219-S.

Line 5b.  Underpayment Penalty:  If the financial institution underpaid
estimated tax, attach Form 2220ME.

Line 7a.  Credited:  Use this line only if you elect to have all or a portion of
the overpayment on line 6 credited to your next year’s estimated Maine
franchise tax.

Line 7b.  Refunded:  Enter here the difference between lines 6 and 7a.
Refunds of $1.00 or more will be mailed to you.
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Name Federal Employer ID No.

Address Business Code State of
Incorporation

City State ZIP Code

Contact Person First Name Last Name Phone Number

Check Here if Combined Return
and Include Schedule CBB Parent’s Federal Employer ID No.

Principal Place of Activity in Maine City where Records are Maintained State

For calendar year 2000 or tax year beginning in 2000

  00    TO
MM DD MM DD YY

  1. MAINE NET INCOME:

a.  NET INCOME PER BOOKS (From federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065) ..........................................................................1a

b.  MAINE NET INCOME (From line 1a above or page 2, Schedule A, line 13) ....................................................................1b

  2. ASSETS:

a.  TOTAL END-OF-YEAR ASSETS (From federal Form 1120, 1120S or 1065) ............................................................................ 2a

b.  MAINE ASSETS (From line 2a above or page 2, Schedule A, line 15) .........................................................................................2b

  3. TAX:

a.  TAX ON MAINE NET INCOME (Not less than zero) line 1b x 0.01 ........................................................................................... 3a

b.  TAX ON ASSETS - line 2b x 0.00008 ............................................................................................................................................3b

c.  TOTAL TAX (Add lines 3a and 3b) ................................................................................................................................................ 3c

  4. CREDITS:

a.  ESTIMATED TAX PAID ................................................................................................................................................................. 4a

b.  DEPOSIT WITH EXTENSION VOUCHER ............................................................................................................................4b

c.  PAID WITH ORIGINAL RETURN ............................................................................................................................................4c

d.  NET OPERATING LOSS CREDIT (See instructions) ............................................................................................................4d

e.  OTHER CREDITS (See instructions) ........................................................................................................................................4e

f.  TOTAL CREDITS (Add lines 4a through 4e) ........................................................................................................................... 4f

  5. a.  IF LINE 3c IS GREATER THAN LINE 4f, ENTER TAX BALANCE DUE .....................................................................5a

b.  ENTER PENALTY for Underpayment of Estimated Tax (Attach Form 2220ME) ...........................................................5b

c.  TOTAL AMOUNT DUE (Add lines 5a and 5b).  PAY IN FULL WITH RETURN .......................................................5c

     (Make check payable to Treasurer, State of Maine)

MAINE FRANCHISE TAX RETURN
FOR FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS 000841000

FORM 1120B-ME
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Return continued on page 2

Check here if amended
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Do not complete this schedule if 100% of your business activity is apportionable to Maine.
All others must complete this schedule and enter amounts in Columns A and B, even if those amounts are zero.

If this schedule is left blank or excluded, your Maine apportionment factor will be set at 100%.  Round all dollar amounts to whole numbers.

____________________ ________________________________ ___________________________
   DATE SIGNATURE OF OFFICER    TITLE

________________________________ _____________________________________________________ ___________________________________________
   DATE  INDIVIDUAL OR FIRM SIGNATURE OF PREPARER    PREPARER’S FEDERAL IDENTIFICATION NUMBER

000841100
000841100

FORM 1120B-ME, Page 2

  6. OVERPAYMENT:  If line 4f, page 1 is greater than line 3c, page 1, enter overpayment ................................................... 6

  7. Amount on line 6 to be:

a.  CREDITED to Next Year’s Estimated Tax .......................................................................................................................... 7a

b.  REFUNDED ............................................................................................................................................................................. 7b
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.00

.00

.00

  8.  GROSS
       RECEIPTS x .50 = 0.

  9.  PAYROLL x .25 = 0.
10.  TOTAL
       PROPERTY x .25 = 0.

11.  MAINE APPORTIONMENT FACTOR  - Sum of lines 8, 9 and 10, Column (C) ......................................................................................................................11 0.

12.  NET INCOME PER BOOKS (Page 1, line 1a) .........................................................................................................................12

13.  INCOME APPORTIONED TO MAINE (line 12 x line 11 factor).  Enter here and on page 1, line 1b .........................13

14.  TOTAL END OF YEAR ASSETS (page 1, line 2a) ..................................................................................................................14

15.  ASSETS APPORTIONED TO MAINE (line 14 x line 11 factor).  Enter here and on page 1, line 2b ............................15

SCHEDULE A - APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME

(A) (B) (C)
Maine Factors

Col. (A) divided by Col. (B)
Within x Statutory Weighting
Maine Everywhere Rounded to 6 Decimals
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, , ,

, , ,

, , ,

, , ,

+

+

+

If one factor is excludable from the apportionment formula, the weighting of the two remaining factors must be changed.  A factor is excludable only if both the numerator and
denominator are zero, but is not excludable merely because the numerator is zero.  When excluding the sales factor, change the weight of the payroll and property factors to 50% (0.5)
each.  When excluding either the payroll or property factor, change the weight of the sales factor to 66.67% (0.6667) and the weight of the remaining factor to 33.33% (0.3333).  If two
factors are excludable from the apportionment formula, change the weight of the remaining factor to 100%.  If you are excluding any factors, attach a schedule detailing the factors used
and the apportionment computation.  If the total of 8(C), 9(C) and 10(C) does not equal the amount you enter on line 11, your tax liability will not compute accurately.
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Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this return and accompanying schedules and statements and to the best of my knowledge and belief they are true,
correct and complete.  Declaration of preparer (other than taxpayer) is based on all information of which preparer has any knowledge.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS
Schedule A is for financial institutions taxable both in and outside Maine.  To the extent that a financial institution derives its income from a unitary business carried on by
2 or more members of an affiliated group, Maine net income is determined by apportioning that part of the net income of the entire group that derives from the unitary
business.  Maine employs a three-factor formula to determine income apportioned to Maine by the filing entity.

SPECIFIC INSTRUCTIONS:

Line 8.  Receipts Factor:  The receipts factor is a fraction.  The numerator is the Maine gross receipts of the taxpayer during the tax period.  The denominator is the gross
receipts of the taxpayer everywhere during the tax period.

Line 9.  Payroll Factor:  The payroll factor is a fraction.  The numerator is the total amount of compensation paid by the taxpayer in Maine during the tax period, and the
denominator is the total compensation paid everywhere by the taxpayer during the tax period.

Line 10.  Property Factor:  The property factor is a fraction.  The numerator is the average value of the taxpayer’s real and tangible personal property owned or rented in
Maine plus loans and credit card receivables located in Maine during the tax period, and the denominator is the average value of such property everywhere during the tax
period.

Property rented by the taxpayer is valued at 8 times the annual rental rate.  Loans and credit card receivables are valued at outstanding principal, without regard
to any reserve for bad debt.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR SCHEDULE A, FORM 1120B-ME APPORTIONMENT OF INCOME (see 36 M.R.S.A. § 5206-E)


